Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Public charter
Simi Valley, CA
Students enrolled: 975

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


California Virtual Academy @ Sonoma School 1

Posted November 08, 2013
- a parent
This is a response to the most recent review. K-12, Inc., is the corporation which provides all K12 online schools in various states. While CAVA is considered a public school, they are NOT representative of the CA public school system. CAVA could possibly lose their state funding if the API does not improve. Their test scores are abysmal. I do not recommend anyone enrolling their child in K12, Inc., schools. They are a right wing corporate owned organization based in Virginia--their only interest in the education of children is to make as large a profit as possible.
1 person found this helpful

California Virtual Academy @ Sonoma School 1

Posted November 07, 2013
- a parent
CAVA--San Joaquin. DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILD TO THIS HIGH SCHOOL. This "school" does not inform parents upon enrollment that their child's courses will not get them into California state universities. We moved to CA from the east coast two months ago, enrolled our child in CAVA, and just discovered these requirements on our own. We are now removing our child and enrolling in another school. And though our child has spent time earning all A's and A+'s at CAVA, our child now will start the year over so as to remove these useless classes from our child's transcript. If this school is representative of California's public schools, the system is a joke.
1 person found this helpful


California Virtual Academy @ Sonoma School 1

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILD TO CAVA OR ANY OTHER ONLINE SCHOOL IF YOUR CHILD HAS GOALS TO ATTEND A UNIVERSITY STRAIGHT OUT OF HIGH SCHOOL BECAUSE THEY ARE NOT A-G APPROVED. FOR CA STUDENTS, CHECK DOORWAYS WHICH LIST SCHOOLS AND THEIR COURSES THAT ARE QUALIFIED FOR UC AND CSU SCHOOLS. MY SON TOOK BIOLOGY AND WORLD HISTORY. THESE COURSE ARE WASC ACCREIDTED AND GOOD FOR HIM TO GRADUATE HIGH SCHOOL BUT NOT FOR A UNIVERSITY. ITS WORSE WITH INSIGHTS, THAT SCHOOL ISNT ON THE LIST PERIOD. CAVA AND OTHER ONLINE SCHOOL WORK GREAT FOR HIGH SCHOOL GRADS ONLY. PLEASE DO YOUR HOMEWORK MOM'S AND DAD'S. GOOD LUCK, MOM
1 person found this helpful

California Virtual Academy @ Sonoma School 1

Posted May 20, 2013
- a parent
Poor tech support, too many issues with K12 software. Do not use this school if your student has special education needs and is attending the high school program. School should not label itself as a full inclusion school as they are unable to consistently provide appropriate special education services. Ironically the vendors they use for educational support have more cohesive curriculum and fewer tech issues.
1 person found this helpful

California Virtual Academy @ Sonoma School 5

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
We've been learning at home with California Virtual Academy @ Sonoma for about four years now. The curriculum is fantastic, the teachers are fabulous. While I wish the API was as high as our neighborhood school, Sonoma Mountain Elementary, test scores are not everything just as learning in the home environment might be great for some and not for others. If you are considering teaching/learning at home, CAVA @ Sonoma should be at the top of your list of choices for that endeavor.


California Virtual Academy @ Sonoma School 5

Posted November 01, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

California Virtual Academy @ Sonoma School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
I have homeschooled in the past and was overwhelmed, but this program is the best homeschool program I have ever been involved with. I have a honors high school student who is very happy and thriving. It will require discipline, so it's not for everybody.

California Virtual Academy @ Sonoma School 5

Posted October 24, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


California Virtual Academy @ Sonoma School 5

Posted August 15, 2007
- a parent
Fantastic home school! California Virtual Academy offers a well rounded, complete curriculum for home schoolers, as well as great teacher support for the home teaching parent, field trips and outings. If you want to home school your child, you must consider CAVA @ Sonoma! www.caliva.org

California Virtual Academy @ Sonoma School 5

Posted May 12, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

California Virtual Academy @ Sonoma School
2360 Shasta Way, Simi Valley, CA  93065
(877) 900-5602
Last modified California Virtual Academy @ Sonoma School is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
California Virtual Academy @ Sonoma School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top