Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
South Gate, CA
Students enrolled: 3,320
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 41 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


44 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


South Gate Senior High School 4

Posted August 16, 2013
- a community member
My school is South Gate High School and I truly think that there is an outstanding caliber of teachers in this school. While a lot of the students are not that great academic wise, the teachers are always there to help them out. Not to forget the small bunch of students whom are always willing to push above and beyond to better themselves and in the process end up boosting the school's reputation. The principal is amazing and I would argue, one of the best principals in L.A.U.S.D.

South Gate Senior High School 5

Posted August 01, 2012
- a community member
I graduated from this school this year, and I thought my 4 years at South Gate were amazing. It's what you make of it. I am going to attend UCI, and from what a I know, a lot of students are going to UCs and Ivy Leagues as well. The valedictorian went to Brown University. I don't think bad schools produce students like this. The athletic department is lacking funding, but that's LAUSD's fault. Overall, definitely not a bad school. It just has a bad reputation.


South Gate Senior High School 5

Posted January 06, 2012
- a parent
I love this school, they do care about our students. They offered workshops on financial aid. colleges, etc. They call home or email us reminding us about an event, if our kids have been absent, or a call just telling us our kids did good in that class. I have two boys in this high school one is in honor classes and my oldest in ap classes. The school also take our children to different universities like USC, UCLA, etc. to motivate them. Love this school

South Gate Senior High School 1

Posted September 27, 2010
- a community member
this school was not for me...the kids are bad and druggies...i was even scared of going to schoool...and i wasnt even enrolled in that school..but i have visited and gone to the classes and its really bad..people were even eating and texting infront of the teachers..its like hello stop them whats going..well i dont know but dont take them here go to south east..im there now and its awsome trust me parents im in honors in all my classes and im in 9th grade

South Gate Senior High School 5

Posted May 18, 2010
- a student
one of the best schools ever and the new principle is very good and the test scores have been improving year by year


South Gate Senior High School 0
no rating

Posted April 21, 2010
- a student
south gate is one of the worst schools i know. drug problems and bad behaviors al around the campus. it's a really bad high school to submit your child in.

South Gate Senior High School 5

Posted April 07, 2010
- a student
This is the best school in the whole LAUSD. Th Business and techonology academy is the best, no mention we have the best councelor and the best lead teacher. All teachers have prepared me for any challenge.

South Gate Senior High School 5

Posted December 08, 2009
- a parent
South Gate High is a very good school that provides my child with the education he needs


South Gate Senior High School 5

Posted December 08, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

South Gate Senior High School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a community member
A great set of honor's teachers who really care about their students!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

South Gate Senior High School
3351 Firestone Boulevard, South Gate, CA  90280
(323) 568-5600
Last modified South Gate Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
South Gate Senior High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. Top