Advertisement
Advertisement

The Gooden School

Private | K-8

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Sierra Madre

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $615,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,400.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, April 9, 2014

While some teachers at this school are incredible, I have never encountered an administration that appreciates and values working with children less than the administrators at this school. Most of the parents agree that the reason for this schools low enrollment is the incompetent administration. They behave like a totalitarian regime that has to control everything, and unless your child behaves like a robot, this is not the school to attend The Boards failure to remove this administration is crippling the school and depriving the students of the quality education their parents are paying for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2014

I will not send my children to a school with such a poor administration that offers little to no emotional or educational assistance. Not only do they have a high turn over of teachers but they also seem to get rid of highly qualified teachers and other staff for no reason at all. They let go of a wonderful elementary teacher who was pregnant and their fund raising coordinator mid-year. It was alsovery apparant that they had "favorite families" id you are not one beware! If you are comfortable with unqualified principals then send your children here. If not, look elsewhere!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2014

We love Gooden. We are very impressed with the community and the way in which our children have been welcomed here (we have children in teh Middle and Lower Schools). We left an "excellent" local school district as our children were bored and discouraged. Here at Gooden, they are challenged, nurtured and appreciated. We love the rigorous curriculum that emphasizes the arts and critical thinking. The teachers could not be better. The community is welcoming and richly diverse. As an educator, these attributes are very important to me: teaching, community, curriculum and character development- and Gooden excels in all of these areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2013

Couldn't be happier at Gooden. Reading through these posts, it's clear the people (or most likely one person) who didn't like the school had personal issues with one administrator. In my experience, the entire administration is attentive and responsive to the needs of the whole student body. As with any school, they can't cater to the needs of the unappeasable. Also, there's mention of weak areas in science and math. We have the most phenomenal science and math teachers! If in doubt, take your own tour. You'll absolutely fall in love with it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2013

I have a daughter who has been at the school for several years. When your child thinks that everyone should attend Gooden you know that they are doing something right. She has blossomed at the school with the love and guidance of not only her teachers but the entire staff. I will be sending my second child there next year. Maybe if the last poster is that unhappy, perhaps the school isn't the right fit?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2013

This school is in serious trouble. Look elsewhere. Terrible leadership. A few good teachers left, but for how long? Is it tea they are serving? Or Kool aid?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2013

While some class sizes are large the quality of teaching is strong especially in the middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2013

FIND ANOTHER SCHOOL...This one has become the lowest of the low. If we knew then, what we know now......it wouldn't have even been a contender. Christian? I don't think so. Just because you go to chapel twice a week doesn't give the values you preach to others.....shame, shame shame, shame on you ADMINISTRATION and the Jealous/Insecure teachers you have evaluating real teachers is in a word: PATHETIC.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2012

We have a Kindergartener at the Gooden School and we love it! She adores her teacher. She receives a lot of one on one attention. She is getting a great education but is still able to play and have fun as she is not overwhelmed by too much homework. We love that the school offers a wonderful music and art program and that she has PE 4 days/week. We have been impressed by how well all of the staff/teachers at Gooden know our daughter. Our daughter's class is small but she interacts with the other grades and has made friends with children in different classes as well as her own. We love the traditions at Gooden and the strong emphasis placed on character and moral development. We couldn't be happier
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2012

My kids have been attending from kindergarden through middle school. Excellent school with caring and compassionate instructors. The things they do best is develop caring, compassionate students who have empathy and character. In my book, the rest will follow. Check it out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2012

We have been at The Gooden School for five years and currently have two children there. The teachers have been excellent and truly know my children. I have always admired the students and how well they treat each other. I especially enjoy seeing how kind the older students are to the younger ones. I am continually impressed with the academic programs. I feel I have two well educated happy kids that enjoy going to school. I am very pleased with the Head of School and feel she is doing an excellent job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2011

This has been a wonderful school for our family. It has a very strong academic program, a very nurturing environment, as well as a well-rounded curriculum including the arts. Both of our children have graduated and now attend excellent local high schools. Overall, we were very happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2011

This school isn't as great as it could be because the leadership is so poor. It is frustrating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2011

The school can't offer what other private schools in the area provide. If your child needs extra help, you will have to pay out of pocket. It is run by a person who has horrible communication skills. Girls are given better treatment than boys. Enough said.


Posted March 5, 2011

We just received our child's high school acceptance letter and are less than satisfied with the results. We were assured by the administration that Gooden students routinely get their first school of choice for high school, but this did not happen, and we are left holding the pieces of a now empty bag. Nine years wasted!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2011

Great community, caring teachers, amazing music, art, Spanish & PE programs and teachers! We've really valued so much about Gooden. No school is perfect, but Gooden has been a great fit for us. Some have perceived the Head of school as distant, but she's actually quite warm with the children, just more on the introverted end and formal with families. Assistant Head covers the nurturing of the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2010

The good things about Gooden are the caring atmosphere , the required music classes, and the chapel requirement. Also, the teachers have been great. The problems appear to be in science. There is no real science program , and the time they have spent teaching children erroneous fantasies about nutrition and other trendy scientific subjects are completely wrong and a waste of time. Also, there is little extra opportunity for a truly gifted student. Since we are willing to supplement at home the weak areas at the school, we have chosen to support the school because of its caring, nurturing atmoshere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2010

The Gooden School ha been a wonderful experience for our family. We have two children who have graduated and gone on to excellent area high schools, and one child still at Gooden. Our older children were well prepared for high school, and have fond memories and friends from their days at Gooden. This is a great place for a strong, balanced education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2010

Not good.Gooden is a complete waste of money and there is no leadership to speak of. Children are better off, better educated, better equipped to face the real world and happier at public school. We have even experienced less behavioural problems and less bullying in public school. Don't waste your money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2010

Gooden School is a complete waste of money. Thre is a lack of serious leadership and the motto about respect is a joke. Kids get better education and are safer and happier at public schools. I am speaking from experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

192 North Baldwin Avenue
Sierra Madre, CA 91024
Phone: (626) 355-2410

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Bethany Christian School
Sierra Madre, CA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT