Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-12
Private
Stanford, CA
Students enrolled: 545
 

5 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Stanford University Online High School 5

Posted November 21, 2014
- a parent
Ohs has been an amazing experience for my 3 children. I have 2 in the High School and my 13 year old is in Middle school program. I am thrilled with the maturity and responsibility this program has fostered in my children. They have developed a keen ability to write concise and purposeful papers with the help of their teachers and the new Writing Center. The confidence and depth of their understanding has added to their analytical and persuasive skill. I have been extremely impressed with the quality of the teachers and the interest they have taken in my children's education. They are passionate about the subjects they teach and it rubs off on my children. The school is very challenging. My kids spend the mornings reading, writing papers, and watching lectures. As we are in Europe, they attend class from 3pm-midnight. Classes meet 2X a week for 1h 15min. Office hours are generally 2x a week or by apt. Stanford OHS is a progressive highly effective high school program for those who want to take an interesting class, a more challenging class, or a full high school program. The school doesn't require donations to the annual fund. Any amount donated is appreciated!
2 people found this helpful

Stanford University Online High School 5

Posted June 25, 2014
- a parent
Our child just finished the fifth year at Stanford OHS and we have never heard of the school asking for any definitely amount of contribution. Contributions to the school are totally voluntary. Our child has never encountered any mean schoolmates, not to say that it is not possible but most kids at OHS are polite, their energy is put to use at learning, not to be mean. OHS is a school for students that are interested in learning and they have the excellent professors to nurture and expand their minds and knowledge. If your child works hard there, they will be great thinkers, extremely skilled, well prepared for college, and will be standout students wherever they go. Courses at OHS might have the same title as other schools but they are much more advanced.
2 people found this helpful


Stanford University Online High School 4

Posted May 01, 2014
- a parent
Parents at the online high school are asked to contribute up to 100% of the tuition as donations towards the annual fund, so that tuition figure will go up just like at any other private school. they don't tell you that upfront.
1 person found this helpful

Stanford University Online High School 5

Posted March 07, 2014
- a parent
Our son goes here. We were looking for RIGOROUS academics, didn't need sports or other extra-curriculars (this school doesn't offer that - we do all that on our own elsewhere). But in terms of being a simply TOUGH school to get in to and actually go to, just get through the daily academics - Intend on your kids spending a MINIMUM of 10 hours a week doing outside work for each and every class (that doesn't include time spent in class), otherwise they won't be right for the OHS. The kids here are the next Steve Jobs/Zukerberg/Gates etc. SATs are amazing - our 2400 kid fits right in. Only downside is limited opportunities for social interaction, mostly online. And yes, kids online can be plenty mean, just like any other school, so be warned. If you're looking for seriously hard academics, go here. For a "complete" one-stop package, go somewhere else. OHS IS pricey (especially if you have to pick up ECs outside school) so figure out what exactly your kids need before applying, and if they're ready to devote that much time.
2 people found this helpful

Stanford University Online High School 5

Posted January 24, 2014
- a parent
Easily the most rigorous and thoughtful academic curriculum I have ever seen. the high school coursework surpasses the first two years of most universities. The teachers are impressive and the work load just right--no waste or busy-work assignments. While the amount of work to do each day is considerable, it does not appear to be unnecessarily burdensome as one finds in many schools. Hardwork and smartwork are rewarded. The school's support apparati are excellent and very much reflective of their stated mission. What could be better? Nothing obvious.
1 person found this helpful


Stanford University Online High School 5

Posted April 05, 2013
- a community member
The OHS is a rigorous school with professors that are extremely advanced in their fields. The sense of community is amazing!

Stanford University Online High School 1

Posted March 05, 2013
- a parent
They would accept any students who could afford it. EPGY is not interested in education, but profits.
2 people found this helpful

Stanford University Online High School 5

Posted August 17, 2012
- a parent
Great school for strong students. Very rigorous academics and a vibrant, engaged and supportive group of educators and students. Excellent choice for a fantastic high-school education that prepares students extremely well for college.


Stanford University Online High School 5

Posted April 06, 2011
- a parent
Excellent school for gifted independent learners. Great community. Lots of academic opportunities. Great teachers! University level education.
1 person found this helpful

Stanford University Online High School 5

Posted January 21, 2011
- a parent
Outstanding professors. Academically demanding. And, thanks to being online, portable and flexible. This is a great option for self-motivated kids who need an academic challenge. Student body is based world-wide, wonderfully diverse, yet classes are small and professors give students personal attention. Highly recommended for gifted children.
1 person found this helpful

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Stanford University Online High School
220 Panama Street, Stanford, CA  94305
(650) 721-9422
Last modified Stanford University Online High School is a Private school that serves grades 7-12
Stanford University Online High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top