Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 37 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


38 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. James Academy 4

Posted June 29, 2014
- a parent
The person below is right about bullying, but it is worst among the parents who throw their weight around - with each other, the principal and the poor teachers. And it is really sad when they exclude other kids. My friends and I agree that our kids had an awesome year. There was lots of controversy in our class this year, but we want everyone to know that 6th grade is sensational, and we are looking forward to a stupendous junior high!

St. James Academy 1

Posted June 10, 2014
- a parent
Unfortunately, the main problem with this school is Bullying. Especially in the mid-level grades. The Principal does not address the bullying with the questionable families- she fears upsetting them since they give the school lots of money. Nice, huh??


St. James Academy 5

Posted December 13, 2012
- a parent
Wow, what a great school indeed! The teachers are fabulous and that is the most important thing. They are so dedicated, professional and patient - I don't know how they do it all. If you are looking for a school that is the whole package, this is it. Faith, community, safety, academics, arts, music, foreign language, lab sciences, technology, field trips...nothing is missing. Parents are really involved too, and that is a positive thing. I can't stress enough, from the warm and loving preschool, through the fun and challenging younger grades, to the high achieving upper grades, what a great experience this school will provide your child. I am so happy my children have been here.

St. James Academy 5

Posted September 23, 2012
- a parent
Saint James Academy is an excellent school!. My child has thrived here. The academics are above standard, (the school is adding Ipads this year), the teachers care about the children and there is a strong sense of community. Parents are encouraged to be involved with volunteering and are welcome in the classrooms. The children are taught to be kind and to respect one another. The school truly is a gem and we are could not be more proud to send our child here. Definitely check it out!

St. James Academy 5

Posted October 15, 2011
- a parent
I have had the opposite experience from some previous posters: I love this school, the teachers and the principal. First grade was fantastic for my child, and we love the teacher. She is great with the kids - loving, patient, kind, firm, and dedicated. She taught them so much! I don't know why anybody would ever leave St. James!


St. James Academy 1

Posted September 26, 2011
- a community member
Another Christian value is honestly. How many of last year's graduating class tested into geometry? The year before the school shared with the parents the high school math placement scores. They bragged about the high number of kids that tested into geometry. Last year's class parents could not get an answer out of the principal - because she knew the scores were a reflection on the poor math teaching skills this class had received. Last year's class was taught math for two years by in inept teacher and their math scores reflected it. This inept teacher is still at the school.

St. James Academy 5

Posted May 21, 2011
- a parent
Good grief ! The negative comments seem more focused on the personal struggles parents have rather than the quality of education children receive here. Enrollment is down like many private schools in poor economic times. Also, there are some excellent alternatives nearby in the public schools and a competing Catholic school which opened within the past five years. St. James Academy is a traditional, Catholic education for K-8 students. The standards are high and parents are expected to help bring their children along in the Faith, volunteer for the school or parish, and help in fundraising efforts. We're expected to act like ...well, Christians and I am glad the standards are what they are here. It shows in the results. The results are indisputable. SJA graduates go on to high schools like Cathedral Catholic, St Augustine Prep, Our Lady of Peace, Santa Fe Christian, as well as the fine public schools. It is not an exception to hear that SJA graduates attend Notre Dame, Boston College, Villanova, Stanford, Berkeley, Gonzaga, Santa Clara, UCLA, USD,DePaul, USC, among others, SJA Graduates become achievers. Submitted by Brian Brady

St. James Academy 1

Posted May 18, 2011
- a parent
I feel badly for parents who may be conned by the glowing reviews. They probably have been written by St. James employees or parent volunteers. In a nutshell, the teachers simply do not care. The cold, unapproachable principal's main concern is money. Parent volunteers are allowed to play favorites. It is true that St. James does rely heavily on parent volunteerism. These parents truly run the show. One parent coach played her own daughter and her daughter's friends heavily while letting other equally skilled girls sit on the bench. Many parents were furious and complained, but the principal did nothing. Another BIG volunteer and PTA member put extremely inappropriate photos on her Facebook regarding her child's class project. The principal was made aware. Again, she took no action. The parent is still a HUGE presence at the school. This, and the poor quality of teachers compelled us to find a new school. Our children BLOOMED in their new school. The teachers actually care about their students. Volunteers are not authority figures. The teams are coached by professionals. The Christmas program is run by teachers. It is such relief it is to be out of such a poorly run school.


St. James Academy 5

Posted April 07, 2011
- a parent
Opinions are subjective. Lets be fair as to what this school is about. 1) Small school - 1 class per grade. 2) Solid academics - The bar is set high and can be challenging at times for all. 3) Well funded. - active parents organize and raise A LOT of money that not only fill a $900 gap per student but provides for additional expenses. 4) excellent facility. - Smart boards in every class, updated computers, very nice buildings. Strong financial management. 5) Strong family connections -'parents in prayers' groups, parents in class. Social fund raisers. 6) Noticeably well mannered and mature students. The expectations are high at this school and it can be challenging for almost all at times - for parents as well. 1 class per grade and they don't teach to Lowest common denominator. This may not be best for some, although as they strive to hit the bar and meet the challenge they learn more than a mediocre experience. No school or teacher is perfect. Not all parents will get along. Maybe because its smaller the little issue become larger in scale to some. St James is an academical above-average school that will more than prepare your child for the next step.

St. James Academy 1

Posted April 04, 2011
- a parent
Saint James Academy, I give it two thumbs down. Moving on after this year is over.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. James Academy
623 South Nardo Avenue, Solana Beach, CA  92075
(858) 755-1777
Last modified St. James Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St. James Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. Top