Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Alverno High School

Private | 9-12 | 166 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Sierra Madre

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $615,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,400.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 13 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 20, 2014

There is a lot of concern for every student at Alverno! My daughter and my niece both attended and they were given opportunities I fear they would not have had in a different environment. I am confused as to the negative comments because our experience with this school has been truly amazing and a blessing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2014

Alverno is an excellent school. My daughter is a sophomore and she chose Alverno two years ago because the students were so welcoming to her. Now that she is an Alverno student herself, she considers campus is her second home. Academically she is excelling and socially she is thriving. She loves her teachers and has made good friends. I recommend Alverno to all of our friends with daughters!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2014

Please do not waste your money. If you live in a good public school district, research the possibility of sending your child there. My daughter needed help with math and her math teacher was not available after school because she had children of her own and needed to get home right away. I do understand this and did not expect her to be there five days a week. However, two times a week would have been very helpful. If your child is a good student, she will do well anywhere. Alverno is so lacking. The principal is rude and shows no compassion for families that do not have money. The administration needs to be replaced with people that care. My sister went there for only a year and when it was time for my daughter to pick a school, my sister was so very disappointed we picked Alverno for our daughter. Save this money for college or invest it in an account for your child. You will be glad you did. Enrollment here is so low. Numbers don't lie.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2013

I attended Alverno in the 90s and I found myself prepared for college and I had the ability to stand up for myself and work hard for what I wanted. I feel like my high school experience gave me the courage to do that. The teachers and administration were supportive of me as a student and I feel that I received a top-notch education. I was fully prepared for college and made the Dean's list all through my four years. I went on to graduate school where I graduated with highest honors - 4.0 grade point average. Thank you Alverno... and mom and dad!


Posted August 13, 2013

Alverno High School has been a homecoming for our family. Our daughter will graduate in 2016, 30 years after her mother and twenty years after her aunt. Alverno embraces, envelops, and encourages the girl who marches to the beat of her own drum. The education our daughter is earning is exemplary, but equally as important is the development of her own self. We knew that sending our daughter to Alverno would enhance the gifts she already has, but this was never truer than when we heard her sing a solo at the Harvest Concert during her Freshman year. Our seemingly shy, reserved girl stepped forward, held that microphone, and came alive. It was a beautiful moment as parents to witness. We will treasure it always because we knew she was home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2013

I attended Alverno and find that the reviews speak to the uneven nature of the academics. Some teachers are remarkable and truly inspiring. Some are miserable and destructive. One in particular (who is still on staff and for some unimaginable reason has some kind of academic leadership position) failed to understand the subject she taught and would rather berate her students than read the text which she was meant to elucidate. Also, the college counseling was a contradiction in terms. I had to research for myself all of the universities I was interested in and discover all of the potential scholarships on my own. Luckily, I was motivated and succeeded, but it was in spite of Alverno's help in this regard, not because of it. In the end, though, quite a few of the AP classes were good (not biology or calc, sadly), and the relationship with the other girls was probably the best part (mutual suffering can build strong bods!). If Alverno wants to truly empower women, it might strive to provide them with the intellectual foundation they need to excel.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 20, 2012

Alverno is an amazing school that provides its students with opportunities that they otherwise would not have at another school. It encourages its students to speak up and ask questions. Teachers are always available for tutoring and to help their students succeed. Learning at Alverno is very interactive and students learn not only in the classroom but also outside of the classroom so that they get hands on experiences that they will remember for the rest of their lives. The young women that graduate from Alverno are fully prepared for college and the lives ahead of them with the life experiences and knowledge to take them to great places.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 20, 2012

I love Alverno because I feel like this isn't just a school but really is a community. The teachers are really great and are very interested in what they teach and are very inspiring. I really enjoy being in Book Club and that there is a club for everyone at Alverno!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 20, 2012

Alverno was probably the most important part of my journey to find who I am. I was able to grow and develop as a person and in my academics. I love all of the faculty and staff. They personally invested in my growth and I would not be as confident or as prepared for college if I did not go to Alverno.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 20, 2012

Alverno High school was a good school when I attended in the 80's. Now it is a Fantastic school in 2012 and that is why my daughter attends currently!~
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2012

I attended Alverno and would send or refer in a heartbeat. The education I received and the lasting friendships that I developed are irreplaceable.


Posted November 19, 2012

I am a past parent whose daughter graduated from Alverno a few years ago. When my daughter was in 8th grade, she was horribly bullied and really struggled academically. Within a few weeks of her being at Alverno, I noticed a complete change in her. When her first quarter report card came out, I was floored by her grades-- all A's and one B. It was amazing to me how much a difference the school could make in 3 weeks! In 3 weeks, she was happy and confident and completely different. I will be forever grateful to Alverno for providing my daughter with that amazing life changing experience. Today, she has graduated from college and graduate school and has an amazing job. I know that none of this would be possible without Alverno. I cannot say enough how much this school means to my family and I implore you to look at Alverno for your daughters.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2012

I have two daughters that attended Alverno. They were two completely different types of students, yet, they both graduated being the best women they could be and have both excelled in their fields. The emphasis on leadership, community service and total inclusion is something I have not seen at any other local high school - and I have seen them all! The faculty and staff are completely committed to their students and it is evident in the number of women that constantly go back to visit their alma mater.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2012

My daughter and a majority of other girls that attended this high school has been bullied. The administration decided to ignore the problem and kick out the victims instead of helping the issue. This school is hell and many girls are leaving because of the lack of education and respect. The principle and vice principle needs to be replaced ASAP.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2012

My daughter attended Alverno and graduated in 2012. She came into Alverno as a shy, nominal student and left a leader with a strong GPA who was rewarded with acceptance into seven out of eight universities she applied to. Like any other school, Alverno has great teachers, and average teachers. The strength of Alverno lies in its numerous opportunities in activities, volunteer service, arts and sports. Due to the small size there is a strong sense of community among the students and faculty. We are happy with our choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2012

Alverno is the best thing that ever happened to me, it has been my second home and I would not change my experience there for the world. Everyone on campus is friendly, helpful and dedicated to making students succeed. The teachers are remarkable and so are the academics. The sense of unity is strong within the Alverno community and I enjoyed ever minute of my time there. Their philosophy is to empower every young woman to be exactly the person she wants to be and that s exactly what it does over a period of four years. The whole Alverno experience that is obtained over each year is well worth $13,000. Alverno is very generous with giving girls scholarships who earn them and are overall very flexible. Throughout my four years at Alverno I have seen my fellow classmates become strong and independent leaders of the future. My classmate s acceptances were also very vast. In my opinion Alverno is just as good as any other private school in the Pasadena area maybe even better, just look at the colleges we get into.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 29, 2012

It is a mistake to send your child to Alverno High School. The school is losing more students that it has coming in. Over 100 girls have left the school. They try to keep it a secret. You have to ask yourself why so many girls leave. Many of the teachers are not worthy of their titles. You better not owe a dime or your child will be humiliated by being pulled out of class and not allowed to take mid terms and finals. They are not allowed to participate in any activity. This school does not live up to their mission statement. They are so welcoming when your daughter is accepted and after that the school is a complete nightmare. Talk to parents who have their child at Alverno. You will be surprised at what they have to say.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2012

My daughter currently attends Alverno and hates it! She feels that the teachers are not as available to help and instead refer you to the honor students instead. Alverno is not worth $13,000.Yes theyare the lowest priced school in the Pasadena area but their curriculum does'nt even come close to La Salle or FSHA. I also feel that the administration is not sympathetic to families that are middle class and are in need of financial help. If for some reason your are late with a payment or registration fees instead of giving you an extension they tack on a late fee($100). That's not very christian like. My daughter is not an "A" student but she is well disciplined and a hard worker , too bad that this school doesn't help the students that need that extra help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2012

Alverno has been a huge disappointment. The OLD administration really needs to be replaced. There are several very poor teachers (that don't teach), a campus that is in a sad state of disrepair, and an administration that doesn't seem eager to fix any of it. Enrollment is way down, so the school is constantly asking for additional donations to cover their costs. I'd recommend against sending your daughter to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2011

We made a big mistake in sending our daughter here. Bad principal and vice principal and teachers are marginal. Our daughter does not want to change schools because she has established friendships, however our younger daughter will most certainly not attend this school. Despite having the girls in private schools their entire academic life, I think a public school would be a better choice compared to Alverno
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 45% 26%
Hispanic 36% 52%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Black 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Ann Gillick
Gender
  • All girls
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NAIS
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (626) 355-3153

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Los Angeles
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

200 North Michillinda Avenue
Sierra Madre, CA 91024
Website: Click here
Phone: (626) 355-3463

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Cis Academy
Pasadena, CA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT