Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Alta Loma Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in South San...

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $437,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,660.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2014

If I could give this school a 0 out of 10. I WOULD. I went to that school for 2 and a half years, and my last year second semester I transferred to westburough middle school. Granted I had bullying issues through elementary, it was the WORST at alta Loma. And whenever I took it to the office. They wanted no part of it. Too me, they are all lazy, and the teachers/staff are no use. In 8th grade when the bullying got to it's worst the cops got involved, and the school TALKED the cops into saying everything was my fault! The school admitted to doing nothing to help me because they were "lazy." I left that school with PTSD, severe depression, and high anxiety in all aspects. I do not recommend this school to anyone!!!! If I could continue on with everything that school put me through, I'd never end. Now I am a sophomore at elcamino highschool, and although things aren't as severe my past at ALMS haunts me. Sorry, not sorry.


Posted January 11, 2014

Principal prefers fundraisers people and because of that he ignores their bad behavior. It's sad and wrong to let people like that being involve with children education. This is the beginning of ALMS problems!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2013

I am an 8th grader at Alta Loma Middle School. I have to say, this school isnt really bad. I mean like, yes we have a ridiculous dress code but hey, you save a lot of money. The teachers there are great, some bad. Also I think so far the past two years ive been here the school has supported me a lot. They didnt expose me from this school after all the stress and stuff i put the staff in. Honestly this is the school for your child.


Posted April 5, 2013

I am currently an 8th grader at Alta Loma. This school is terrible the students here are out of control, which is fun for some students, but it bad for students in classes who want to learn. The students here lack spirit or pride in this school, and it is basically seen as a jail. Some of the teachers here are quite terrible, and Alta Loma is known for hiring terrible teachers, and then not firing them. Their are some decent teachers here, but the cIasses are so full students do not receive enough one on one help. I would not recommend this school to a student who wants to get a good education, but for a student who just wants to mess around, Alta Loma is the school for them


Posted November 4, 2012

My daughter got a top quality education at this middle school. Sure there were days she complained about the uniform or that she felt like she had a lot of homework, but that's normal stuff. In the end I'm impressed with all the knowledge she gained and also I can see that wearing the uniform taught her to carry herself & to dress herself respectfully. Now she's in high school with excellent grades, has grown in her self-confidence & is wearing clothes appropriate for a young lady. If you want your son or daughter to have a good education and to learn self-esteem, you'll be happy with ALMS. Kids might complain, they always do, but this is one of the best schools around!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2011

Thank God my daughter is out of that place. The principal is horrible, the security guard yells at the kids through a bullhorn and the uniform rule is ridiculous. They treat the kids more like inmates rather than students, then as a parent when you confront them on issues they either avoid you or pass the buck. I give one star for the sports program which I think is actually run by the SSF Rec. department
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2011

i have gone to ALMS for my 6th 7th and now promoting from my 8th grade year.But the school doesn't let everyone " Walk stage" meaning that if you receive a F in Math or Language Arts you are ineligible to cross stage! this year 60+ kids are not crossing due to being put into algebra classes without the mathematical knowledge. Think about it is it the student, teacher, school, or the district's policies? on top of not being able to cross stage the school takes away the ability to enjoy the 8th grade dinner and dance, great america, and you are seated in a room while the rest of the students practice for promotion. I believe this is really unfair and cruel. I can see the school take some of the acticities like great america and the dance to students who do not even try to raise there grades up in the WEEK'S notice the counseling office gives kids in Danger of failing. Crossing Stage should not even count AS AN ACTIVITY. Don't let your children feel like they didn't acieve something. Thats how the 60+ kids feel like we haven't done anything for the past three years. I hope you consider this. THANK YOU


Posted March 21, 2011

I am a student at Alta Loma and now graduating from there this year. This school has had goo and bad times. I think it's some of the students that go here that show how bad the school is. Although last year 7th grade alone got 12 expulsions, I still believe this is a good school. They have teachers that are good and bad, and students who really have problems. All in all, Alta Loma isn't too bad.


Posted January 10, 2011

My daughter is now in the 8th grade here and has had hard times with teachers and students. But also good times, she has has a great language arts teacher who seems to give her inspiration. But to tell you the truth I think that most of the teachers here are ''gossip queens'' and talk about their students to much even to their own students! (Thats what my daughter tells me). Plus some of the kids that go there are bullies (what my daughter tells me) and they are still accepted there after so many referals! And I just can't wait until my daughter graduates from this place! Think twice before you send your kid here becuase I think this school and their staff need to grow up and be mature.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2010

I withdrew my child from Alta Loma because they showed an *R* rated movie without parental permission and they told me there was no 'rule' in the teacher handbook which stated what types of movies they can or cannot have children view.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2010

I am a student at alta loma and in my two years that i have been here there have been good and bad times. The things i hate are some of the teachers think they can boss us around like there our parents. One of my teachers yells at the class just for writing on our hand he threatens us with referrals and has anger issues. Or thats just what i think!!! and they never submit grades!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 16, 2009

I think the uniform rule is to much my daughter can't wear a red rubber band in her hair? The school and teachers should focus on teaching our kids rather than raising them. Also I don't like the security guard bulling my and yelling at the kids thru a bullhorn I would like to take that thing and put it right up to the principals ear and scream!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

Alright. The dress code is really ridiculous and some of the teachers at Alta Loma are really really terrible. But majority of the teachers ae great, there is lots of clubs, and there 'special homerooms' (leadership, yearbook, multicultural, peer assistance, and jazz band) are great things for high achivers. And for those who think free dress is too distracting. GET OVER IT! It really doesnt make a difference because there are kids who look better in 'free dress' then uniform
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 4, 2009

I am very pleased, as I have been for the past 2 years (my son is now in 8th grade) with ALMS and pleased with the dress code. Some of the reviews I've read wonder why a parent isn't notified when a child receives detention!? This isn't elementary school, this is MIDDLE SCHOOL, and the students are expected to have responsibility for their own actions. This is not the school where the student can run to mommy or daddy and think they can get out of trouble. The dress code is great, and it does save a lot of money. The after school crossing guards are fantastic at keeping the students safe, and the traffic flowing. If you want your child to enjoy school while getting a good education, send them to ALMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2009

I Love the dress code. Not only did it save me a ton of money it keeps kids focused on whats important. Their attitude and education is far more important the having the latest fashions. I also think its a team effort between the kids, parents and teachers. If children have a bad attitude the parents should be dealing with it first. Its my first child and year here but so far I am very pleased with everything!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2009

This school has a ridiculous expectation for the dress code, as a mere untucked shirt can easily earn you a detention - which quickly adds up into referals and suspension. Not only do a majority of the students have bad attitudes, but staff does nothing to improve them. The education recieved there is satisfactory but the overall environment is mediocre and needs to be fixed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

Its excellent is really safe and i like it because they use uniform code.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2009

I am a teacher at Alta Loma and I must say that all of the teachers are here to support their students. The principal and administration does a fantastic job in running a disciplined school. The students wear uniforms and the administration and teachers expect the students to have good behavior. Alta Loma teaches their students how to work hard and be respectful so that they can be successful in life. I hope that my message here helps give some perspective to some of these other comments.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 17, 2009

I am a seventh grader at Alta Loma and for the last two years that I've been here, my experiences have been pretty good. Most of the teachers are above average and the extracurricular activites are awesome. But, like many other reviews have said, our principal doesn't get involved much at all. From a student's point of view, we just see him as a guy who stands around in dress shoes with high heels all day and has nothing better to do than chat with staff in the main office and yell at kids to tuck in their shirts. Our principal should definitely be more committed to, well, being the principal of our school! Overall, Alta Loma has been great, and if you're a South City parent reading this with a child in fifth grade, I think this school might be for you. :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 19, 2008

I went to a private school K-8, primarily Filipino (very little diversity), and so when I went to high school, I was shocked. I did not understand cultural diversity. Now as a mother, aside from academics and extra curricular activities, I look at the environment my children will grow up in. Alta Loma, so far, has been a great school which provides a good education, activities, and diversity. My daughter got mostly A's, occasional B's. She participated in track and basketball and enjoyed both. The kids had good sportsmanship & showed excellent team spirit. The negatives- I have heard of occasional fights at the school (but I think every middle school can experience this.) I am very surprised to see all the bad remarks about the principal. I have not interacted with him and can not give my opinion. I know the asst. principal through Junipero Serra and was not impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

844

Change from
2012 to 2013

+2

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

844

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+2

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

261 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

259 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

236 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
98%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

260 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
57%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
0%

2012

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
11%

2010

 
 
54%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
82%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

266 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

258 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students71%
Females76%
Males66%
African Americann/a
Asian78%
Filipino79%
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disability32%
Students with no reported disability74%
English learner26%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students58%
Females58%
Males58%
African Americann/a
Asian85%
Filipino65%
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Non-economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disability10%
Students with no reported disability63%
English learner19%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented89%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Femalesn/a
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students64%
Females69%
Males58%
African Americann/a
Asian82%
Filipino70%
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islander35%
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Non-economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disability32%
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner24%
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students55%
Females59%
Males51%
African Americann/a
Asian60%
Filipino64%
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islander47%
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)47%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disability30%
Students with no reported disability58%
English learner26%
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented78%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students47%
Females45%
Males49%
African Americann/a
Asian71%
Filipino56%
Hispanic or Latino32%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)52%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Non-economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disability16%
Students with no reported disability51%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only48%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented76%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students67%
Females70%
Males65%
African Americann/a
Asian62%
Filipino74%
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islander91%
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disability42%
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner9%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students0%
Females0%
Males0%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino0%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged0%
Non-economically disadvantaged0%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability0%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only0%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Females100%
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students67%
Females60%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asian65%
Filipino78%
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islander73%
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disability34%
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner4%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students75%
Females70%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asian81%
Filipino83%
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islander73%
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disability46%
Students with no reported disability77%
English learner17%
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 44% 52%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 22% 11%
Two or more races 19% 3%
White 10% 26%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
Black 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 6%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Lou Delorio
Fax number
  • (650) 877-8824

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

116 Romney Avenue
South San Francisco, CA 94080
Phone: (650) 877-8797

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Mater Dolorosa
South San Francisco, CA


Westborough Middle School
South San Francisco, CA


Community Day
South San Francisco, CA


Parkway Heights Middle School
South San Francisco, CA


Hillside Christian Academy
South San Francisco, CA


St. Veronica Catholic School
South San Francisco, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT