Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hillcrest Middle School

Charter | 5-8 | 267 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 20, 2013

I'm a student here at Hillcrest, and I love it. The teachers are kind and supportive- they try to get you to do your best no matter what. The music program is great too- Mr. Pulley is awsome! He helped me really learn how to play music. Unlike most middle schools, Hillcrest is almost totally free of bullying, and there is no such thing as 'popular kids' and 'cool kids'. Everyone treats everyone the same, no matter how they look or how old they are. You should absolutely join this school! Just one thing...beware of the school lunch!


Posted October 24, 2013

Memories of my own middle school experience had me dreading the time when I would have to send my children to middle school. I looked high and low for an alternative to the mostly large middle schools in my immediate area where, when around the campuses I felt very uncomfortable with what I heard and saw from the kids who attended them. I happened upon Hillcrest which stood out as a very different environment. Upon further investigation I was pleasantly amazed at the caliber of the teachers, the academics, the extra curricular activities, the administration, and especially for me, the culture of the school where 11 to 14 year olds actually behaved like I would like to see that age behave and how they treated each other with overall kindness and respect. My eldest daughter spent her first year in middle school elsewhere and was very unhappy. After moving to Hillcrest, she too was surprised that she observed none of the language and behaviors that turned her off the other school. She thrived there as now my other two children who currently attend Hillcrest are thriving. Mr Fichera, the principal is caring, involved and impressive in many ways. I can't say enough about this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2013

Hillcrest is an excellent middle school. As a parent I could not be happier with the academics and social culture. The teachers are excellent and give the feeling that they truly care about each students progress. There is a lot of parent involvement. I will be sad when my 8th grader graduates this year. But I will know that she had a great experience and learned a lot at Hill Crest Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

My school is awsome!! Thay have made me feel good about leaving my child the curriculum is great and I couldn't have found a better school for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2013

I go to Hillcrest and I love! there is so many great activities, such as field trips and sports day. I like how we, in all grades, are allowed to interact with each other. The school could improve by, better teachers and better school lunches. The teachers are rude. The lunches are mystery meat which means...horse meat, cow meat, and pig meat all combined! eww!


Posted January 27, 2013

We give this school a solid A and five stars. I was surprised to see the negative reviews until i realized they are from years ago. Speaking from recent experience we could not be more satisfied with everything. The ENRICH program is wonderful and the nurturing atmosphere provides a safe and encouraging place for the children to learn. There seems no problem with peer pressure as in most other schools, the students seem to be respectful of each other and their teachers. The teaching quality is excellent and the principal is very visible on campus and at after school events. He is very well liked and runs a very efficient school. My elder grandchild graduated last year and is now at Analy, she was very unhappy at her other middle school and after transferring to Hillcrest she blossomed. Her siblings are in 6th grade now and are thriving and enjoying everything Hillcrest has to offer. Speaking as a former Bay Area teacher I have to say I am extremely impressed, and the children's parents are very happy that they placed their children here.


Posted October 31, 2011

Wonderful School. We have been having a great experience for the last three years. My son started here after leaving Twin Hills. It's a great academics, lower peer pressure atmosphere. Wonderful Music program an incredible electives. My son is flourishing. Linda LaMarre , David Fishera and the outstanding ENRICH staff are continuing to do a great job. Loved Keri Pugno too , who is now a great elementary teacher for our lucky kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2011

Both of our kids are in the Enrich program and are blossoming. The program director, Keri Pugno, is also the school principal. One of the previous reviews complained of the school's decline and attributed it to her leadership. If anything, Keri is WHY our kids attend. She is first-to-arrive/last-to-leave, and always has made herself available when we've had questions or concerns. We see her at almost every performance or significant school event that is after hours. She is why this school is a diamond in the rough. Our daughter was part of the program when it was Reach, and we witnessed first hand the vindictive behavior of the parents that wanted complete control of the program just because they made donations. You can probably chalk any bad review of this school to one of those spoiled parents who left the program in a huff to make their own utopia. Any parent who can have their child attend this school and doesn't is making a giant mistake.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2010

We have had our kid's in the REACH program for the last three years. The teachers are outstanding and really go above and beyond. Every year it get's better and better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

The creative arts magnet program they try and offer is a sad example of what can go wrong when the leadership is not good. I thought I was sending my child to the original REACH program then i found out is at Brook Haven, They are now a charter school and really have their act together. Parental involvement is wonderful, a real community. Their attention to all aspects of child development is what I was searching for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2009

Sadly, we can't rec.'d. this schl. Our children, attending since 2007. Decline in School overall since 08. Entirely, due to the leadership of Principal: Keri Pugno. Teacher's are talented. Admin. has limited their direction. Complaints & gossip are now common. Again, where's Keri? The Magnet program has been very expensive w/ slight diff. to what might be received from standard school's. School-wide, the children have little self-respect for each other. Name calling & worse abound. Keri is selective to inter-district trsfr's. Our good friends were declined so that her friends kid's could attend. Sp. Ed. is worst in Seb. Parents, be wise to look at Twin Hills!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

I give this school three stars for the teachers. I think they are very dedicated and caring. However, our family left this magnet do to the money grab of the administration and district. Too bad. The teachers are good, but overshadowed by the lack of student concern in the hierarchy. If you are going to pay an extra few hundred dollars per month, you'd want to be assured that ALL of that money is going toward your child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2009

We have had our kid's in the REACH program for the last three years. The teachers are outstanding and really go above and beyond. Every year it get's better and better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2009

I was in the REACH program at Hillcrest and it was great! It was an environment that nurtured creativity and uniqueness. The academics were superb, and my class really grew together--there was no unfriendliness. I graduated this year and really appreciate what an excellent school Hillcrest was for me!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 6, 2009

My daughter had one of the absolute worst experiences at this school. The children were absolutely horrible to her. I never thought such a negative experience could have happened at a school with such great reviews. My daughter is very creative, so I thought that the magnet program would be wonderful. It turned out to be just the same as a regular program, except the teachers were always unavailable, and they werent teaching the correct curriculum ( I'm a middle school teacher myself). I would give this school zero stars if I could. I have since moved my daughter to Twin Hills (Along with many other Hillcrest students), and her experience has been far, far better. The teachers are great and listen to the parents feedback, the students are so nice and well behaved, and the campus is gorgeous.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

I am surprised about the homework comment. My son only spends about 15 min. per night on homework. Some nights he doesn't have any homework. I personally think it's not enough. We love the creative arts magnet program. My son is happy and thriving there. In fact, he's brought home all straight A's this report card. His teacher's are amazing and care so much for their students. It's a creative and nurturing environment and all the parents I have spoken with say they are really pleased with the program this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2008

My children love their school. Teacher and pincipal feedback is quick and easy. My children are in the regular programing as well as the Reach program. It was nice to have the choices. Each one wanted something different from the school and each one was able to receive it. Hardest areas (coming from elementary school) of adjustment were my own, not theirs. One cruddy teacher was hired at the beginning of last year. Parents complained and at the end of the year he was let go. The staff listened to the parents feedback. I liked that. Pssst! Don't tell anyone about this great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2006

My son is thriving since entering Hillcrest. Their REACH magnet program is amazing. I cannot say enough about how great this school is. Its test scores and state ranking say it all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2006

Excellent creative arts magnet program for grades 4-8. Beautiful rural setting
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

908

Change from
2012 to 2013

-17

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

908

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-17

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
48%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
81%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
43%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students83%
Females88%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability82%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate78%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)78%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students79%
Females77%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate72%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)78%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Females83%
Males92%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability87%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate88%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)88%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students72%
Females64%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented75%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate54%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students58%
Females62%
Males56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability60%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only59%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented82%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate47%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)66%
Parent education - college graduate70%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students82%
Females86%
Males78%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate77%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)83%
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students80%
Females81%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disability27%
Students with no reported disability87%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate70%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)87%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students85%
Females84%
Males87%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate80%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)90%
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 27%
Hispanic 9% 51%
Asian 4% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 7%
Two or more races 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Keri Pugno
Fax number
  • (707) 823-4630

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

725 Bloomfield Road
Sebastopol, CA 95472
Website: Click here
Phone: (707) 823-7653

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Reach School
Sebastopol, CA



Orchard View School
Sebastopol, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT