Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Robert A. Millikan Middle School

Charter | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Sherman Oaks

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $561,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 19 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 9 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

142 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 23, 2014

I have mixed emotions about this school. I did graduate this year on June 4, though I hadn't had the best time at this school until the eight grade. If you are bringing your child to this school, advise them to choose the right friends. Unfortunately I didn't listen to my mother when she was telling me my friends were bad influences on me, instead I stayed mixed in the crowd that the whole school used to call " the ghetto's" . I was mixed in with all of their drama, and they used to be complete bullies to everyone except the people in their group. The summer before eighth grade I told my mother I was going to choose new friends, ones that would be good influences on me. After that decision, my life at Millikan was the best . The teachers were all amazing, the students were kind, well most of them, and I won my intelligence back. This school isn't perfect, but what school is? This is definitely a better middle school compared to most of the ones in the LAUSD School District.


Posted June 18, 2014

I switched my daughter from this school because she got accepted to a way better school. This school induces bullying, the children receive it from not only their fellow students but their teachers as well! Don't be fooled by how this school seems like it has an amazing performing arts academy but they don't! My child was in the regular schooling because we live in the area but we still receive the same activities, but the classes are in different places.The children here have FILTHY mouths! I'll just leave it at that. Once again though don't be fooled by the hoax this school puts off.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2014

For the most part, I think that millikan is the best school I have been too so far. They have many academies, like Math, Science, Performing Arts, Cinematic Arts, And environmental studies. I thought some staff are just rude to the students and staff, but I liked it a lot. It was a lot of fun.


Posted May 23, 2014

We love Millikan Middle School. For the first time, my math/science loving kid also enjoys reading and social studies. Because the school is large, it can have all sorts of specialty programs from visual arts to film to robotics. Large isn't for everyone, but a Millikan, they are making it work. The faculty and staff are wonderful, staying after school to make sure they succeed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2014

Millkan has a lot of hype for Performing Arts and other academies, which are strong but are only electives. The core curriculum here is not enriched, it is more mediocre than small charter middle schools. The English department is weak, there is little/no essay writing or book reports, nor critical thinking encouraged, no wonder kids can't write!! Teachers here eschew communication with parents unless practically stalked. Some fail to grade tests/HW for several weeks, are are not held accountable. Administration gets a "B" but hard to be effective with 2,200 students. The school is dirty, kids are foul-mouthed and inappropriate clothing/behavior tolerated. Millikan needs a serious overhaul. Who can teach or learn in a class of 40+ kids? Your neighborhood parochial school or LAUSD charter is worth investigating. Don't buy into the marketing hype of Millikan. My child, btw, is an "A" honor student, I worry about being prepared for college with the education she is getting here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2014

Be very cautious. My experience at this school showed me that most of the teachers are only interested in taking trips that are paid for by the parents of students (FYI they don't pay for their trips, you do) and their pensions. My child learned next to nothing here and I am thrilled to be moving him to another school. There is a lot of bullying (students and teachers), drugs, and other inappropriate behavior going on. Nothing will happen if you complain. I don't know how this school is rated at an 8 because it's not worth a 2. I could not, in good faith, recommend this school to anybody.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

Millikan is one of the best school experiences of my life. It definitely molded me to become the person I am today, and I am so thankful for that


Posted February 10, 2014

We are very happy with this school. We have found the perfect school for our daughter and we couldn;t be happier. My daughter finds the teachers to be very helpful and willing to assist with projects etc. Keep in mind that this is middle school, not elementary school so the kids are expected to be more independent and focused. All around-a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2013

I think this school is overcrowded with students, it allows bullying, the teachers never call you back, teachers use old school tactics and make the whole class write over and over how bad they are, some teachers go the extra mile to get to know your child if the are extra lucky! Too many kids, too large of classes it is sad to walk down a hall where no one smiles, acknowledges each other, this is not the kind of world I want my child to think is how the world works. I think, if we are on camera in every part of our daily lives, so should this school be, to show what is happening! Not any accountability....some good programs if you have the money to add to those programs. If not your child will feel left out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2013

THIS IS THE BEST SCHOOL EVER! Everyone is so nice! It's bright, colorful, creative, and it has an AMAZING performing arts magnet.


Posted November 18, 2013

The worst...Students bully each other any given day in front of the STAFF and they don't care...Teachers only care bout CST results not students...and finally staff at the main office take forever to answer a phone call and when they do, just don't leave a message...it will never be delivered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2013

The school is relatively safe, it doesn't have the bullying issues many nearby middle schools deal with. However, my child has told me that there is quite a bit of drug use in the school among the general population. My child is in one of the small academies and has all honors level courses where there is apparently little or no drug use. Some of the teachers such as math teacher Mr. Rosenthal have been amazing! Other teachers especially in English and History have been quite disappointing. I feel that honors level students should be able to write a straight forward book report or essay. Instead, they ask them to do silly childish reports that look like a newspaper or Facebook page. They skip chapters in history and science textbooks and do not come close to completing the entire text book. The classes are quite large with over 40 students. My child is happy and has many friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

My son is in the Cinematic Academy. He wasn't happy at first to go to a new school, leaving his friend behind. Every day I would ask how his day went and it was OK. Now he is in love with his new school. He has made a lot of new friends and even a old friend from his elementary school. All his teachers are awesome especially his film teacher. My third grader can not wait to attend Millikan.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2013

We have a daughter in the 6th grade, and she just loves this school! She was selected for the performing arts academy and we (and her) could not be happier! Her teachers are caring and the academics are challenging. We could not have selected a better school for our daughter!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2013

3 words. worst school ever. there are so many students and yet its such a small school. the teachers do not care. at all. maybe a few. and the staff are rude. i just want to take my son out of this school. its terrible. i dont recommend it. just go anywhere else but here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2013

This is my last year at Millikan Performing Arts Middle School and I could not give up the opportunity to say how much I have enjoyed and appreciate all the teachers, staff, fellow students and parents who have made my years a memorable one. As a performing arts student, this school has definitely helped me get closer to achieving my dreams of becoming a dancer. We have one of the best science, math & civics academies as well. A couple of things that I would change about my school are the lunches and the janitorial services. I would like our school to follow the LAUSD school lunch & breakfast programs as they are healthy rather then having bean burrito almost every morning. I would also like to see the grounds and especially the bathrooms cleaner. I hope I win the $5,000.00 prize for my school. It would be a nice way to give back to my school and to say, thank you for all they have given me over the years like knowledge, confidence & friendships which are priceless.


Posted August 11, 2013

I love this school it is awesome. There is everything.all of the teacher are very sweet and they just have exciting new lessons to share to the student. I think everyone should go here.


Posted August 8, 2013

Let me share with you my son's CST scores in Math starting from 2nd-6th grade: 2nd Grade: 334 (Basic) 3rd Grade: 430 (Advanced) 4th Grade: 421 (Advanced) 5th Grade: 445 (Advanced) 6th Grade at Millikan: 347 (Basic). You do the math. Notice the HUGE DROP of 98 points from 5th to 6th grade. I might add, in 2nd grade my son was stuck with a subpar long-term substitute teacher. My son had a good math teacher at Millikan but he was grouped with a low performing group but the counselor did nothing about it. The pace was slow and my son suffered and did not learn as much as he was capable of. Shame on you Millikan. He's since left this school - and for good reason. And if anyone tries to say it's because middle school math is that much harder - they are wrong. That sort of change is a concern. It's not normal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

The TEACHERS at this school were allowed to bully my child. If this is what you are looking for then you have found the right place. It doesn't help to complain because the district won't do anything about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2013

I love Millikan! And can't wait to be back for seventh grade! Though the food does suck sometimes so I would recommend bringing your own lunch. It's really cool and all these people don't know what they're talking about! The teachers here are amazing a encourage you to do your best! I love it here and I deffinately recommend coming to this school! I learned so much!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

874

Change from
2012 to 2013

-18

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

874

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-18

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

711 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

713 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

710 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

554 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

671 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
73%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

383 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
72%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

692 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

670 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students72%
Females74%
Males68%
African American53%
Asian80%
Filipino85%
Hispanic or Latino66%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disability34%
Students with no reported disability74%
English learner4%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduate72%
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to state64%

Math

All Students70%
Females70%
Males70%
African American47%
Asian83%
Filipino77%
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disability39%
Students with no reported disability73%
English learner10%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduate69%
Parent education - high school graduate54%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)66%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to state64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students98%
Females95%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Non-economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability97%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only97%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate95%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to state97%

English Language Arts

All Students73%
Females77%
Males69%
African American68%
Asian89%
Filipino84%
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disability38%
Students with no reported disability76%
English learner6%
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduate57%
Parent education - high school graduate70%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to state70%

Math

All Students67%
Females66%
Males67%
African American57%
Asian90%
Filipino75%
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disability27%
Students with no reported disability69%
English learner12%
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented90%
Parent education - not a high school graduate46%
Parent education - high school graduate73%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate72%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate81%
Parent education - declined to state65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students93%
Females95%
Males88%
African American90%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability93%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate91%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)97%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to state90%

English Language Arts

All Students69%
Females75%
Males60%
African American55%
Asian84%
Filipino81%
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Native64%
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disability36%
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)74%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to state57%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students61%
Females61%
Males62%
African American47%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disability25%
Students with no reported disability67%
English learner12%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduate49%
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate73%
Parent education - declined to state58%

Geometry

All Students87%
Females81%
Males97%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability87%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented89%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to state81%

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students67%
Females70%
Males64%
African American52%
Asian89%
Filipino82%
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Native64%
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disability27%
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner7%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduate43%
Parent education - high school graduate54%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)66%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to state59%

Science

All Students81%
Females83%
Males80%
African American74%
Asian100%
Filipino88%
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Native55%
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disability59%
Students with no reported disability83%
English learner35%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented99%
Parent education - not a high school graduate62%
Parent education - high school graduate76%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)84%
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate99%
Parent education - declined to state75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 50%
Hispanic 31%
Black 9%
Asian 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/AN/A
English language learners 5%N/AN/A

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 1%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 2584 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
63%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
66%
 

Students

This school

 
61%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
74%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
69%
 

Employees

This school

 
78%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
69%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
86%
 

Students

This school

 
49%
 

Employees

This school

 
73%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
53%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
54%
 

Employees

This school

 
52%
 
Teacher support and opportunities for collaborationWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of employees that agree to strongly agree that this school ensures that teachers work well together, learn from one another, have opportunities for professional development and feel supported by the administration. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Evaluation (Employees), Opportunities for Involvement (Employees), Professional Development (Employees), Resource Allocation (Employees), Teacher Collaboration and Data Use (Employees).

Close
 
This school
57%
agree
 

Employees

This school

 
57%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents71643%
Students180182%
Employees6747%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • John Plevack
Fax number
  • (818) 990-7651

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5041 Sunnyslope Avenue
Sherman Oaks, CA 91423
Website: Click here
Phone: (818) 528-1600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Sunrise School
Los Angeles, CA



Village Glen
Los Angeles, CA


Bridgeport
Los Angeles, CA


St. Francis De Sales
Los Angeles, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT