Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public district
Stockton, CA
Students enrolled: 813
 

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


25 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Manlio Silva Elementary School 5

Posted February 19, 2015
- a parent
Having been at Silva for 4 years, i've found our experience to be a fantastic one! Excellent, caring and friendly teachers, who have a personal interest in my children's education. A Silva Principle, Vice Principle and staff that is not only friendly, but also devoted to all the Silva Students. As i've looked through some of the reviews, the last one dated Jan 9th, 2015 is very suspicious. As a PTA member and active parent at Silva, I feel that I should warn those who read that review not to take it to heart. The Manlio Silva PTA not only provides Silva with copious amounts of extra curricular activities. It fully supports the teachers, Principle and staff at Silva. Silva U is a program designed to provide Silva Students FREE after school extra curricular activities that cannot be provided during school hours. It's in the process of being redesigned so it can better fit the Students and Teachers needs. I wouldn't call that a failure. Silva is a great community school with so much to offer. I'd hate for one bad seed to have any influence over it's stellar reputation.
7 people found this helpful

Manlio Silva Elementary School 1

Posted January 09, 2015
- a parent
Since Mr. Faith has left the school has been ran by Mr. Koh and sadly the school has been going down hill. He lacks support by the teachers whom talk behind his back and say he has no backbone and lets the PTA president run all over him. Also, the PTA is horrible and needs to be investigated or dismantled, as either you are in the presidents little group or you are are not welcome to participate. As a teacher at another school and a parent here I am so glad that this is my child's last year as there is just way too much drama as I have never been we don't need your help. As far as after school programs called Silva U they are a joke and did not even happen i the first quarter as teachers were not interested in teaching Silva U, which again shows that the teachers are lacking support for the school. All in all I would give this school a minus 3 stars if I could which is sad as the school could be so much more if they had a different administrator and PTA.
2 people found this helpful


Manlio Silva Elementary School 5

Posted September 08, 2013
- a parent
Silva teachers and administration are outstanding in building positive relationships with students and parents. The campus is beautiful and is kept safe for students.
2 people found this helpful

Manlio Silva Elementary School 1

Posted August 14, 2013
- a parent
Unfortunately this school only allows positive reviews. My review before this one was deleted. So if you are in search for real answers you aren't going to find them here. Most of the PTA or Teachers post all the positive reviews. If you give a review that makes this school look bad, your post will be deleted. Sad really....
2 people found this helpful

Manlio Silva Elementary School 5

Posted August 09, 2013
- a parent
Great leadership- we wish the school systems would have a longer day- so they can take advantage of the great teachers! Overall great school.
1 person found this helpful


Manlio Silva Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2013
- a parent
Incredible school. Awesome Teachers and Administration. They really care about the kids here. There is Silva U which allows your child the opportunity to stay after school and learn other subjects that are not offered in school. Then they have real PE teachers...not just the regular classroom Teachers doing PE but acutal PE teachers. We have a full music program that has band and choir. The PTA is fabulous here and there are so many programs that they put on, we have the Harvest Festival, AAA awards, Walk to school day, family week, a preschool story time, honor roll breakfasts. Just an incredible school. Plus breakfast is free here to all children! And they also have an afterschool daycare program that has been set up in conjunction with the local YMCA. Could not ask for a more better school. Manlio is tops!!!
2 people found this helpful

Manlio Silva Elementary School 5

Posted April 10, 2013
- a parent
Amazing Teachers, Site and Staff! We came into the school later in the year and felt right at home on the first day!
1 person found this helpful

Manlio Silva Elementary School 5

Posted March 24, 2013
- a parent
My daughter is in the 5th grade gate program and is doing great. The teacher really care about the kids. They have a great PTA. It feels like a huge family.
1 person found this helpful


Manlio Silva Elementary School 2

Posted October 18, 2012
- a parent
My child has been going to this school since kindergarten. It has been a great experience and we were truly amazed with the principal Mr. Faith. He was by far an outstanding Principal. Unfortunately, Mr. Faith no longer works there and sadly it shows. There is a great deal with lack of enthusiasm. It is unfortunate that he is gone and the greatness has left with him. SOME Teachers are caring, understanding, and love what they do. However, most Teachers well.... lets just say they need to care more and remember why they wanted to teach in the first place. Be prepared parents for your child to be judged and treated differently. As well as, not getting the proper education due to the growing number of students in the classroom. If your child is struggling in a certain area be prepared to take on teaching your child what the Teacher should be doing. I am very disappointed and concerned with the lack of enthusiasm in teaching and helping a child learn. There are more things that I could go on about but I think I painted most of the picture for you. This school year has not been the best, and Manlio Silva can do much better than this. Currently contemplating a transfer.
2 people found this helpful

Manlio Silva Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2012
- a parent
Great school and parent involvement and volunteers make it extra great. They implemented some after school classes that my child has enjoyed which was a great addition this year.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Manlio Silva Elementary School
6250 Scott Creek Drive, Stockton, CA  95219
(209) 953-9302
Last modified Manlio Silva Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Manlio Silva Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top