Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ivy Bound Academy Of Math, Science, And Technology Charter Middle

Charter | 5-8 | 233 students

Our daily curriculum includes the core subjects as well as PE, Art, & Computers

 

Living in Sherman Oaks

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $525,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 20 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

50 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 12, 2014

This school was the best school I have ever been to. I ve been to this school since fifth grade and I experienced all its changes. All the other schools I have been to were very boring and wouldn t teach well. This school showed me new things. The teachers and staff even know my name. I made a lot of friends here and I have had a lot of memories here too. I couldn t imagine my life without going to this school. I improved on nearly all my subjects. This school made me who I am. And I will never forget about my time here. I Would love to visit the school again when i am in high school and look back at those happy memories. Thank you Ivy Bound for this great experience and all the fun memories. I am off to High School were new friends will be made and new memories will be created. But i will not forget this one school that changed my entire life. This school was just amazing. I am proud to be from this school and thank you.


Posted June 2, 2014

IBA is a great school,we are very glad and proud to had been lucky our son was selected to attend to 5th grade and continue until his last grade in this school.The teachers and office staff are knowledgeable and friendly and inspire you confidence .The school premises gives your child a sense of community and safety the learning contents and metods are high quality and updated with this times.We love IBA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

IBA is an amazing school. My daughter has attended the school since 5th grade and will graduate next year. I feel that she has grown so much since attending this school. The principle, teachers and staff are key to her growth. The school is small which is a positive as the staff knows everyone and keep abreast of what is going on at all times. I would recommend IBA as it is the hidden jewel school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

This is a good school, my daughter has been there for three years. I feel safe to send my child to school every day and i'm confident that she will get good education. The school will definitely benefit from moving to the bigger building.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

This is our third year at Ivy Bound. We have two children there one in 5th and one in 7th grade. We choose this school because of its small size and wonderful academic program so that our girls would not get lost in the system. The teachers all specialize in the areas that they teach. They are enthusiastic and make learning interesting. The administration is wonderful and it feels like a big family. I feel like we are having a private school experience for our girls without the cost. The knowledge my girls have about science, computers, technology, and their ability to annotate books is beyond High School level. We are really blessed to have this educational opportunity for our girls. It has far exceeded our expectations for a middle school learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Our son has been attending Ivy Bound Academy since 5th grade and he is now in 7th. We are very happy and continue to be, having our son at this school. The staff is so passionate at what they do and the quality of the education cannot be beat! Our son is thriving and we know he is getting well educated and preparing for the future, in addition to gearing up to attend high school. We are thankful for the administrators and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

When your child comes home, and randomly says that he likes his school and his teachers. When he's asked by family friends or people inquiring about schools, he's not shy about telling them why he's happy at his school. A student's testament is stronger than any metric or rating. The Student's opinion is one of significance, and IBA makes certain that the Student knows both he/she and their success matters. The school is not just about strong academics, it's also about building character and nurturing great citizens. It's academically challenging at times; however, that's a telltale sign that my son (and his classmates) is learning and curious about learning. IBA has provided the environment to allow for that curiosity. The teachers and staff are highly approachable & responsive, and constantly encourage the Students to give their best efforts, all of which is extremely important and a huge plus for any parent. Our family is exceptionally happy with IBA, and feel that our son is getting a best-in-class education (no pun intended.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

This school is truly amazing! really care to provide the best education. My son it is in 5th grade and make the change to this school it is one of the best decision that we had done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

I love the fact that it's a small school therefor the teachers can focus more on each student,not to mention that I can check on line for missing assignments and current grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

We'd heard that Ivy Bound was well above standards so we applied thru the lottery and got in for 5th grade. The transition first few months was hard but wow - the boost in self confidence and grades were immediately noticed. The teachers are dedicated and although the school is small, it seems to help the kids feel happy and content. Academics are above and beyond and they seem to have a handle on the new common core standards much earlier than most LAUSD schools. Sometimes size does matter and it makes it easier to implement the best standards. The kids are quite advanced and will be well prepared for ANY high school they choose.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

My son will graduate from Ivy Bound Academy this summer and he has the education that is needed to success in hight School. My son feels very confident to the next level. The teachers, administration and environment are excellent at Ivy Bound Academy. They prepare our children to succeed not only at school but in their life. I highly recommend Ivy Bound Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

My daughter will be leaving ivy Bound this year I'm so thankful for everything they have done for her this is a great school and we Will be back with my other daughter thank you ivy Bound
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Ivy Bound Academy. My dream came in true when I understand about the school.The reason was that every thing was new for us. New country, new school, new friends were all my daughters concern and nightmares.Now all I now she is happy, successful, and safe. Thanks all .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Ivy Bound Academy is a public charter but feels like a private school. This small middle school keeps the expectations high but the teachers and administration are there for your child when they need it. Despite the small facilities, they offer the technology and education needed to succeed in high school. What's more...they care about each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

We have been extremely blessed to have found, and was accepted to this school. My initial concern was the size of the school, it's very small. But after our first year, this became the very reason why I love the school. Being a small campus gives the teachers and staff the chance to get to know each student. I cannot praise the teacher and office staff enough for all that they put into their school and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Our kids attend Ivy Bound's Sherman Oaks campus- we have one graduating this year and one is Class of 2016. Our children actually love school. Their ability to use computers far exceeds mine, their love of the core subjects (Math, English, Social Studies, Science) can only be explained by the quality of their teachers who make learning interesting and fun. The staff knows all the kids and their families by name and communicate will with parents and students alike, Our children have excelled since attending Ivy Bound and the skills, confidence, work habits and drive they have acquired as students there will be with them forever. They are preparing our children to succeed not only in their academic careers but in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

My school is Ivy Bound Academy in Sherman Oaks, Ca. This is a small charter school and I love the ability to be a part of the community and not be overwhelmed. I feel my child is safe and getting a quality education with as much support as needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Ivy Bound Academy is a small charter school which provides high quality education to our young adults. I personally like this school because of the curriculum and the discipline. Teachers are very dedicated and the staff is very supportive. I will highly recommend this school, very good choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2014

I enrolled my son in 5th grade in the middle of the school semester, and we were greeted warmly and received huge support and understanding from staff. Office people are amazing trying to keep kids safe.Everybody knows each other.My child is getting a private school education for free.We are blessed that we are in IBA. I only wish they extended to 12th grade.The school is very safe and has a very hands on principal.I can not say enough good things about the school.THANKS for your hard work!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2014

The school quality is getting poorer and poorer. The best teachers are gone. New teachers are coming in/out almost bimonthly. Principal's concern is funding, money contributions, etc. Principal is money-driven. No sports activity at all, a lot of restrictions and liability concern. This school is good to be a tutorial service but not as a middle school. Bullying is also rampant. They do not have enough people to manage two campuses. Thus, the quality of education overall is poor. However, Mr. Gaunt is the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

902

Change from
2012 to 2013

-9

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

902

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-9

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
54%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students71%
Females88%
Males59%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate75%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students92%
Females96%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability94%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students86%
Females88%
Males85%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Females78%
Males75%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students75%
Females64%
Males92%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino69%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students67%
Females70%
Males66%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate50%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students54%
Females57%
Males53%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability61%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only56%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduate44%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students65%
Females60%
Males67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)23%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students86%
Females100%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino81%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students76%
Females67%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino69%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)54%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate75%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students99%
Females100%
Males98%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability98%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only98%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)92%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 58%
Hispanic 23%
Black 7%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 35%N/AN/A
English language learners 5%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
PE instructor(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School leaders can update this information here.
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 308 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
70%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
70%
 

Students

This school

 
70%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
75%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
75%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
82%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
84%
 

Students

This school

 
77%
 

Employees

This school

 
85%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
62%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
62%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents71Not reported
Students22698%
Employees1155%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Kiumars Arzani
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (818) 808-0157

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Backwards Design
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Extra learning resources offered
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Leadership
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

January 31, 2014

 
 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


1 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
70
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
600
Students typically come from these schools
traditional LAUSD schools
affiliated and independent charter schools
private schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15355 Morrison Street
Sherman Oaks, CA 91403
Website: Click here
Phone: (818) 808-0158

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Community Harvest Charter
Sherman Oaks, CA



Van Nuys Middle School
Sherman Oaks, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT