Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lucille M. Nixon Elementary School 5

Posted August 16, 2014
- a parent
Wonderful experience for both of my kids. Excellent teachers, large campus, great families, etc. Large campus. One drawback is that many students are kids from foreign countries (Stanford grad. program) so many friends come and go.

Lucille M. Nixon Elementary School 5

Posted July 28, 2014
- a parent
Easily the best school with tremendous teachers, great students, biggest play grounds and friendly after school. Our son had a blast here and often wanted to go here on holidays and missed his friends. Principal Mary is very receptive to new thoughts and has provided wonderful leadership and environment for children to thrive.


Lucille M. Nixon Elementary School 5

Posted January 23, 2012
- a parent
This is our fourth year at Nixon and our son has had an invaluable experience at this diverse and exceptional school. Like the previous reviews state, the parents are eagerly involved and the teacher's passionate. The students are loving and kind and self-motivated. What a gem of an experience.

Lucille M. Nixon Elementary School 5

Posted July 31, 2011
- a parent
Our children have been very happy at this school. We were surprised when we moved to Los Altos HIlls to learn our neighborhood school was Nixon.The staff, children & families at this school are very kind & welcoming.The principal, Mary Pat is a very positive presence & cares very much about the school & students. The after school enrichment program is over the top! Couldnt be happier here!

Lucille M. Nixon Elementary School 5

Posted May 30, 2008
- a parent
I agree with the other posts - great school, exceptional teachers and staff, tremendous parent involvement, good communication, and solid administration - keep up the great work. The only negative is the afterschool care (CCLC) - minimal enrichment and poor observation (to the extent of letting kids wander off) - unacceptable.


Lucille M. Nixon Elementary School 5

Posted May 21, 2008
- a parent
Nixon Elementary is full of talented teachers and gifted students whose parents come from many nations around the world. It is academically challenging with a major emphasis on writing. Students start writing five paragraph essays in fourth grade. Learning is fun for children at Nixon because they work on many projects and enrich the curriculum with guest teachers from the community and fieldtrips. Overall, the teachers individualize the curriculum so it is challenging for all levels of students. Parents are very involved at Nixon, volunteering frequently in the classroom and the library. In addition, parents lead noon art, noon science, the organization of after school enrichment activities, fundraisers, PTA, Nixon News, and school events such as the Back to School Picnic, Pumpkin Festival, and International Day.

Lucille M. Nixon Elementary School 5

Posted February 18, 2008
- a parent
Nixon offers an excellent education with very responsive teachers and principal! Parents are very involved.

Lucille M. Nixon Elementary School 5

Posted January 29, 2008
- a parent
This is an excellent public school, with lots of enrichment programs, which give you the advantages many private schools have. Very active parent support group.


Lucille M. Nixon Elementary School 5

Posted May 25, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Lucille M. Nixon Elementary School 4

Posted August 22, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lucille M. Nixon Elementary School
1711 Stanford Avenue, Stanford, CA  94305
(650) 856-1622
Last modified Lucille M. Nixon Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lucille M. Nixon Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews.