Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Francis De Sales School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Sherman Oaks

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $561,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 5, 2014

This school is at capacity in several of it's classrooms, which has resulted in high student-teacher ratio. It honestly feels like our voices are not heard or warranted, because if you're unsatisfied, they'll dismiss your family and take any another candidate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2014

My family has been a part of the St. Francis de Sales community for many years. My children started in kindergarten when Sr. Ellen Marie McGovern was principal and continued on through 8th Grade with Mr. Kenny and then, Dr. Galla at the helm. From our experience, we can honestly say that the high quality of education and genuine regard for the students' well being and spiritual growth has remained consistent over the years. There has been very little turn-over in the faculty and staff since we've been there, many teachers have been teaching at SFDS for 10+ years. I was disappointed to read the two reviews below. Obviously, the writer of those posts had a bad experience with the school and the administration. I suppose that is inevitable in even the best schools. Not every school is going to be a good fit for every student and I am glad they found a school that works for their family. St. Francis has a very supportive parent and alumni community. Many parents at the school are also alumni who are sending their students to their "home" school. We have had a great experience at SFDS. Good luck with your school search!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2013

This school was a horrible experience for my children. The teachers are burnt out and academically behind. Lots of bullying and favoritism.Full of phony parents and mean kids. Pulled my kids out and watched them blossom at their new school. They enjoy school now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2013

St.Francis de Sales school does not follow their own mission statement with regards to bullying, cheating, and misbehavior at the school. The principal has been dismissive and done nothing to address these issues. Many teachers and administrators are used up, unhappy, mean, and are unapproachable, arrogant, and condescending. They are lazy, inattentive, and just go through the motions of their jobs. They do not celebrate accomplishment. For the money this school should be top notch, but instead is behind in technology and quality faculty compared to other Catholic schools in Los Angeles. More important to them is new paint on the church. Parents suffer in the non air-conditioned auditorium where all children's performances are. There is way too much emphasis on the annual fair and fund-raisers for the school. Church services have an emphasis on social justice instead of self-reliance, music, and joy. The school only cares about the money, not the children, and even less about the parents who pay for it all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2010

This is a really great school.... Although the class size is a bit large, there is a teachers aid in each class. In addition to a great athletic program with many team sports open to grades 5 to 8, the school offers many fab extracurricular activities for the younger grades including a swim team (for grades K-8), chess club (grades K-8), guitar class (K-8), Drama, and even a School of Rock program (grades 6-8). SFDS has great parent involvement and the teachers are excellent. They also have computer, Spanish, Art and Music as part of the curriculum. The new principal is awesome and has brought a ton of improvements. Can't recommend it enough!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2008

Large class size after Kinder: 33-35 in each class, one class per grade. Enrichment courses and general learning can be impeded by these numbers, especially in the early grades. Good parental involvement and support, but school is not for everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2007

I can not say enough about this school. The teachers are wonderful, committed professionals. Every class has a teacher's aide. The classes are enriched with music, art, computer, drama and PE. High level of family involvement with very organized PTA. My children are thriving in this environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2006

Great school with very supportive friends and affiliates of the school and parents which provide an overall solid education and some remarkable extracurricular activities for such a small school. This is evident in fund raising and exposure in media. Few private schools in this class have an outdoor grass field for sports, pe, activities.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 5, 2005

Good catholic education available with extras including computer lab, art class, PE, athletic opportunities. Parental involvement required at 40 hours. Small school with only one class per grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2004

I feel strongly in this school and would not send my three children anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 74%
Hispanic 14%
Two or more races 9%
Asian 2%
Black 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Los Angeles
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13368 Valleyheart Drive
Sherman Oaks, CA 91423
Phone: (818) 784-9573

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Sunnyside Preschool
Studio City, CA


The Buckley School
Sherman Oaks, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT