Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


California Virtual Academy @ Sutter School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted April 01, 2016
- a parent
My daughter received feedback quickly and was able to use the feedback on subsequent assignments.

California Virtual Academy @ Sutter School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted April 01, 2016
- a parent
Students that take online courses just be determined, persistent and self-motivated in order to be successful. While I am not sure that the school itself develops these attributes, the simple fact that the student progresses shows that the student is developing these attributes by completing assignments.


California Virtual Academy @ Sutter School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted April 01, 2016
- a parent
I felt that the school provided me all the facts up front. However, I also feel that the school provides instruction related to courses selected by the student. To the extent that the student selects a course meant to develop these attributes then the school would develop them. I found this school to be a provider of courses (like taking college online) as opposed to developing the softer skills (how to relate to others, doing the right thing, etc.). I wouldn't expect that CAVA did any better or worse than other online schools for the simple fact that there is no real face-to-face interaction and the school is 100% education.

California Virtual Academy @ Sutter School 5

Posted April 01, 2016
- a parent
My daughter excelled in every class in Junior High (traditional physical campus) but when she entered high school they did not provide the higher level classes she needed. But, they said she had to take classes that were "required" so she would have to repeat a bunch of classes just to get the credits. We moved to CAVA where they had a larger selection of classes. She graduated in a couple of years (as opposed to four years of pointless classes in the traditional school). We had terrific support from the teachers and counselors at CAVA. My daughter signed up for the local junior college for the science classes since the ones at CAVA do not qualify for the university level. However, she ended up doing the junior college route anyway so she had credits stashed there when she started. CAVA is fantastic for kids that are self-motivated and want to get in and out of high school quickly.

California Virtual Academy @ Sutter School 1

Posted November 05, 2015
- a parent
My daughter went from a straight A honors student coming out of a traditional middle school into hs and her motivation absolutely tanked. Obviously it wasn't all Cava's fault that her interest dropped so dramatically - however once I expressed my concern , I could immediately tell that they could care less. All they seemed to be particularly concerned with was attendence updates as required to enter by the learning coach (parent). If your HS student is interested in going to a UC or even a state school, CAVA's science classes offer no labs and your student will somehow be left with the problem of going to a Junior college to complete the lab. What a headache. Midsemester I withdrew my student from CAVA in hopes that her interest in school will again in improve as well as her social life (not the primary concern of mine, but hers).


California Virtual Academy @ Sutter School 1

Posted September 16, 2015
- a parent
We were badly mislead by the school administration. My daughter is a competitive rower and in order to be eligible for the college scholarship she was offered and compete in the NCAA she had to meet the NCAA's academic requirements. In February of 2014 I went to great lengths to hunt down the right people to speak to at CAVA to confirm that their classes were NCAA eligible and was assured they were and they had NEVER had a problem with the NCAA... only to find out in June they had been under review for the entire year and were as of then declared 100% ineligible under the NCAA requirements. We moved my daughter to Connections, where she had to take 9 classes 2d semester and a full year summer school course to meet the min units required for an 'Academic Excellence' waiver from the NCAA. She managed it, but it was a miserable, stressful experience that we could have avoided if CAVA had been honest. Changing her one semester earlier would have given her enough units on just a regular schedule. For the record, she had a 3.84 GPA and mostly honors and AP courses, plus good SATs and decent AP scores. The NCAA's position had nothing to do with her grades and everything to do with CAVA, and the disaster we had to endure was entirely down to them LYING to me. If I'd had the exchange via email instead of over the phone with no record I'd have been sorely tempted to sue them. As it is, I would never recommend them to anyone, with a child in any grade, for any reason.

California Virtual Academy @ Sutter School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted September 16, 2015
- a parent
I will not categorically say the teachers were bad, even if they are employed by a bad organization. They were doing their jobs and some of them did actually provide some help to my daughter, though the vast majority of her educational experience was simply reading online text, watching videos, and then taking quizzes and tests or submitting (generally very short) essays. I would say she predominantly educated herself... which works just fine for her.

California Virtual Academy @ Sutter School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted September 16, 2015
- a parent
Yes, if only because that's what it takes to succeed despite CAVA's substandard education and dishonest practices.


California Virtual Academy @ Sutter School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted September 16, 2015
- a parent
Absolutely not. An educational institution that has no respect for its students is not capable of developing that character trait in them.

California Virtual Academy @ Sutter School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted September 16, 2015
- a parent
They didn't care about my daughter's educational or life goals, only about getting seat money from the state of California for having her enrolled, that sure isn't good modeling, is it?

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

California Virtual Academy @ Sutter School
2360 Shasta Way, Simi Valley, CA  93065
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (866) 339-6787
Last modified California Virtual Academy @ Sutter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-12
Top