Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Santa Sophia Academy

Private | K-8 | 214 students

We are best known for teaching heart, mind, and soul.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Spring Valley

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $233,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,290.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 9, 2014

One of the best schools in the Spring Valley-La Mesa school district. The Principle and her staff do a great job with teaching and caring for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

I don't agree with the review about bullying. I have found the principal and teachers at Santa Sophia Academy to work very diligently with students and their parents when anything is reported. From our situation, it was readily resolved and she is doing very well. They certainly can't do anything if they aren't told. I have found this school to be caring, loving and great learning happens each and every day. We are very blessed to be here. And they now have a wonderful new pastor, too! A Proud SSA Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

Santa Sophia Academy is an amazing school with dedicated, faith-filled, concerning educators who truly go above and beyond to provide our children with a quality Catholic education.


Posted August 15, 2013

My daughter goes to this school and explains to me that she gets bullied everyday by other students. Pretty much all of these kids have clicks and not being able to mingle with other student in different grade levels. Not to mention there is little to none security or individuality. I personally feel that they do not prepare students for reality after school and I'm for one not going to let my child stay in a school with so many defaults.


Posted March 1, 2013

I like the school. The K through 5th grade teachers are talented in very different ways. Nice foundation for the budding scholar.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2012

I dont agree with the previous rating, this school is not very safe for our kids at all, sadly is located in a bad neighborhood, my car got broken into when i went to the open house for the school!!! I have a friend whos kids attend this school and during a school play last year a man running from the police was able to get into campus to hide. And sure why not, the school is not gated. The first thing that struck me was that gate was left open during school hours, children are sent from the school to the other side of the parking lot, walking unsupervised! The school got broken into and vandalized during summer. :(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2012

If you want to be able to breath while your children are at school Santa Sophia is the school for you. While other schools are dealing with weapons, drugs and bullying, ours is still dealing with chewing gum at school! What a wonderful and careing front office staff and a Prinicpal who truly loves her school and is so proud of the accomplishments made by her students. I would sell hot dogs on the corner to keep my children at Santa Sophia.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2011

I am an incoming 8th grade student at Santa Sophia Academy (aka SSA) who moved from Saint Rose of Lima in the middle of the year due to bullying. On my first day, everyone welcomed me with open arms. I would reccomend SSA to everyone. The academic program is great, the teachers are very good and care about the students, and most importantly, the parents, students, principal, and staff are really like a family. They even focus on oratorical skills, starting in Kindergarten. Parent involvement is great here, and the principal is a great leader. BEST. SCHOOL. EVER.


Posted May 7, 2011

What better gift can we give to our children? Santa Sophia Academy is a school which excels academically while nurturing students to be polite, giving, helpful, faith-filled participants of our community? Santa Sophia Academy staff is the BEST of the BEST!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2011

Wonderful school, great academic program and strong faith program. The children are well rounded and tought in a secure setting learn fundamentals that will last a lifetime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2010

This is an excellent school where parents, teachers and administration work together to make it the best. It is a very warm community where all are welcomed. The students learn about Jesus and are very service oriented. The academics are great. I am always impressed with the students friendliness to all, their respect and poise and speaking abilities. They even lead school tours! What a great music program, too! Your children will be happy, safe, and well educated in this faith based school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2010

Santa Sophia is a great school to go to. It has good teachers and they teach well about our faith. Some of the students there are nice but some aren't. If your not a part of the 'cool' people then you probably wouldn't like it there.


Posted August 4, 2009

My kids have went to santa sophia academy all their lives and what a great and caring staff. I have seen a major impact in my kids. I still have one kid that goes there now. I do recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2009

I went to Santa Sophia Academy and if you were not one of the 'cool' kids it was not a great experience, I was picked on all of my eight grade year and the only person who helped me was Mrs.Nau but she does not teacher there anymore. There are better schools out there.& the school focuses too much on religion that they are a year behind on math, therefore when I entered high school I was not prepared.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 2, 2008

As a parent who is concerned about budget cuts and how this could affect my daughters education, I found a private school that exceeded our expectation. Small class sizes with teachers that give their all and more to educate th kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2008

This is a great school. The class sizes are smaller than in public school and for a smaller size school I feel the teaching staff is high quality. The work my children are doing compared to their peers in public school is slightly ahead, and they seem to have a better grasp of basic concepts in areas that are important to me: English and Mathematics. They are secure and comfortable in the environment, and they will not have to change schools in 6th grade. The school does not teach to any standard test so they are not pushed toward a standard set of concepts mandated by the government. Furthermore, I have reviewed the curriculum for all the grades and prefer it to the local public school curriculum. It meets and exceeds that of the local public gradeschool and junior high. Of course, a Christian school environment is not for everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2008

I am a student at Santa Sophia Academy . I think this school is great. The teachers are nice, and make the learning fun but at the same time the students are learning. The only thing that I do not like is that there are no 'periods' all the same 1 teacher.There is also only one class per grade so technically no new students or teachers every year. So I give this school a B-.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 24, 2008

I liked this school for a few years, but came to realize the curriculum is completely unchallenging (a 'worksheet' curriculum) and the teachers are mediocre. After transfering my kids to public school, what a difference! Meaningful activities, great teachers, science labs, happy kids. Bottom line...find a good public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2008

Its alright, but its not the best. The teachers are nice but the curiculum is not the best in the world.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 24, 2005

Great academic program. Lots of extracurricular activities. Parent involvement is encouraged and required. Lots of costs involved with school in addition to the tuition. Access to students limited when requesting a visit.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 26%
Hispanic 17% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 14% 1%
Two or more races 10% 3%
Asian or Pacific Islander 9% 11%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Black 0% 6%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Rev. Jacob Bertrand
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (619) 668-5469

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9806 San Juan Street
Spring Valley, CA 91977
Website: Click here
Phone: (619) 463-0488

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Heartland Christian
Spring Valley, CA




Highlands Elementary School
Spring Valley, CA



Trinity Christian School
Spring Valley, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT