Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public district
Spring Valley, CA
 

5 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

20 reviews of this school


Highlands Elementary School 4

Posted May 16, 2015
- a community member
We just moved into the area and I wanted to see what our "home school" looked like, so I took a tour. I was fully expecting to validate continuing taking my kids to their current school, 15 miles west. I left the tour completely conflicted and much, much less sure of that decision. * The principal herself took me on the tour and was very nice and genuine. * You could tell the teachers like their principal and the principal likes the teachers - a genuine respectful relationship exists. * The teachers I spoke with were openly friendly and welcoming. *The office staff was also kind and friendly to me, a stranger walking in off the street! * This is a clean and pretty campus - It doesn't have that underlying "grungy" feeling that exist on many/most schools. * There are grassy areas mixed in with the classrooms, with 2 open play areas on campus. * A nice, new and lovely play structure. * This is the prettiest school garden of any school garden I have ever seen! * The children that I saw were all kind and sweet. I would happily put my kindergartener in this school. Trying to decide whether to disrupt my older kids for next year, though!

Highlands Elementary School 5

Posted September 14, 2013
- a parent
Highlands is a wonderful community school. This is my child's 4th year at Highlands and it has been very good to us. The teachers are phenomenal! I can't imagine my child having better teachers anywhere! There is so much love and dedication given to the students at Highlands. My child is advanced in his learning and every year his teachers have made sure he is challenged in his studies, They have done a great job meeting his personal needs as a student. The PTA works hard to bring special events and activities to the students at Highlands. Over all we are very happy at Highlands and we are so happy that our child attends this special school. In the spring, the school gives tours for new students. Make sure you take a tour!


Highlands Elementary School 5

Posted September 14, 2013
- a parent
What a friendly school! The teachers are all very dedicated to their students. Every teacher we've had has an open door policy for parents. They also do their best to reach each child's academic needs. It's a very special school and I can't imagine a better staff anywhere!

Highlands Elementary School 5

Posted June 17, 2013
- a parent
I'm not sure why this school is rated so low. We have visited a lot of schools in the area, and Highlands was by far the best! There is a great sense of community at this school. The teachers, principal and staff are very accommodating and welcoming. I've never been turned down a visit to my kids classes. There is a good balance of hard work and fun. The staff works very hard to teach the kids and challenge them, preparing them for testing. They are also rewarded with award ceremonies recognizing not only academic achievements, but outstanding citizenship as well. The kids are constantly reminded of proper behavior, and how to be a Peacebuilder. I absolutely love this school, and disagree with the low rating it has received.

Highlands Elementary School 5

Posted November 17, 2011
- a parent
Great school! Great principal! Everyone goes above and beyond to help out the students. I am proud to have my children attend Highlands.


Highlands Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 17, 2010
- a community member
Highlands has excellent leadership. The principal encourages fun and creativity even in these stressful times with so much testing and high stakes political expectations.

Highlands Elementary School 5

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
My son is on 2nd. grade and he has improve way high thank you for all the teachers and their support.

Highlands Elementary School
no rating

Posted August 29, 2009
- a parent
Highlands is an excellent school. It has great teachers, a great principal and always includes parents and families in activities throughout the year. My grandaughter (now in High School) graduated from Highlands and still goes back to visit. My son who graduated last year received the President's Award for Academic Achievement signed by President Obama. My youngest son is in third grad at Highlands this year and loves to go to school. Highlands is the best and should be rated a 10 in all areas


Highlands Elementary School 5

Posted June 26, 2008
- a parent
My family moved to the area just to attend Highlands and it was the best thing we did. I love the concern that all the staff has for education and safty of all the children. Thank you Highlands....

Highlands Elementary School 5

Posted November 29, 2007
- a parent
Great School! My daughter love it. All the teachers are great and well concern for a good education to our children.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Highlands Elementary School
3131 South Barcelona Street, Spring Valley, CA  91977
(619) 668-5780
Last modified Highlands Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Highlands Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top