Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. James Parish Day School

Private | K | 18 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in South Pasadena

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $678,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,570.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 18, 2012

For the last five years, we have had children attending St. James (our daughter for 2 years, followed by our son for 3 years). We have LOVED our experience at St. James. The teachers are caring and so talented. They know how to work with each and every child in a kind, loving and supportive way. They make learning fun and they provide a great deal of opportunity for social learning. The facilities are wonderful and the administration is superb. They communicate every effectively with parents (via email, websites, letters in cubbies and through the room parents). We feel very well informed of everything going on at the school. There are many opportunities for parents to be involved in the classroom even for working parents. We have LOVED our experience at St. James.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2012

My child has attended St. James for 2 years. It is a very loving environment and most teachers have been there for many many years. The after school classes are wonderful. We love the science class! My child's teacher does amazing art projects with the students and is so dedicated! She wants to do everything possible to prepare children for Kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2011

I'm going to give this three stars simply to be on the safe side: as an emotionally well adjusted, articulate, current Reed College student, my memories of my time at St. James may be clouded by the fifteen years that have passed since I graced its halls. I met my best friend here, had great experiences with the teachers there, wasn't kicked out when I refused to join in activities, and learned the magic of friendship. While its true that I decided to retake kindergarten at the elementary school I transitioned into (social advantages, personal reasons relating to later diagnosed autism), that decision should not reflect that St. James was wonting for anything while I attended.


Posted May 3, 2011

Our family's experience with this school was very unpleasant. We went to St. James for its accreditation and philosophy. We made the biggest mistake in our life, and our daughter was the victim. When a problem arise the school shuts the door on you. It was an unsafe environment for our 5 year old kid. There were no support from the teachers if a kid needed help. The school pretended that they wanted to work with us, but my daughter was viewed as a "problem" child. The teacher did not provide any helpful feedback to any parents. Please do your research thoroughly with these private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2010

My three year old daughter attended the summer session at St. James and we were really impressed with the administrator and how the school was run. I found the faculty friendly and helpful and very competent. My child felt safe and comfortable and was very excited to see her two wonderful teachers every morning. I found the classroom to be organized and clean as well as the playground. My only complaint was the amount of sugar that my child was given in the form of cookies, pops, pudding and candies. Hopefully that is not the normal practice during the regular school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

The kindergarten teacher and assistant are fantastic. The one thing that could be improved on is the outside playground which needs a bit of an overhaul.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

This is our third year at St. James. My older son is now in 1st grade at a private school in Pasadena. He attended the nursery program at St. James and left well prepared for kindergarten at the school he now attends. St. James is a nurturing, developmentally appropriate preschool that really helped my son to grow socially and develop self-confidence. My younger daughter is now in her first year at St. James. We are so happy to be back after a year off due to the ages of our children. The director of the school is a former administrator/principal from the South Pasadena School District and brings such dedication and excellence to what she does. There is a nice selection of after school activities and a fun summer program during the month of July. Classrooms are rather small and parking lot impacted but other than that, the school is excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2008

Very Carring and loving preschool, teachers are well educated and very patient with the children and with the parents...I love this school....
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 16, 2006

The kindergarten teacher and assistant teacher are fantastic and very dedicated. The daily activities go beyond anything I've seen and all coordinate with the week's theme or subject. The playground works well for younger and older students. As a newcomer to the school, at first I did not like the park-and-walk-in method of drop off and pick up for my kindergartener, especially with younger kids in tow, but I found that I got to know the other parents better that way and had daily face time with his teachers, which kept me more in the loop. I will be sending my younger children to St. James.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2006

St. James is a great place to send your children. I will send 3. Highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 23% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 8% 1%
Hispanic 8% 52%
Black 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Rebecca Ford
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAES
  • NAEYC

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1325 Monterey Road
South Pasadena, CA 91030
Phone: (626) 799-6906

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Holy Family
South Pasadena, CA


Marengo Elementary School
South Pasadena, CA





Free World U
South Pasadena, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT