Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
Spring Valley, CA
Students enrolled: 214
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


28 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Santa Sophia Academy 5

Posted October 28, 2014
- a parent
This school is simply amazing! I have lived all around the country and have yet to find a school with staff as dedicated as the ones here. The principal and teachers lead by example and the students are fantastic. I personally love this school so much I am commuting 5.5 hours daily for work just to leave my child here.
1 person found this helpful

Santa Sophia Academy 5

Posted May 09, 2014
- a parent
One of the best schools in the Spring Valley-La Mesa school district. The Principle and her staff do a great job with teaching and caring for the students.


Santa Sophia Academy 5

Posted August 21, 2013
- a parent
I don't agree with the review about bullying. I have found the principal and teachers at Santa Sophia Academy to work very diligently with students and their parents when anything is reported. From our situation, it was readily resolved and she is doing very well. They certainly can't do anything if they aren't told. I have found this school to be caring, loving and great learning happens each and every day. We are very blessed to be here. And they now have a wonderful new pastor, too! A Proud SSA Parent

Santa Sophia Academy 5

Posted August 20, 2013
- a community member
Santa Sophia Academy is an amazing school with dedicated, faith-filled, concerning educators who truly go above and beyond to provide our children with a quality Catholic education.

Santa Sophia Academy 1

Posted August 15, 2013
- a community member
My daughter goes to this school and explains to me that she gets bullied everyday by other students. Pretty much all of these kids have clicks and not being able to mingle with other student in different grade levels. Not to mention there is little to none security or individuality. I personally feel that they do not prepare students for reality after school and I'm for one not going to let my child stay in a school with so many defaults.


Santa Sophia Academy 5

Posted March 01, 2013
- a parent
I like the school. The K through 5th grade teachers are talented in very different ways. Nice foundation for the budding scholar.

Santa Sophia Academy 1

Posted October 02, 2012
- a parent
I dont agree with the previous rating, this school is not very safe for our kids at all, sadly is located in a bad neighborhood, my car got broken into when i went to the open house for the school!!! I have a friend whos kids attend this school and during a school play last year a man running from the police was able to get into campus to hide. And sure why not, the school is not gated. The first thing that struck me was that gate was left open during school hours, children are sent from the school to the other side of the parking lot, walking unsupervised! The school got broken into and vandalized during summer. :(

Santa Sophia Academy 5

Posted June 08, 2012
- a parent
If you want to be able to breath while your children are at school Santa Sophia is the school for you. While other schools are dealing with weapons, drugs and bullying, ours is still dealing with chewing gum at school! What a wonderful and careing front office staff and a Prinicpal who truly loves her school and is so proud of the accomplishments made by her students. I would sell hot dogs on the corner to keep my children at Santa Sophia.


Santa Sophia Academy 5

Posted July 27, 2011
- a community member
I am an incoming 8th grade student at Santa Sophia Academy (aka SSA) who moved from Saint Rose of Lima in the middle of the year due to bullying. On my first day, everyone welcomed me with open arms. I would reccomend SSA to everyone. The academic program is great, the teachers are very good and care about the students, and most importantly, the parents, students, principal, and staff are really like a family. They even focus on oratorical skills, starting in Kindergarten. Parent involvement is great here, and the principal is a great leader. BEST. SCHOOL. EVER.

Santa Sophia Academy 5

Posted May 07, 2011
- a parent
What better gift can we give to our children? Santa Sophia Academy is a school which excels academically while nurturing students to be polite, giving, helpful, faith-filled participants of our community? Santa Sophia Academy staff is the BEST of the BEST!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Santa Sophia Academy
9806 San Juan Street, Spring Valley, CA  91977
(619) 463-0488
Last modified Santa Sophia Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Santa Sophia Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top