Advertisement
Advertisement

Bethany Christian School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Sierra Madre

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $615,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,400.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Saturday, April 12, 2014

The preschool lacks professionalism and has archaic practices. They do not know child development. They do not practice wag they preach about Christian values. Do not send your kid to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2014

This is the worst school you could send a child rothere teachers are moody lunches are terrible and they have horible dress codes
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

Provides great foundation for both spiritual and academic excellence. Encourages family participation in its activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2013

I love Bethany Christian School. It's like a family at my school. Everyone knows eachother, watches out for eachother and truly cares about one another. The teachers are wonderful! I have had such great teachers who want you to succeed and make sure if they have to stay afterschool to help, thats exactly what they will do. They have been supportive, loving, and encouraging. I have been at Bethany for four years now and though I look forward to graduation, I will always have wonderful memories of the school.


Posted February 11, 2011

I have two sons one in preschool and the program is amazin they teach them so many things motor development, spanish, art , etc the teachers are great they care about the children. and my older son is in elementary and we are so happy again the teachers care about the children they take time to teach them and talk to them about god, this school is christian but they don't force the religion they just teach the kids to be kind and care about others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2010

My children have been going here for a while now, and I must say that it has been a wonderful experience. We have amazing middle school teachers. One of which who just won a science teacher of the year award. The children are challenged, but the teachers are there making sure that the kids are not pushed to a point where they cannot not handle their work. If you need help they are there for you after school, or they will make time during their lunch period. its a small school with only 16 to 17 kids per class, which is priceless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2010

Good school, they could improve some things but overall good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2007

My son has just completed middle school at Bethany and had an excellent experience. Kudos to the great middle school teachers and their creativity and involvement with the kids and their learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2006

Our son just started PK here less than a year ago so I dont have full details on the program, but from what I've observed, the teacher Mrs. Martin is excellent and very caring. There seems to be a lot of arts and crafts in the program. My son has also expanded his vocabulary while attending.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2005

This is an excellent school nestled in an upper class neighborhood by the mountains. It has a vibrant good connection with the home church. It has adequate parental involvment and many extracurricular activities including band.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 56%
Hispanic 18%
Black 10%
Asian 9%
Two or more races 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

93 North Baldwin Avenue
Sierra Madre, CA 91024
Phone: (626) 355-3527

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Gooden School
Sierra Madre, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT