Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Elkhorn School

Public | 4-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Stockton

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $155,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,070.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 21, 2013

This is a great school for students seeking advanced courses and preparation for the road ahead. Students attend Full GATE (Gifted And Talented Education) classes. State resources have prevented this school from providing lockers, class and research supplies, or a kitchen for proper meals. The parents have been tremendously supportive as well as the students with fundraising programs. There is so much potential with these students and teachers that it is a tragedy to have such limited resources.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

Elkhorn was the best 2 years of my whole school experience. It has amazing testing scores and all of the teachers are AMAZING! Love everything about it. The homework and projects are stressful but trust me, it does prepare your student for high school and college. There are nights were you have 5 projects due at one time but it is not as bad as it sounds. The first tip is to never procrastinate (to be honest, I did procrastinate and I still got A's. Although it is not the case for everyone). The PE is great exercise and keeps your body at a good place. If you need any help, every single staff member including teachers are the best people to talk to. Never felt like this anywhere else. To be honest, it really felt like an Elkhorn family there. LOVE IT! Don't hesitate to enroll. Trust me its gonna be the best years of your education. :)


Posted September 4, 2012

Elkhorn is definitely one of the best schools ever. I do not see why the community rating is not 5 stars. I am in eighth grade at Elkhorn and have been going there since fifth grade. Our teachers are SENSATIONAL. They truly care about our success and will listen. They celebrate and relate with us when we do something good, and try to help us when we do something not so good. They are SO supportive. Unlike some schools where students cannot have much say, leadership participates in making decisions. I find Elkhorn an excellent place to learn and grow. The work level is sometimes high, but it is an important quality for a school to have since it helps us to prepare for high school and college. I truly feel I am prepared for almost anything. Elkhorn is an exciting opportunity, and I have changed so much through this experience! If you are debating whether to come to Elkhorn or to send your child to Elkhorn, I am highly recommending this opportunity. If you are hardworking and are seeking a place to prepare for what is coming later in a supportive and outstanding environment, this is DEFINITELY the place to be. I love Elkhorn and will always see it as the best 5 years of my early life.


Posted September 18, 2011

The PE program is amazing at this school. Its nothing like boot camp at all, the homework load prepares kids for highschool and college while also giving them an amazing work ethic. This school builds character, confidence, initiative, and all-around successful students. Often times many people only look at test scores, however this is not Elkhorn's only remarkable feature. The staff that work here are great at their job and are friendly and welcoming too all students. Many of them answer emails and phone calls in the middle of the night just to help students in need. Unlike other schools who don't strengthen their PE classes too keep students fit and healthy and ready for academic success, Elkhorn makes sure that all students have the opportunity to have fun playing sports while benefiting from the physical benefits of exercise. The high test scores sets a goal for all students to reach for while encouraging each other to try harder and push past those past goals. This school is worth all the trouble!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2011

Elkhorn is one of the best schools in the district, and is worth all the trouble. I have been attending it for 5 years, and I can honestly say that I have had the time of my life. Yes, the school gives out a lot of homework, and projects, but it really helps you prepare for highschool and beyond. However, there is a fine line drawn at Elkhorn... if you are unaccustommed to large amounts of work and multiple school projects simultaneously, and experience the work load to the point where you break down and cry, Elkhorn is simply not the school for you. However, if you are willing to accept the beauty of Elkhorn - it's gift to bond you with your class and to prepare you, both academically and physically, for high school and beyond, this is the best school in the district to let you excel academically.The high test scores do not create pressure - if you are thinking along those lines, this school is definitely not for you - but encourage competition and academic excellence. Elkhorn is one of the finest schools there is, and if you have the chance to attend, and are willing to accept the challenges, go for it. You will look back and say that it was the best decision you have ever made.


Posted February 5, 2011

This is a stress-inducing school. The PE classes have schedules for exercises that are "boot-camp-worthy". Homework comes in loads on a regular basis. Many agree that this school is very stressful. Some will even break down and cry, one of whom I personally recognize as strong and prideful. She is not physically unfit, quite the opposite actually, but the standards for PE at this school are too high. She has no free time on weekdays and has been depressed since transferring to this school. The only reason this school is even getting two stars rather than one is because the test scores are remarkable. But even this positive attribute to this school is neutralized, as the high scores sets a high expectation the students need to meet, creating more pressure. So basically, this school is not worth the trouble.


Posted January 29, 2011

I go to Elkhorn, and i am currently in eighth grade. I love the school because people understand me there. The work may be tough at times, but it really helps you in the future. I've been going here since sixth grade and it has helped me a lot! The teachers are all very friendly, the staff knows how to keep everyone safe and everything. Elkhorn is amazing.


Posted July 2, 2010

I truly loved this school, even though I had not realized it at the time of my attendance. The students there are friendly and easy to get along with. Also, the teachers at the school get to know you personally and sincerely care about your well being. Currently I am attending high school and sometimes it feels like Elkhorn challenged me more than I am currently. I deeply miss my great experiences there and wish I had appreciated all the great opportunities the school had given me.


Posted February 15, 2010

i go to this school and i love it! I've been here for a few months and when i first came here i was really welcomed i made friends the first day i got here!!The teachers and staff are are so much welcoming than my other school. My teacher Mrs.Go-Miller acually went here!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2009

Small campus. Great administration. Teachers are responsive and have high expectations for their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2009

My son spent his 7th and 8th grades at Elkhorn. This school was wonderful for him to prepare for high school and more. He already misses his teachers and smart Elkhorn classmates so much and wonders why there is no high school like Elkhorn. In his 9th grade, he has been so much advanced academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2009

I went to this school for 7th and 8th grade and I feel like there is nothing special about this school. I felt like I was singled out because of my race, and that i was labeled as the trouble child. Elkhorn is suppose to be a school for the gifted, yet i still do not know how I got in.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 30, 2009

I am a 7th grade student this year at Elkhorn. I have been there since 4th grade and I love it there. Sometimes it is challenging but I end up figuring everything out. Although they give you a lot of homework, it helps prepare for high school. They also have after school activities like After School Sports on Fridays, Ping Pong Club on Mondays, and many more. All teacher are great, kind, and caring and help you when needed. Some people from 6th grade didn't get to come here for middle school because of that stupid lottery thing they did in LUSD. Overall, this school is awesome!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 20, 2009

i am an eigth grader and i really love all the teachers and they really care about me and i feel a personal connection with each of them. they want us all to achieve and they really want us all to be succesful. i am so glad that i go to this school because it is preparing me for high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 10, 2009

i go to elkhorn right now. (sixth grade) great, kind, caring, teachers. all academics which i love because you can never find greater bunches of kids than at this school. there is still things like after school sports on fridays and ping pong club on mondays. awesome field trips. you really do learn a lot there really prepares you for high school and college. unfortunately, i dont get to go there for middle school cause of that stupid lottery thing they did in LUSD, but i love this school its so aweomse!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 15, 2008

Highest API score in the county. The only gate-only school in the county. Like no other. Teachers & Students of Elkhorn are by far another breed above the other failing schools in the county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2008

The best around. The children here are Gifted. And they need a place like this. It is warm, loving and supportive as well as challenging, demanding and thorough. These kids come out with excellent preparation for a college prep curriculum in high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2008

I have been to elkhorn for about five years now and i have to tell you, this is the best school i ever been to. Although they have a lot of homework, it teaches children to be responsible. Beside it is a gate school. The children there are also very well behaved so there is no fights, bullying, etc. This school made me feel safe and smart and i love this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 20, 2007

Having gone to Elkhorn for six years, I absolutely loved it. I felt so safe and secure all the time, and I'm extremely happy with the education I've received. The workload isn't TOO hard, and the teachers are all supportive and understanding. I really liked the challenging environment, and I've stayed in contact with some of the teachers. I loved being in an environment where I could learn at fast pace and be with other motivated students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 21, 2007

I attended Elkhorn for grades seven through eight, 2004-2006. Though the schoolwork is challenging, I always felt safe and happy, and the teachers are fantastic at what they do for a living. You often become friends with everyone in your class as well as many other students throughout the school. Eighth grade may scare many, but I'd say this is the prime year in which students will be well prepared for entering high school. There were great opportunities to be involved with choir, strings, band, student government, science olympiad, and CJSF as well.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

979

Change from
2012 to 2013

-15

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

979

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-15

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
83%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Females95%
Males92%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability94%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students96%
Females94%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability97%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only97%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students97%
Females94%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability97%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only97%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students94%
Females100%
Males87%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability94%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)91%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students99%
Females100%
Males98%
African Americann/a
Asian97%
Filipino100%
Hispanic or Latino100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability99%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only99%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented99%
Parent education - not a high school graduate100%
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)96%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to state100%

Math

All Students90%
Females91%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asian82%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented90%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)92%
Parent education - college graduate96%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students66%
Females65%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asian75%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only66%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented66%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state71%

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Females100%
Males96%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipino100%
Hispanic or Latino97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Non-economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability98%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only98%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate100%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)94%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to state94%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students82%
Females84%
Males77%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged85%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented81%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipino100%
Hispanic or Latino100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate100%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to state100%

Science

All Students97%
Females100%
Males94%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipino100%
Hispanic or Latino94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Non-economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability97%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only97%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate91%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)94%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to state94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 46% 11%
White 28% 26%
Hispanic 21% 52%
Black 3% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 11%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Pierre Kirby
Fax number
  • (209) 953-8319

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10505 North Davis Road
Stockton, CA 95209
Phone: (209) 953-8330

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT