Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12
Private
Solana Beach, CA
Students enrolled: 55
Before care: No
After care: No

4 stars
Based on 28 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


29 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Fusion Academy 5

Posted September 26, 2014
- a parent
Fusion Academy is an excellent school! The one-on-one approach truly works because the teachers are able to tailor the lessons to how your child learns best and this truly helps the students understand the subject matter being taught. What I most love as a parent is that all the teachers, staff and students work together to create a very accepting and friendly school environment! I wish there had been a school like this when I was growing up.

Fusion Academy 1

Posted June 04, 2014
- a parent
I met the founder of the school (who was rude and arrogant), founding team, and lead curriculum & operations leaders. They were all completely incompetent in education or education administration. Operational coordinator and academic deans couldn't keep track of appointments arranged or key educational terminology. While professing to be alternative, their actual curriculum, structure, and methodology has little difference from most mainstream schools. Only difference are the expensive looking d cor and one-on-one offices. There are thousands of tutoring services out there for far less money. Only training staff have is a corporate seminar on the proper elevator pitches and language. Its all marketing, no substance. When asking assistant directors about daily functions, not a single leader could answer specific questions about anything. Supports staff detail incidents indicative that they lack behavior management or instructional knowledge. Leaders know nothing about learning differences or disabilities, tend to hire Directors who are abelist and far from alternative. They encourage 'wackiness' but run more like sorority that only likes one singular fake wackiness.


Fusion Academy 1

Posted March 06, 2014
- a parent
Fusion tuition starts out as an insane amount of money. Read the fine print. You will pay that sum four times a year. If your student falls behind one of their fast paced classes you will be carged a hefty price per day. They will send you a bill if they decide on their own to councel your child without your permission. If you realize that the school is not right for your kid after the first week you forfeit half of the tuition. Just say no. Their teachers do not even have credentials.

Fusion Academy 1

Posted February 05, 2014
- a parent
Fusion expelled my child for reasons associated with her mental illness. I understand a school not being able to handle certain issues. But to keep a whole semesters worth of tuition for which she can not attend is cruel. Now she has no funds to return to school for the rest of the year. This will only exacerbate her illness.

Fusion Academy 1

Posted January 28, 2014
- a community member
I just received a huge glossy ad to get my son to attend. Oops, he is already a Junior in college. Clearly, someone has decided that random ad print is more valuable than putting resources into the school.


Fusion Academy 5

Posted October 02, 2013
- a parent
My 6th grade son has started at Fusion this year and we are so happy with the school and for him. Individual instruction and daily tracking have helped us pinpoint what he has learned and where he needs to focus. He really enjoys the teacher and the social events and is gaining confidence daily. Dinner time has become a fun conversation about " how your day went" and what happened in History today. At first we were nervous he would be with older kids he is enjoying the responsibility of managing his activities and has stepped up to greater maturity.

Fusion Academy 1

Posted May 07, 2013
- a parent
Fusion advertises itself as an ADHD school which it is not. The teachers aren't trained and they have no services to help kids with learning disorders. If they did, they charge extra for it.

Fusion Academy 5

Posted January 04, 2013
- a parent
Fusion Academy at Solana Beach is an amazing school. I m surprised by the negative reviews by some parents because our overall experience has been an extremely positive one. The school is expensive, but worth every penny when you see your child finally happy and really embracing the learning process and becoming more self-confident. My son was absolutely miserable in his previous middle school but now, he looks forward to going to school everyday and loves all his teachers. Students here create a real rapport with their teachers whom are very qualified, enthusiastic, and really do challenge the students. At Fusion students don't get lost in the shuffle in comparison to a larger school because the teachers and staff genuinely care and create a safe, nurturing and accepting environment. We feel our son is getting a top-notch education at Fusion Academy and we couldn't be happier. We're thrilled that he's attending such a wonderful school.


Fusion Academy 1

Posted December 28, 2012
- a community member
I agree with the last post. This place is just out for the money. The academia is a joke, and it is like a Boys 'n Girls Club. They talk a big game, but they just have great marketing teams and wealthy investors. The "teachers" are completely unqualified. It's like they are so desperate for staff they just hire anybody to work there.

Fusion Academy 1

Posted December 15, 2012
- a community member
Fusion is a great idea in theory, 'One to one" education almost ensures student success, but there's a lot of ugly secrets behind the curtains. First, the tuition is astronomical (more than most colleges per year) and the real academic expectations of students are the bare minimum; It's basically a degree mill for the "1% ers" out there whose kids have been kicked out of 2-3 schools before they show up at Fusion. The parents have no where to turn, and Fusion is definitely a better option than boarding school. If you can afford the $27,000 a year , give or take, then your child will get a good experience, as attention is paid to students emotional as well as academic well being. In a perfect world, all schools should provide a one to one model, but in reality its the uber-rich that are the only people who can benefit. It's a business, owned by a investment firm, that's in turn owned by an even bigger elite investment firm. So, profit is the bottom line. Parents and teachers are scared to say what everyone on the inside knows: "The Emperor where's no clothes."

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fusion Academy
512 Via de la Valle, Solana Beach, CA  92075
(858) 792-2300
Last modified Fusion Academy is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Fusion Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top