Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Berylwood Elementary School 1

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
I am worried because the school is very low on the test scores. I have observed during the years their score is getting worse. They also don't care if a child knows their math, literature, etc. they will pass them to the next grade. Also the school gives certificates to the kids that have had the worst grades throughout the year. The kids that have had good grades throughout the year don't even receive an award of any sort. Also when you want to check your child out the office will not ask for an ID or check to see if your a family member, they will just give you the child.

Berylwood Elementary School 5

Posted August 07, 2014
- a parent
I brought my child here on school of choice after hearing about their innovative teachers. I went on a tour of the school and I was so impressed with the level of thinking that the children were doing. Kids were talking about math when problem solving, analyzing characters, and discussing what a story needed to have - all in FIRST grade. After my daughter completed the year I was so pleased with her growth. The principle is personable, receptive to parent concerns, and is extremely knowledgeable about how children grow and what schools need to do to get them there.


Berylwood Elementary School 5

Posted August 07, 2014
- a teacher
The staff welcomes parent involvement, wants to create a family community. Curriculum is innovative, responds to student needs, and is the result of staff development (monthly and during the summer).

Berylwood Elementary School 4

Posted May 22, 2014
- a teacher
Berylwood is making amazing things happen!!! We have an amazing staff of teachers who go above and beyond for their students. This year we have had great turnouts for Family Reading Nights, Read Across America and school book fairs. We are all working together to create a great place for learning!

Berylwood Elementary School 4

Posted June 13, 2012
- a parent
Berylwood is a typical California that has been hit by economic cutbacks and overcrowding. Class sizes are large, a majority of the students do not speak English and do not come from English-speaking families, and yet is located in a quiet and secure neighborhood. The teachers are outstanding, the quality of schoolwork and classroom participation is excellent, but the PTA leader needs to go; as contacting parents with Spanish-only fliers and Spanish-only calls is ignorant and absurd.


Berylwood Elementary School 5

Posted January 21, 2012
- a parent
I am writing this review because my daughter is in Jr. Kindergarten at this school. It is an awesome program and I can't recommend it enough. My daughter has blossomed so much and is learning more than I ever expected. I can't judge the rest of the staff or the teachers, but we have had a great year so far. I feel that my daughter is safe and cared for. For parents with kids thinking about Jr.K.........Please don't judge Jr. Kindergarten with all the reweivs you read. The program is truly great!!!

Berylwood Elementary School 1

Posted October 22, 2011
- a community member
If they didn't ask for ID and gave the wrong child to your husband, you need to report them ... not sure to whom... Child Protective Services? You also need to make an appt. with the principal and tell him/her that you expect change. I would also consider going to the local newspaper with this information. We need to keep our children safe!

Berylwood Elementary School 1

Posted September 26, 2011
- a parent
This is my kids first year at this school. Shes been here for a month. Shes one month. The other day they called me saying that my daughter was sick and i needed to go pick her up. My husband went and he signed the release paper ( this was his first time pick her up) they did not ask for an i.d., they didnt check of he was on the emergency list. When they told him to go in the nurses off he realized they were giving him the wrong kid. The little girl was ready to go with him, he told them this is not my daughter. They had no clue what was going on. Its upsetting because u never know if someone can yake a chikd and they will nt even know who there giving the kid to. I was very upset. I will b changing schools.


Berylwood Elementary School
no rating

Posted June 18, 2009
- a parent
I have 4 children that attended during the 08-09 school year in grades k, 3, 4, and 5. This has been the a great year. Administrators and teachers really care about the students. Two of my children were given extra help through the Title I program and I can tell the difference! I highly recommend Berylwood Elementary.

Berylwood Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 24, 2009
- a community member
this is the best school i've seen students make good choices and the staff gets the involved in fun learning

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Berylwood Elementary School
2300 Heywood Street, Simi Valley, CA  93065-3622
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (805) 520-6705
Last modified Berylwood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top