Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sherman Oaks Elementary Charter School

Charter | K-5 | 841 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

128 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 24, 2014

Unfortunately we had to pull our boys out due to unorganized teachers and lack of leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

We are very happy with this school. The teachers are great and the parent involvement is terrific. Both of our children (K and 2nd grades) are very happy here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2013

I recommend Sherman Oaks Elementary Charter School because, in addition to it's creative instruction to meet and surpass state standards for all demographics (including the state adoption of the common core, which will begin instruction this year - one year before it's full implementation), it gives back to those kids who have lost a part of their culture and expands the knowledge of other children by acquiring a new language over the course of eight years - TK-6th grade. I see strength, collaboration, and care in the teachers who perform their daily activities in developing the young minds that attend the school. To clarify my point made above about giving children back a part of the culture they lost: for those of Latin/Hispanic descent who lost their language two (span of siblings 15-20 years apart) or three generations down the line, this type of school offers the next set of generations to learn what was lost to them. Coming from a third generation where my parent did not speak Spanish, it is a great sense of regained pride. Not just Latin/American culture is celebrated; other cultures are celebrated and taught throughout the year to inspire diversity and acceptance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2013

My daughter will be a 5th grader and my son in 2nd grade next year. I am a teacher, so understand how a school runs. The only reason we are staying at SOEC is that my daughter has been there for five years and has a great group of friends. Once she graduates, we are pulling my son out. While the instruction at Sherman Oaks has never been strong (my daughter has had only 2 solid teachers), the favoritism towards SOPA and industry parents (they are always in the best teachers' classes; however, several of the best teachers are sub par at best), the new principal's inability to communicate with parents, the general lack of discipline from the parents, the sense of entitlement from the community, add up to a poorly performing school. When you look at the similar schools rank on the CDE website, Sherman Oaks is a 3 (out of 10) when compared to schools with a similar demographic. As a teacher, this tells me that most of the teachers at the school do not challenge students on a daily basis, that students learn very little from year to year. As a parent this tells me that SOEC is not the school for most kids. I look forward to moving to a real charter school (independent).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

I have been a happy parent for some time at Sherman Oaks Elementary even a member of SOPA. My child goes into 5th grade next year. I have volunteered at book fairs, stop, drop, and roll, given money to the school. This year though I have seen parents bully one another, teachers bully parents and unfortunately we in SOPA have had to take administrative things in our own hands, because our administrators, have let us down. I am sad to say this, but I do believe SOPA we need to revisit this, because I am not sure if that is working and we do need a principal and a staff that doesn't support this type of bullying behavior. The most recent post does still promote that behavior as well and unfortunately that person is also probably in SOPA. It has to start with us, obviously the mom who had a spelling error or errors as you say, was upset. The fact is we are all fighting for our kids here, something I think we can all agree on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

Its coming to the end of another school year and yes this year has been challenging with many changes, its a very big school to manage, the kids in the school not all but most have very little respect. The new principle is going to make some great changes which I am excited about and at least next year SOPA wont be able to pick and choose their teachers for their own kids as the old principle used to favor them, Im hoping this year the system will be fairer for all, especially us working parents who donate alot of money but have very little time to be actively involved but do what we can to make this a good environment for our children, thats for all our children, not just our own. I do agree to a certain degree of the review posted below that the SOPA are way more involved than they should be, they do great things for our school, but their should be a fine line between the admin and the SOPA, This school is clicky only if you let yourself get involved too much, just keep your head down remember you are their for your child's education not for all this high school drama, as thats what it seems like sometimes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2013

We are very happy with the new principal and the direction the school is headed. As a room parent, it seems like the parents are partly responsible for making situations worse by blaming others than helping with coming up with solutions, especially when they don't get what they want.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2012

Awful school!!!! Parents DO NOT send your children here! It is overcrowded, the teachers are stressed out, and there is not enough adult supervision. I don't care if this now a charter school, it does not change the fact that this is one of the worst schools in the area! If you can afford it send your kids to private school.....that's what we did and our daughter is so much happier now. SOEC is full of bullies without consequences!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2012

My child started 2nd grade here this year. Her teacher so far has been responsive and she seems to be doing fine. However, the few interactions I have had with the principal have been a nightmare. She does not have the experience to be leading this school. She does not respond to children well at all and seems clueless on how to deal with them. In my personal conversations with her she has been flustered, hostile, and incompetent. I truly hope they find a new leader for this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2012

We understand that all LAUSD schools are crowded, and that funds are limited, etc. We were hopeful, that as a new Charter - this school was going to makeup for it with Parent involvement and dedicated teachers. We could not be more wrong. It saddens us greatly to encourage you to find another option for your child. Especially, or at least for Kinder. These are the formative years and this is not the environment you want your child to be forming anything in. Let me assure you, that we are not helicopter Parents, and that we thought long and hard about posting anything about SOEC. We do not want to be those people. But we can only hope that other Parents would do the same to protect our children. Our Kinder child has not only been grievously ignored, but actually neglected and was even injured with a swollen and bloodied knee without us being informed and without our child recieving help ( after telling teacher several times they were hurt ). We are not talking about an unwarrented amount of attention. Perhaps clean up the blood? An ice pack? A band aid?? THIS IS ONLY ONE EXAMPLE OF MANY. Above all else, at SOEC your child will be taught that they do not matter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2012

I was very impressed by the way Principal Harr handled a very sensitive, student specific issue in the past. She didn't throw her hands up refusing to stand up for what is right as some unfortunately would, instead she courageously took the lead and set new precedents for her school. Every school can benefit from having this type of a Principal leading their school to a higher standard. Kudos, Mrs. Harr!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2012

SOEC is a very good school! I was raised by a dedicated first grade teacher and I have high standards. My son is in second grade and has thrived academically and socially each year. We have been blessed with gifted and nurturing teachers who have my child, and many others, working above grade level. Most importantly, my son has made nice friends and loves school. His teachers have really fostered a love of learning. But it is more than just the academic standards - all students enjoy an amazing music teacher, an incredible art program, science lab and science teacher, a computer lab and computer teacher, and there is an orchestra, a theater program, and sports teams that keep winning district tittles. I have enjoyed a great level of communication with his teachers, all of whom have gone way above the call of duty and really love teaching children. It is a big elementary school that feels much smaller once you get involved and it is full of caring passionate parents and teachers. With the support of the parent organization budget cuts do not interfere with a quality well rounded education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2012

We LOVE SOEC. The parent involvement is amazing. And the teachers are caring and generous with their time. All LAUSD classes and schools are crowded but the teachers here do an amazing job of working with the students and parent volunteers are encouraged. The charter says the school needs to have a certain number of students and that is what the school has. LAUSD sets the norm for how many students are supposed to be in each grade - not the school itself so if you want to blame someone for the "overcrowded" class size, blame LAUSD not SOEC. It is not overcrowded, it is exactly at the number it is supposed to have so the posters speaking on the overcrowded nature of the school should gather more information before posting inaccuracies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2012

This school needs a lot of work. Teachers try their best. There is over 34 kids appx. in one class. Most of the kids dont belong at this school. The school needs to verify address more carefully most of the children are not suppose to attend this school.That is probably why its so crowded. There is no shade on playground. Not enough supervision. Bullying has to be addressed better. They don't move the bully at all. It doesn't matter if they are in the same class. I'm not the only person that has experienced this they are many. I am writing this so the school district can make changes. What is the use of living in an up scale neighbor hood if any one can attend this school? Principal needs a lot of training.


Posted April 29, 2011

We have been at Sherman Oaks Elementary for 3 years and have had a great experience so far! I am really happy with the teachers we have had and the SOPA program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2011

I am a happy parent here. My son loves his school. My daughter can not wait for another few months to be in this school for her Kinderhood. I think this school really offer a lot extra compare to other public school. We got wonderful PTA, teachers, principle, and also very informative website. I checked other school website is simply just not that updated. We are truly lucky to be part of SOES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

Great school ! wonderful mix of kids. great diversity. great principal. fun, happy and safe .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2010

After hearing such great things about SOES, I ve been nothing but disappointed with our experience this year. I've witnessed a major lack of support for the students. I ve witnessed teachers yelling at students, class aids/ helpers/ volunteers shouting & speaking to children with a complete lack of respect down to the yard aids screaming across the playground like they are the ruler of the yard--relishing in their power over the children. They have no idea how to support the children and assist them in figuring out what this new environment is about and how they might be able to tackle it. They question why the children don't "respect" the rules or the authority --I haven't seen much respect shown to the children. No warm caring ears to listen just a lot of shouting. Of course this isn t representative of all SOES teachers--I have observed on occasion a couple of teachers who stand out and actually seem to enjoy children. For now, I am trying to figure out how our family can make it through this year positively. I am hoping there will an alternative schooling situation for us in the near and we won't be stuck here for the duration of elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2010

Wonderful caring teachers, great parents association, they make us want to get involved and create lots of opportunities for the parents to participate in every area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2010

Spanish is the primary language of approximately 330 million people around the world. It is a second language for nearly 50 million people. In a world that is rapidly growing smaller, thanks to technology and a global economy, the value of being able to communicate in Spanish should not be underestimated. Further, access to a rich world of art, literature, history and music becomes available through one's knowledge of Spanish. Children receiving an early bilingual education at Sherman Oaks Elementry have a unique advantage. In addition to the developmental and educational benefits of learning Spanish early on, they are better prepared to thrive in and appreciate a multi-cultural environment at any age.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

878

Change from
2012 to 2013

+9

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

878

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+9

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students80%
Females88%
Males74%
African American65%
Asian93%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino74%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disability44%
Students with no reported disability85%
English learner45%
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate71%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)82%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students80%
Females81%
Males79%
African American63%
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino74%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disability56%
Students with no reported disability83%
English learner55%
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate76%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students62%
Females60%
Males63%
African American64%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disability29%
Students with no reported disability67%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented88%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate31%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)54%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to state46%

Math

All Students86%
Females81%
Males90%
African American90%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disability59%
Students with no reported disability90%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate77%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to state92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Females78%
Males76%
African American68%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)66%
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to state64%

Math

All Students80%
Females84%
Males77%
African American82%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to state64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Females85%
Males68%
African American71%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disability27%
Students with no reported disability82%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students80%
Females83%
Males75%
African American59%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disability36%
Students with no reported disability84%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate73%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students73%
Females76%
Males68%
African American53%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disability9%
Students with no reported disability79%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate45%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 27%
Hispanic 20% 51%
Black 11% 7%
Asian 8% 11%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 796 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
69%
agree
 
District average
72%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
62%
 

District average

 
70%
 

Students

This school

 
75%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
80%
agree
 
District average
77%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
78%
 

District average

 
74%
 

Employees

This school

 
82%
 

District average

 
81%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
74%
agree
 
District average
70%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
89%
 

District average

 
78%
 

Students

This school

 
55%
 

District average

 
58%
 

Employees

This school

 
79%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
69%
agree
 
District average
68%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
60%
 

District average

 
66%
 

Employees

This school

 
78%
 

District average

 
71%
 
Teacher support and opportunities for collaborationWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of employees that agree to strongly agree that this school ensures that teachers work well together, learn from one another, have opportunities for professional development and feel supported by the administration. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Evaluation (Employees), Opportunities for Involvement (Employees), Professional Development (Employees), Resource Allocation (Employees), Teacher Collaboration and Data Use (Employees).

Close
 
This school
73%
agree
 
District average
66%
agree
 

Employees

This school

 
73%
 

District average

 
66%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents37247%
Students37390%
Employees5165%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14755 Greenleaf Street
Sherman Oaks, CA 91403
Website: Click here
Phone: (818) 784-8283

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Buckley School
Sherman Oaks, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT