Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Manlio Silva Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Silva engages her students in creative, fun ways. She is able to set a high standard of expectation and then motivate the kids to achieve it.

Manlio Silva Elementary School 4

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
After a rough experience with 2nd grade, I have been really impressed with 3rd grade. The teacher-parent communication is excellent and no question is too small or silly to ask. The homework club offered by my child's teacher was a perfect bridge to getting homework completed without a fuss each night. I would recommend this school to parents and offer that you get out of it what you put into it. If PTA isn't your thing then volunteer in the classroom or find some other way to help the teacher(s).


Manlio Silva Elementary School 5

Posted February 19, 2015
- a parent
Having been at Silva for 4 years, i've found our experience to be a fantastic one! Excellent, caring and friendly teachers, who have a personal interest in my children's education. A Silva Principle, Vice Principle and staff that is not only friendly, but also devoted to all the Silva Students. As i've looked through some of the reviews, the last one dated Jan 9th, 2015 is very suspicious. As a PTA member and active parent at Silva, I feel that I should warn those who read that review not to take it to heart. The Manlio Silva PTA not only provides Silva with copious amounts of extra curricular activities. It fully supports the teachers, Principle and staff at Silva. Silva U is a program designed to provide Silva Students FREE after school extra curricular activities that cannot be provided during school hours. It's in the process of being redesigned so it can better fit the Students and Teachers needs. I wouldn't call that a failure. Silva is a great community school with so much to offer. I'd hate for one bad seed to have any influence over it's stellar reputation.

Manlio Silva Elementary School 1

Posted January 09, 2015
- a parent
Since Mr. Faith has left the school has been ran by Mr. Koh and sadly the school has been going down hill. He lacks support by the teachers whom talk behind his back and say he has no backbone and lets the PTA president run all over him. Also, the PTA is horrible and needs to be investigated or dismantled, as either you are in the presidents little group or you are are not welcome to participate. As a teacher at another school and a parent here I am so glad that this is my child's last year as there is just way too much drama as I have never been we don't need your help. As far as after school programs called Silva U they are a joke and did not even happen i the first quarter as teachers were not interested in teaching Silva U, which again shows that the teachers are lacking support for the school. All in all I would give this school a minus 3 stars if I could which is sad as the school could be so much more if they had a different administrator and PTA.

Manlio Silva Elementary School 5

Posted September 08, 2013
- a parent
Silva teachers and administration are outstanding in building positive relationships with students and parents. The campus is beautiful and is kept safe for students.


Manlio Silva Elementary School 1

Posted August 14, 2013
- a parent
Unfortunately this school only allows positive reviews. My review before this one was deleted. So if you are in search for real answers you aren't going to find them here. Most of the PTA or Teachers post all the positive reviews. If you give a review that makes this school look bad, your post will be deleted. Sad really....

Manlio Silva Elementary School 5

Posted August 09, 2013
- a parent
Great leadership- we wish the school systems would have a longer day- so they can take advantage of the great teachers! Overall great school.

Manlio Silva Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2013
- a parent
Incredible school. Awesome Teachers and Administration. They really care about the kids here. There is Silva U which allows your child the opportunity to stay after school and learn other subjects that are not offered in school. Then they have real PE teachers...not just the regular classroom Teachers doing PE but acutal PE teachers. We have a full music program that has band and choir. The PTA is fabulous here and there are so many programs that they put on, we have the Harvest Festival, AAA awards, Walk to school day, family week, a preschool story time, honor roll breakfasts. Just an incredible school. Plus breakfast is free here to all children! And they also have an afterschool daycare program that has been set up in conjunction with the local YMCA. Could not ask for a more better school. Manlio is tops!!!


Manlio Silva Elementary School 5

Posted April 10, 2013
- a parent
Amazing Teachers, Site and Staff! We came into the school later in the year and felt right at home on the first day!

Manlio Silva Elementary School 5

Posted March 24, 2013
- a parent
My daughter is in the 5th grade gate program and is doing great. The teacher really care about the kids. They have a great PTA. It feels like a huge family.

Nearby schools

Manlio Silva Elementary School
6250 Scott Creek Drive, Stockton, CA  95219-7244
(209) 953-9302
Last modified Manlio Silva Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top