Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dixie Canyon Community Charter School

Charter | K-5

 
 

Living in Sherman Oaks

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $561,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

144 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 9, 2010

Dixie Cyn is a fabulous school. The new principal has moved the school forward in ways like never before. She immediately remodeled the office to make it more efficient and is overseeing the elimination or moribund staff. She supports all parents 100% of the time. Way to go Mrs. Mochet!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

I never wated to put my daughter in a public school but I heard about Dixie Canyon from another friend. I put my daughter there for the school is a walking distance from my living. after only few months I discovered how blessed i am to be so close to this school. My daughter started reading after only few months in Kinder Garten, She knew a lot of big words, knows how to spell, she knew a lot of maths... I say thank you to Dixie Canyon and Special Thanks to Mr. Chris Masserdjian who played the biggest role in making my daughter a good reader. The school is so strict about the dress codes and the children behaviors.. It feels like your child is in a private school. I do not remember one day my daughter came back with bad words or any bad behavior. I know that they fired a kinder garten student for being bad and I loved that in them
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Parents are very active in the school, which makes for a better overall experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2010

Dixie is a good school but not a great school. There is a nice new principal now that has a lot of energy but not a lot of principal experience and she has hired a 'helper' administrator to do a lot of the hard work that she is learning to do like LEP testing and payroll. Dixie will return to greatness soon after this break-in period. School is recommended.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 22, 2009

Great learning environment, involvement of the parents etc... Go Dolphins !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

Interesting to me why only positive reviews are getting posted. Hmmmm. And how about spell-checking? Okay...Dixie has some outstanding teachers, but the campus is filthy, staff is uninviting if not downright rude. The playground is nuts...my daughter is out there with over 200 kids and little to no equipment. Enrichment is good; but as a parent you should know you have to work HARD to keep the school working for your kids. If you don't have a lot of time to devote to being there physically, I would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

One of the best public schools in LAUSD.The two teachers are daughter has had,fiirst grade and now 2ndgrade were and are outstanding and caring.The new principal is lovely and a PROFESSIONAL with a warm welcome to everyone. parents and students.Amazing parent involvement.5 STAR!!!! A Dixie Canyon Mom
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

The school is in a major renaissance right now. The PTA meetings are standing room only. The new parents have come in and really relieved the veteran parents. We are being lead in a great direction and the kids are happy. API scores are up 24 more points this year. Just Brilliant!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2009

Last year was our first year at Dixie. We didn't have the best experience to start but the principal was instrumental in getting our teacher replaced and the year turned out wonderful. The teacher who we initially had is not a good fit for Dixie and it is a shame that good teachers had to be layed off and this teacher is still there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

My daughter will start second grade this fall. She absolutely loves school and I attribute that to her two wonderful, caring teachers. The LAUSD curriculum is not perfect but nor is it perfect at expensive private schools. I feel confident that she will learn what she needs to in elementary school at Dixie. The PTA does a great job of adding hands-on experiences (gardening for eg). We had a good experience with the principal who had an open door policy and always returned phone calls promptly. In public you do need to make more of an effort as a parent to stay on top of what is going on in the classroom but this doesn't mean volunteering for every fundraiser. Just take the time to get to know your child's teacher and a few other children and their parents and your child's experience will improve dramatically. I recommend Dixie without hesitation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2009

Dixie Canyon's API went down for the 2008-2009 school year. A few points is nothing but a school should not be regarded by it's a API score. API scores only mean that the teachers are teaching for the test. If your child is lucky enough to have the few good teachers at Dixie there is no reason a child would not do well. One year with a less than desirable teacher and your child suffers. I am a very involved parent and I think people need to listen to the negative post as well as the positive. They are both true. There is something wrong at Dixie but if parents continue to just post and not do something about their concerns, nothing will change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2009

How can this school have hit an all time low as mentioned below - when the test scores keep getting better! The negative reviews below are not describing the Dixie Canyon that I know. My child has been at Dixie for 4 years and we are very impressed with the teachers and quality of education. Mrs. Dichter was a very hands on principal who actually was rarely in her office - but running around making sure that her school was operating to the high standards she demanded. The parents below must not have been on campus much! One step on campus or one glance at the test scores will show the true Dixie which is one that most parents are proud to be part of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2009

This school has changed over the past few years, and for the worse. They got the principal Mrs. Dickter that just sat in her office and did not a lot else but count the minutes until she retired. Now she retired, but the damage of years of leadership apathy can not easily be undone, even by the selection of a young and energetic new principal. I pray for the best, but prepare for the worst.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2009

The curriculum at this school is very weak. My daughter's class this past year (third grade) had virtually no writing instruction, yet students were graded in writing. The reading program was weak (the teacher reading aloud from a basal reader, round robin reading, and lots of worksheets, little actual reading done by kids) and the math programs fails completely to teach the underlying concepts. Don't even dream of real science and social students content! Of course, the curriculum is mandated by LAUSD but better schools find ways to compensate and to enrich the curriculum. Dixie does not. As a parent of two Dixie students, a teacher at another school, and a tutor to another Dixie student I can tell you that the education provided here is inadequate. Send your child elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2009

When my first child attended Dixie several years ago, we were fairly happy with it. She had a few good teachers, the basics were fairly well covered. We were able to fill in the gaps in her education with outside classes and activities. However, my third child is now attending Dixie and we have become progressively more frustrated as they years, and the frequently changing principals have progressed. For the sake of all of the children who must attend this school, including my own, I can only hope that things will be better with the new principal than they were under Mrs. Dichter when they hit and all-time low!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

Dixie Canyon is a fine school if your child is completely 'average'. In many years of working with children, I have learned that most children will learn even in schools that are not particularly wonderful. It is the kids who are not 'typical' who do not do well in unexceptional environments. Middle-of-the road kids will make do. However, if your child is exceptionally bright or struggles, Dixie Canyon is not going to take your child's needs seriously. The PTA ensure that things like art and PE are still offered, but the terrible LAUSD curriculum is still used, of course, and unlike at better schools, little is done by the staff to compensate for this poor mandated curriculum to truly teach the kids well. This is school that does the bare minimum, with the exception of the parent groups who try to provide the extras as much as they can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2009

If your child has had a positive experience at Dixie Canyon, count your blessings, but do not be hostile towards families who are less fortunate. My son has mild special needs and the way he and our family have been treated while trying to get his needs met has been excruciating for our family. It is incredibly painful to watch your child struggle and suffer through each school day, feeling as though he is not valued by his teacher or other adults at school. My son came home regularly crying and would sit on my lap telling me 'They don't want me there! I want to go to a different school!' We are trying to find a way to get him out of Dixie and pay for private school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2009

My family has also suffered at Dixie. My two children have struggled academically at Dixie and they, and I, have felt that they were allowed to struggle without support or concern from Dixie staff. When I have asked for help I have been ignored. Perhaps, as previous posters suggested, my children were not educated properly because I was not involved enough in the PTA. I believe that in America, my children should not suffer because I chose to take on the challenge of raising three children as a single parent. ALL children should be cared for and educated, even if their mother has to put most of her time and money into extra therapies and care for three special needs kids instead of into the PTA fundraisers. To suggest otherwise feels classist and unreasonable. I do what I can, but I feel less inclined to volunteer when my kids are mistreated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2009

We have not had positive experiences with Dixie Canyon. Although the parent groups help provide some enrichments and 'extras' not provided in most LAUSD schools, they cannot address the underlying problems at Dixie, such as classes where students are routinely taught by substitutes (my daughter's class). My child needed to be homeschooled on evenings and weekends while attending Dixie because she didn't learn. Although some parents believe that only positive experiences should be shared on this site, I wish that the many parents who have recently shared their bad experiences had posted BEFORE I chose to enroll my child in this terrible school! Once we began at Dixie and I was volunteering, I encountered a strong undercurrent of frustrated families who were ignored by administration or worse, treated with terrible hostility for trying to get their child's needs met. It's incredibly sad, but some families are respected while others are ignored.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2009

I have been at Dixie for 9 years now with 2 children and have loved every minute of it. I have alwasy been heavily involved with the school through the classrooms and the PTA. My children have had the best teachers - better than any private school. The Prinicipal and VP have always had an open door policy and were willing to work with me on any issues I had. It is a wonderful gem, not overcrowded like some of the other nearby schools. Seems to me the negative reviews listed below are from people who think they are involved but are not. There are a great deal of parents at all schools who want all these things done and changed but are unwilling to help in any way. At Dixie there is a great parent movement but like all schools, they need more help to achieve their goals.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

904

Change from
2012 to 2013

+12

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

904

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+12

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students82%
Females88%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disability36%
Students with no reported disability86%
English learner54%
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students79%
Females77%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disability45%
Students with no reported disability83%
English learner54%
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students64%
Females69%
Males58%
African American63%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate65%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students80%
Females79%
Males81%
African American81%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students80%
Females90%
Males71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate80%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students87%
Females88%
Males85%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students85%
Females89%
Males80%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino74%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability86%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)92%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate79%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students78%
Females78%
Males78%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino74%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate79%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students82%
Females84%
Males80%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability86%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)85%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 65%
Hispanic 15%
Black 10%
Asian 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/AN/A
English language learners 10%N/AN/A

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 455 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
69%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
64%
 

Students

This school

 
74%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
85%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
82%
 

Employees

This school

 
88%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
80%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
87%
 

Students

This school

 
68%
 

Employees

This school

 
85%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
68%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
62%
 

Employees

This school

 
74%
 
Teacher support and opportunities for collaborationWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of employees that agree to strongly agree that this school ensures that teachers work well together, learn from one another, have opportunities for professional development and feel supported by the administration. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Evaluation (Employees), Opportunities for Involvement (Employees), Professional Development (Employees), Resource Allocation (Employees), Teacher Collaboration and Data Use (Employees).

Close
 
This school
70%
agree
 

Employees

This school

 
70%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents15727%
Students26787%
Employees3152%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4220 Dixie Canyon Avenue
Sherman Oaks, CA 91423
Website: Click here
Phone: (818) 784-6283

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Francis De Sales
Los Angeles, CA





Sunnyside Preschool
Los Angeles, CA


Buckley School, The
Los Angeles, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT