Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Spring Valley, CA
Students enrolled: 390
Before care: No
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Casa De Oro Elementary School 4

Posted September 25, 2013
- a parent
The Principal mrs. James is amazing and has lots of energy and enthusiasim and is very invloved. The kindergarden teacher mrs. West is amazing, i was lucky to have my child in her class and she is a great teacher. The only thing is that the ESS program is not so great, the leaders are too young and they let kids run around and shout and yell and everytime i had to pick up my child, he wasnt ready, their backpacks are outside and always would lose his stuff and wouldnt have the kids ready to be picked up by 6 oclock. There was a kid who wasnt all normal which should have been in a special education class becuase he was always bulling my kid and i had mentioned it couple times and nothing was done about it, so i took my child out of the school and he loves his new school. They have a anti-bulling thing they do at this new school which ever school should do.

Casa De Oro Elementary School 5

Posted August 09, 2013
- a parent
CDO is an amazing school. I am particlarly impressed with the sense of community and the strength and enthusiasm of the teaching and support staff. The principal at CDO, Mrs James, knows all the students , and all the students know and respect her. I would never go to another school, my children are flourishing there, and what more could you ask for than that?


Casa De Oro Elementary School 5

Posted July 27, 2013
- a parent
I have a child at CDO and we both love it! We live out of the district and I will keep my child here until he graduates. The teachers and staff are amazing. They care about the students and parents. Parents are always welcome to participate in school events and activities.

Casa De Oro Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
This school has had an incredible improvement in the last two years. We have been there for three years and our children love it. What one parent said below about the school in 2011 was true. The old principal was not very engaged and the spirit around the school was a bit gloomy. Now the new principal has been there for two years and she is amazing. Test scores are going way up, the teachers and the students are energized, and at the risk of sounding flighty there is just a "spirit" of hope and learning at CDO now. One of our children went to a highly rated elementary school in the area for a time, and it just wasn't as nurturing as CDO. The kids are held accountable both behaviorally and academically, and I see in my kids as well as in other kids the *desire* to succeed. That's all I could hope for and more out of their elementary school.

Casa De Oro Elementary School 5

Posted April 21, 2012
- a parent
I have 2 children at Casa de Oro Elementary. Both are excelling academically due to some amazing teachers there. They are excited about learning and have built friendships with their classmates. I am out of the district and CDO was my first choice for them.


Casa De Oro Elementary School 1

Posted April 04, 2011
- a parent
My child has been at casa de oro for 3 years. I loved the school. The principal Dr. parsons was the best. Dr. parsons is not at the school anymore. Allot of changes have been made and the school is not what it used to be. My child is unhappy and so am i. Lots of bulling and teachers have to big of classes to, take the time to hear the kids. The principal is always out. It makes me sad to remove my child from this school. Everyone wants there child to be treated fairly and this isn't happening here.

Casa De Oro Elementary School 5

Posted November 09, 2009
- a parent
It has been a great school for my two kids.

Casa De Oro Elementary School 5

Posted September 06, 2009
- a parent
What a wonderful staff and Principal. Dr. Parsons is a very involved principal, and has done a wonderful job with this school. We have had nothing but wonderful teachers. I highly recommend this school!


Casa De Oro Elementary School 5

Posted October 31, 2008
- a community member
CDO school is a great place for kids to learn and grow. My children went there and now my granddaughter is a student. The teachers are very good. The principal is real instructional leader. The school has recently been recognized by the CA Dept. of Education as a Title 1 Academic Achievement School.

Casa De Oro Elementary School 4

Posted March 28, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Casa De Oro Elementary School
10227 Ramona Drive, Spring Valley, CA  91977
(619) 668-5715
Last modified Casa De Oro Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Casa De Oro Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top