Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
9-12
Public
South San Francisco, CA
Students enrolled: 1,516

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


25 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


South San Francisco High School 4

Posted February 21, 2012
- a community member
South City High has very diverse students and staff, the teachers are very nice, and do take their jobs serious. I went to this high school for 4 years. but i was a lazy student (bad grades). There were many curricular activities and sports i could of joined. There weren't much cliques, Mainly the football team. No popular girls. I played football for 2 years there, and were the best 2 years i had spent there. now Looking back i wish i would of payed more attention in class, joined clubs, and overall should of had more enthusiasm. I didn't graduate on stage. i regret my High school years, every second of it. Wish i could go back. I blame my self, there were many opportunities/ Programs for me but i was just to scared to ask for help, i felt like students were going to laugh at me. attended, 2005-2009

South San Francisco High School 0
no rating

Posted April 20, 2010
- a student
Best high school in California. The teachers actually care and the sports are incredible. (I mean..who has the bell right?)


South San Francisco High School 0
no rating

Posted November 05, 2009
- a parent
My eldest daughter graduated from here and went on to 4 year university. THe academics, teacher support and sports are just a glimpse of what this school has to offer.

South San Francisco High School 0
no rating

Posted October 11, 2009
- a parent
Good sports, challenging curriculum (if you put your mind to the test), and supporting teachers that are there for you every day

South San Francisco High School 5

Posted August 10, 2009
- a community member
SSFHS is my favorite high school out of the whole district. The student body is very diverse and the teenagers there are very nice, and cliques or 'popularity' is not an issue, nor is it a main focus at this school. But I must say that it is extremely hard to transfer districts, because their are so many students that they can't exactly fit all of them. The staff is helpful overall, but their are some staff members who are a little lazy. Regardless of that, this is a pretty good school, and very fun. (:


South San Francisco High School 0
no rating

Posted January 24, 2009
- a student
I transferred from this school to go to El Camino.. very bad mistake.. some teachers are new there and don't know what they are doing and won't help you with anything unless it's for a reasonable cause (they are very lazy) unlike south city's new teachers which actually teach like they have been there for awhile and know what they are doing... oh yea and for the senior project el camino which offers 15 hrs of mentoring and an added 5 hrs of community service really is a downer, its hard to find a place that will accept you.. so i rate my old school a 5 because of its more advanced teachers and also because it's a great school if you want to actually learn things and want a great education. I definetely dread leaveing there. Congrats to the seniors of 2009, we're only one step away!!!

South San Francisco High School 1

Posted May 06, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

South San Francisco High School 4

Posted October 03, 2006
- a parent
I would not compare with other schools in the area. There are many differences as to quality of the staff and of the students' ethnic and economic background. My second child is at so. City high, one already graduated and the third one soon to come. I have no significant complaints about he school. Students get a great overall education. They are prepared to face real life after graduation, thanks to the diversity of the school population and how they are taught to accept others regardless of their differences. Unfortunately the school has received too many students from other districts, and that makes the classes sometimes to large. However, this means that some parents from other districts have also found out how great this school is.


South San Francisco High School 2

Posted September 26, 2006
- a student
Compared to El Camino, which is the other school in the South City district, this school is not a good school. The teachers are either really good or really bad. The school is too overpopulated. The students there are also loud and rude. Compared to my old school, it's not that clean. And the classrooms are too small. They do offer a lot of courses and the staff's nice but aside from that, the environment and the quality of some teachers isn't that great

South San Francisco High School 1

Posted August 14, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

South San Francisco High School
400 B Street, South San Francisco, CA  94080
(650) 877-8754
Last modified South San Francisco High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
South San Francisco High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top