Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Rose Of Lima Elementary School

Private | K-8 | 274 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Simi Valley

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $350,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 10 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

When you live in a great public school district, a private school has to be incredible to earn your money. Saint Rose of Lima has exceeded our expectations. Our child is challenged academically and is learning to be a productive member of society. The teachers are amazing and show how much they care about the students on a daily basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

What an amazing school! It feels like a family! I proud to be part of the staff as well as a parent of two children in Kinder and 4th. The amount of technology that the students have access to is amazing! Come check us out!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 24, 2014

I am very blessed that I am able to provide my daughter not only with a private education, but a Catholic education as well. In a day and age where public schools do not allow for the word "God" to be used, it is a tough society. I feel secure that St. Rose offers my child a safe, fun and religious environment with supportive lead staff. St. Rose also is very family orientated which has involved me in my child's school life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2014

Saint rose of lima is a very good school to send your children too. Teacher are caring, academic program is great, and from what I can see , all the children really like to be in school.,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2014

St Rose serves local homeless and seniors along with providing a foundation of religion. My children attended the other local christian school in town and found St Rose's academic program much more challenging along with providing a separate religion class. Our teachers and staff are great the children. Our school is small in size but great with promise of growing our children into great academic students for high school and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2014

A great school! Academically oriented with advance teaching methods comparing to our public counterpart. There are a lot of homework assignments to keep my daughter busy after school, but still leave enough time for her to enjoy her evening and be a kid. SRL parents and staffs are community oriented, kind, generous, and just very friendly people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2014

I like St. Rose because of the family environment, the close community network, the great teachers and the religious foundation. Mr. Sanders really takes the parents perspective into consideration while balancing the overall needs of the school. The school has provided my children with a solid foundation in Catholicism and educational excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2014

A great place for kids to grow and learn. This school has it all. It's recipe for success? Teachers, staff members, a principal and parents whose main goal is to help kids succeed. This, plus a strong faith and family community, equal a great school. Academics are excellent, with highly qualified, enthusiastic teachers who WANT to be there. They employ the latest technology and teaching methods to help kids not only learn, but retain knowledge. They also focus on helping students apply the knowledge they gain. There's a lot of excitement here. You can feel it as you walk around the campus. The kids are happy and love their school. A perfect example of this is the whole-school morning assembly, which includes prayer, flag salute, announcements and birthday celebrations. Such a great thing, and it happens every morning. Check it out for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

All four of my children have attended St. Rose... hmm, since 2001... and I have no regrets. The best way to describe my experience is this: Every morning when I drop off our child, my heart leaves my body. It lives in the teachers, staff and Principal of St. Rose. The St. Rose of Lima community is ALL HEART!! This school provides a great education, nurturing, safe environment, with faith-based standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2014

I wish I had discovered this school sooner! I transferred my child in after having issues at my local public school. I looked at many schools, and this one fits our family perfectly. It's small, it's safe, its academically rigorous, it stresses faith and character, and the teachers and parents are very in tuned with and involved with the students. My daughter is getting an excellent education. The teachers are phenomenal. Well-rounded, with all the extra classes like Spanish, art and music. Great leadership from an involved principal; very impressive. There are a lot of fun family events, so we had no trouble making friends quickly with other parents. My daughter has lots of good friends. The kids are really nice! The faith and character development taught and modeled here are impressive. The older appearance of the buildings is deceiving of the true character of this school; I'm glad we saw past that. Good people, great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2012

Amazing school. I am an alumni of Saint Rose. First off, let me say that the academic program at Saint Rose is very challenging. I thought it was too much, until I got into High School. Now I have really come to appreciate the curriculum, It made High School much easier. Next, The staff there are amazing, I visit the school every some time, and I always love talking with the teachers., the teachers are very hands-on and have been a huge help in the education process. The extra-curricular programs there are very diverse, and help after school. I know how how it looks from the outside, but looks can be deceiving. I have nothing but good to say about this school and I am glad I went there for 8 years.


Posted February 1, 2012

LOVE THIS SCHOOL! I feel like my kids are with family. St. Rose families (parents and kids) are the best. They really care about each other and are there when you need them. We've been here for 6 years My kids have made many good friends here--kids I actually LIKE having over! Academically excellent school. My kids are getting a great education: math, science, Lang. Arts, social studies, music, art, Spanish, PE. The teachers are wonderful; great at communicating with me & my husband. Each class has a main teacher and a full-time assistant--all credentialed. The principal is upgrading the technology throughout the school and in all classrooms. The teachers all just got iPads and digital projectors. Computer lab is excellent. A new hands-on art program is on the way ( in addition to the current program). Competitive sports are good. Don't be fooled by the plain exterior. This school has it all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2012

It is a pleasure to work with such a wonderul and caring staff. Everyone here takes pride in their work and watches out for everyone. I am blessed to be a part of a team that cares and makes a diffeence in the children's lives.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 24, 2011

Although my children are now in college I felt I should right a review to let parents of elementary children my experience of St. Rose School. The basic fundamentals of education is the bases of any child's career in school. My children both started St. Rose in the first grade. They were molded into good hearted adults and although my son had a rocky start with education the love and patients of the St. Rose teachers taught him to believe in himself, and now both my children are happy well accomplished adults. I would love to thank St. Rose for all that they did to help them on their journey.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2011

St. Rose of Lima Catholic School is an advantage for life. Our kids are thriving at St. Rose. The values, character and integrity that is incorporated into the curriculum are key to developing well rounded, productive young adults. St. Rose also provides extra curricular activities such as sports, dance, choir, and much more. There is such a strong sense of community here that provides a safe place of learning. The teachers are available and responsive when needed. Resource teacher available is amazing. The principal is moving forward to make it even more excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2011

My two daughters attend St Rose and they love it! Our principal, John Sanders, is great; full of terrific ideas and enthusiasm. Teachers are caring and involved. My husband and I are impressed with the curriculum too. Our kids thrive and excel at St Rose of Lima. The class size allows for them to have several good friends while at the same time avoiding the issues with cliques. Their fellow students are kind and polite.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2011

Wonderful School Wonderful Teachers Wonderful Students Wonderful Parents An A+++ School Simi Valley's hidden treasure of schools
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2011

My two children attend St. Rose and they are happy, bright, and love their school! The school is led by a wonderful principal who puts the children's needs first. The teachers at the school are credentialed, caring and committed to a Catholic education. I am pleased with the curriculum and extra-curricular activities offered to the children. There is something for everyone be it sports, choir, dancing or karate. The environment is friendly and caring and the children feel safe at their school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2011

ST. ROSE ROCKS!!! I have been a very happy parent for the past 8 years and have been blessed with a wonderful sense of community. My children have become better members of this community because of the values taught at St. Rose. It was essential to both my husband and myself that our children attend a school where faith and good citizenship were key. The education they are receiving is preparing them for so much more than just high school. I believe this school has assisted my husband and I in creating caring, kind, compassionate, and educated young people. Hats off to St. Rose!!! Thank you for giving my children a great beginning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2011

Our six children have attended St. Rose of Lima for many years. The school and parrish feel like a second home. The teachers are all very caring and every student is made to feel important. Our new principal is smart, kind, creative and fun! St. Rose is a great place to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 60%
Hispanic 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 8%
Asian 7%
Black 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. John Sanders
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Los Angeles
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1325 Royal Avenue
Simi Valley, CA 93065
Phone: (805) 526-5304

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT