Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

6-12|Private
55 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Fusion Academy 2

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
Definitely not a 'Great School' in terms of academics. Even the most skilled teacher cannot deliver 185 days worth of lessons in 40 days. Most teachers have little to no experience. If academics are important to you then this 'for-profit' is to be avoided. They simply cannot deliver even a decent education using the current model. Perhaps parents feel like it must be a good school because they are paying $3700 for 20 sessions. Buyer beware.

Fusion Academy 5

Posted September 26, 2014
- a parent
Fusion Academy is an excellent school! The one-on-one approach truly works because the teachers are able to tailor the lessons to how your child learns best and this truly helps the students understand the subject matter being taught. What I most love as a parent is that all the teachers, staff and students work together to create a very accepting and friendly school environment! I wish there had been a school like this when I was growing up.


Fusion Academy 1

Posted June 04, 2014
- a parent
I met the founder of the school (who was rude and arrogant), founding team, and lead curriculum & operations leaders. They were all completely incompetent in education or education administration. Operational coordinator and academic deans couldn't keep track of appointments arranged or key educational terminology. While professing to be alternative, their actual curriculum, structure, and methodology has little difference from most mainstream schools. Only difference are the expensive looking d cor and one-on-one offices. There are thousands of tutoring services out there for far less money. Only training staff have is a corporate seminar on the proper elevator pitches and language. Its all marketing, no substance. When asking assistant directors about daily functions, not a single leader could answer specific questions about anything. Supports staff detail incidents indicative that they lack behavior management or instructional knowledge. Leaders know nothing about learning differences or disabilities, tend to hire Directors who are abelist and far from alternative. They encourage 'wackiness' but run more like sorority that only likes one singular fake wackiness.

Fusion Academy 1

Posted March 06, 2014
- a parent
Fusion tuition starts out as an insane amount of money. Read the fine print. You will pay that sum four times a year. If your student falls behind one of their fast paced classes you will be carged a hefty price per day. They will send you a bill if they decide on their own to councel your child without your permission. If you realize that the school is not right for your kid after the first week you forfeit half of the tuition. Just say no. Their teachers do not even have credentials.

Fusion Academy 1

Posted February 05, 2014
- a parent
Fusion expelled my child for reasons associated with her mental illness. I understand a school not being able to handle certain issues. But to keep a whole semesters worth of tuition for which she can not attend is cruel. Now she has no funds to return to school for the rest of the year. This will only exacerbate her illness.


Fusion Academy 1

Posted January 28, 2014
- a community member
I just received a huge glossy ad to get my son to attend. Oops, he is already a Junior in college. Clearly, someone has decided that random ad print is more valuable than putting resources into the school.

Fusion Academy 5

Posted October 02, 2013
- a parent
My 6th grade son has started at Fusion this year and we are so happy with the school and for him. Individual instruction and daily tracking have helped us pinpoint what he has learned and where he needs to focus. He really enjoys the teacher and the social events and is gaining confidence daily. Dinner time has become a fun conversation about " how your day went" and what happened in History today. At first we were nervous he would be with older kids he is enjoying the responsibility of managing his activities and has stepped up to greater maturity.

Fusion Academy 1

Posted May 07, 2013
- a parent
Fusion advertises itself as an ADHD school which it is not. The teachers aren't trained and they have no services to help kids with learning disorders. If they did, they charge extra for it.


Fusion Academy 5

Posted January 04, 2013
- a parent
Fusion Academy at Solana Beach is an amazing school. I m surprised by the negative reviews by some parents because our overall experience has been an extremely positive one. The school is expensive, but worth every penny when you see your child finally happy and really embracing the learning process and becoming more self-confident. My son was absolutely miserable in his previous middle school but now, he looks forward to going to school everyday and loves all his teachers. Students here create a real rapport with their teachers whom are very qualified, enthusiastic, and really do challenge the students. At Fusion students don't get lost in the shuffle in comparison to a larger school because the teachers and staff genuinely care and create a safe, nurturing and accepting environment. We feel our son is getting a top-notch education at Fusion Academy and we couldn't be happier. We're thrilled that he's attending such a wonderful school.

Fusion Academy 1

Posted December 28, 2012
- a community member
I agree with the last post. This place is just out for the money. The academia is a joke, and it is like a Boys 'n Girls Club. They talk a big game, but they just have great marketing teams and wealthy investors. The "teachers" are completely unqualified. It's like they are so desperate for staff they just hire anybody to work there.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fusion Academy
512 Via de la Valle, Solana Beach, CA  92075
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (858) 792-2300
Last modified Fusion Academy is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Top