Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Atherwood Elementary School

Public | K-6

 
 

Living in Simi Valley

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $350,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 27, 2013

Loved Atherwood! Both of my children attended there, with my last child just "culminating" from 6th grade this past year. The only complaint I have, is that the comments written in my child's ending report card, although I agreed with them, there was not one positive comment given. I have never had that happen before. I even emailed the 6th grade teacher about it, and was given no response. My child is not a trouble maker, just needs to try harder in the learning department. All the teachers my kids had were awesome and I could ask questions at any time and always received a prompt response. Very involved PTA as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

so far so great! my son just started k here and we love it. I love his teacher Ms. Oliver. Home work is great. I look forward to a great experience and will update my comment by the end of the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2013

We love Atherwood! Our older son was on the wait list at Vista, and was given a space for second grade. We were initially excited to get a spot at Vista, but realized how wonderful Atherwood has been. We're sad that Mrs. Lewis is retiring after this year, but are very happy with our decision to stay with Atherwood. The teachers and staff are all very caring and wonderful, and you feel like you're a part of a family when you're child is at this school. We give would give Atherwood an A+.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2012

Atherwood has been an amazing school for my two boys. We had the opportunity to move to Vista, but didn't want to leave Atherwood. The teachers are amazing. Many spend their own time teaching after school programs. My sons are constantly challenged and their STAR scores show it. This year their API is 911. For those of you reading the below posting, the PTA has changed since that posting. PTA's goal this year is to raise $10,000 in technology and have more family activities. PTA meets on the first Thursday of each month in the library.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2011

My daughter attended Atherwood for one year. It was a very difficult transition initially but by the end of the school year she finally felt like she could survive there. There were MANY problems with bullying and very little action was taken. Although the teacher tried VERY hard to protect her she did have 30 children to manage and obviously could not focus all of her attention on just one. Although I didn't bring it to the principal's attention I felt that it was not a priority for her to manage and discipline children caught bullying. The best thing that the school has going for it is the teachers! They work hard with very little resources and do the best they can. I felt like my daughters teacher gave 110%! The PTA definitely needs a makeover! The primary leaders (Pres, VP, etc.) have formed such a tight clique that outsiders are NOT allowed in. I talked to the President several times offering my assistance in any way possible. I really wanted to be involved in my child's school and education but this PTA President simply brushed me off and said "send me an email and we'll get back to you." After numerous emails and verbal encounters there was no response. VERY DISAPPOINTING!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

Beautiful campus, great teachers, wonderful principal. Atherwodd is all around a great school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

The principal is wonderful, the teachers are excellent, my three boys love going there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2010

We have moved many times throughout my 3 daughters elementary school life's and have attended 4 differents elem. schools. This school is the best school we have attended by far! The teachers are truly there to enrich these children and care deeply about their academic lives. Between all of my children, we have had most all of the teachers. Each one is better than the next. Truly a wonderful atmosphere for children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2009

I have to say that yes Atherwood has grown and with that I think they have adapted very strongly.. All three of my daughters have attended Atherwood for all of their elementary years and loved/love it. My oldest is 19 and youngest is 7 in second grade. Its nice to have teachers recognize myself and my girls and ask how their sisters are doing.. Not only that the school cares about the children and the teachers are all wonderful.. On another note I attended Atherwood the first year it opened as a Kindergartener and have seen this school grow from 2 building to what it is now and it is all very positive. Its nice having so many kids go to the same school in the neighborhood.. Keep it up Atherwood Allstars!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2009

I have to say Mrs. Garcia and Mrs. Fiore are great teachers. I feel fortunate that my son has had those two teachers. My daughter will be attending Atherwood in 2010 and I really hope she can have Mrs. Garcia and Mrs. Fiore. My son was struggling in 1st grade and thanks to Mrs. Fiore's involvement he was able to catch up to the class level. Mrs. Fiore used to stay tutoring him after school and helped us to get also more involved in our son's progress. I just have to say those two teachers are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2009

I feel that this schoolis great. We moved here from Palmdale about 1 year ago and my kids have already advanced so much. Thanks to all of the teachers and staff at Atherwood:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2009

i just moved from california to texas and realized that Atherwood is the best school. you learn so much more, its really an amazing educational school.


Posted September 4, 2008

My children came to Simi from Westlake schools and I am very happy here (even happier here) at Atherwood two years in a row and this will be our third. My kiddos are happy too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

I really enjoy the cozy atmosphere of this smaller school. It's easy to speak with the teacher and the smaller class size helps in the teacher knowing my child at a deeper level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2008

This is a wonderful school. I'm a little perplexed by the comment dated Jan. 9, 2008 as this particular parent is moving to Valencia which is insanely overpopulated. I should know we recently moved from there. I will agree though that there is a large increase in the student population because of some new housing that has popped up. However if you are one of the families that live in that new housing it's amazing becausse there are so many Atherwood kids in your neighborhood. Regardless I would recommend this school. Parent involvement is wonderful. The level of instruction is amazing too. My daughter has 19 kids in her class which I do not feel is too large.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2008

When my daughter started attending Atherwood, it was a wonderful neighborhood school. It has since grown considerably with the addition of new housing in the area. The result has been below favorable. The teachers have felt the struggle with larger class sizes, more teachers sharing resources and less scheduling availablity for library, computer lab and special events. The PTA has tried to re-vamp to accomodate and has not been successful in resolving even the smallest issues. The teachers are adequate. The school allows such talk of clothing brands, social status and other discriminitory factors under the rationalization of 'kids will be kids'. Two years ago, I would have recommended this school. Now I am happy to be moving to nearby Valencia for smaller, neighborhood school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2005

Good kindergarden classes, my son adored Mrs. Yatomi a very good caring teacher. It was a very good start for my son to have such a nice teacher in a small school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2004

Atherwood is a great school with a great staff. My children have been at this school for 5 years through school choice and I couldn't have made a better choice. There is active involvement on the part of the parents and the teachers are very supportive of that. They welcome you into the classroom! My kids have done wonderful and their test scores have been outstanding. I have experienced no real problems since we first chose this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2004

I've had a great experience at Atherwood with my Daughter (1st and 2nd grade). The teachers are knowledgable and caring, and the administrative workers have been great. My daughter looks forward to school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2004

I have two children enrolled at Atherwood. I have been very pleased with the teachers so far. They all seem to work with the children as individuals. What I have enjoyed most is the geat parent volunteers who really work hard for the school. Atherwood is a small school and that makes it easy for everyone to get to Know each other and they do. The PTA is great. I look forward to many great years ahead at Atherwood.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

907

Change from
2012 to 2013

-4

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

907

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-4

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students76%
Females83%
Males70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino72%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability82%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)80%
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students87%
Females85%
Males90%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate87%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)85%
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students65%
Females65%
Males64%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate67%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students86%
Females86%
Males86%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino76%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)90%
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students85%
Females87%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino69%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability87%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate67%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)88%
Parent education - college graduate96%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students86%
Females89%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino69%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability87%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate73%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)88%
Parent education - college graduate96%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students79%
Females84%
Males75%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability82%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate80%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate75%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students86%
Females89%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino87%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate87%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)82%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students89%
Females81%
Males97%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino87%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate87%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students76%
Females78%
Males75%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students77%
Females81%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate76%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 57%
Hispanic 22%
Asian 10%
Two or more races 7%
Black 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/AN/A
English language learners 3%N/AN/A

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2350 East Greensward Street
Simi Valley, CA 93065
Phone: (805) 520-6730

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Nephi Academy
Simi Valley, CA


Growan Institute
Simi Valley, CA


Justin Elementary School
Simi Valley, CA


Vista Elementary School
Simi Valley, CA



Good Shepherd Lutheran
Simi Valley, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT