Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

First Baptist Christian Schools

Private | K-8 | 117 students

Our school is best known for equipping students to impact their world for Christ

 

Living in Stockton

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $85,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted August 4, 2013

First Baptist Christian Schools of Stockton strives to educate and equip students to impact their world for Christ. We believe in educating the whole child - academically, spiritually, physically, and emotionally. It is our privilege to partner with families to educate and prepare their children to make a positive difference in the world, now and for years to come.

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 8, 2014

I have been very pleased with my children's experiences at First Baptist Christian Schools. The staff and administration are very friendly and very helpful. Academics are solid and fieldtrip opportunities give a wonderful balance to elementary education. The school is Christ centered and has provided my children with a quality Christian education I don't believe they could've received anywhere else. It is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2014

Our daughter has thrived the four years she has attended First Baptist Christian Schools. Her teachers have taken the time to understand her pace and style of learning and teaches accordingly. The academic success of the students is apparent in the classroom structure and the interactions with both the students and parents. FBCS endeavors to teach and equip every student toward not only academic success but also spiritual growth. It is this well balanced and wise approach which has created an environment for our daughter to succeed and to be continually performing above her grade level. We value FBCS not only because of the academic success of the students but also the school's commitment of their spiritual growth. The current school principal is effectively leading her staff and the student body in Scripture memorization and the important emphasis on missions and local outreach. If you are reading this review as a part of your decision making process, I highly recommend you make an appointment to meet the school principal, Mrs. Bulleri, schedule a tour and experience the excellence of FBCS for yourself. I recommend enrolling your child in First Baptist Christian Schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2014

Being a part of a discipleship school has been an absolute blessing. My children get the privilege of going to chapel weekly where they can praise and worship our Savior and are challenged to grow deeper in their personal relationship with Jesus. The administration, teachers and staff do an excellent job at demonstrating and showing the love of Jesus to my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2014

We have two of our children enrolled in the school and have been very satisfied with the education that our children have received. Just because it's a Christian school doesn't automatically make it a perfect school. We've had little issues come up between one of my children and another student and the teachers did a fantastic job of not just dealing with the issue but also made them into teaching lessons. The administration is very involved in all functions of the school and has been very supportive and encouraging to both my wife and I and our children. Prior to enrolling our oldest child at FBCS he was in a Charter school. The difference between the Charter school and FBCS is amazing. The level of professionalism, the love that the staff pours into my children, and even the type of kids enrolled is a stark contrast. While there is no perfect school out there for my family FBCS is home. It's a safe place for my children to grow both spiritually and academically. I would highly recommend the school if you value a Christ centered education for your children. We looked at the other Christian schools in the area and in our eyes FBCS was the best choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2014

I am sad to express that I am very disappointed with this school for several reasons: 1) Although they have some good teachers, there is a lot of 'family' taking the teaching/administrative roles, so don't complain about them, they are somehow related! They give you a nice smile but if you go visit at different times, you could hear the meanness and yelling from some of the staff. 2) Discrimination and bullying is not controlled. The teachers don't really like to talk about it because they don't watch the kids during breaks or lunches when this happens. My kids come home sad from time to time saying how mean other kids are to them having them play diminishing games like 'a lame dog' or 'go play with the ball and the wall'. I appreciate how some teachers try to teach them God's word, but without loving others, good testimony lacks... 3) I agree that if an accident happens, you won't hear a report from the teacher, daycare staff won't know either. 4) You can't get involved as a parent if you are not part of the 'group'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2013

My children have been at First Baptist Christian School for nine years. They have developed academically and spiritually. I have been able to partner with talented Christian educators who have the best interest of their students in mind at all times. Administration has been attentive to my questions and when necessary provided discipline that allows for teaching, forgiveness, and reconciliation. My children have been surrounded by children who are encouraging to one another. As my daughter enters high school I am assured the she will be successful in high school and all future endeavors. You will be exceedingly pleased with your decision to register your children at First Baptist Christian School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2013

First Baptist Christian School has been a great environment for my son both academically and spiritually. He has been challenged to be responsible and accountable for his learning and for living out his faith. I appreciate that his teachers have held him accountable for his progress. I know that he is being well-prepared with the skills necessary to achieve success in high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2013

We made a big mistake enrolling my son here. My son was being bullied by his classmate and he was scared to tell his teacher. One time my husband saw my son being bullied and he reported it to the teacher. The teacher then isolated my son from his classmates, my son was so sad afraid and crying. He thought that if a person gets hurt by someone that your not supposed to tell the teacher bec the teacher will put you on timeout. Told principal what happened, teacher denied it principal stood up for the teacher lying. Held a meeting teacher didnt showed up. Teacher not setting a good example for kids, not acting like adults with poor judgement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2013

Son got an accident and fell on the cement with bump and scrape on knees. When my son got home No report from teacher. Next day my husband asked teacher what happened and she said its just a lilttle thing and no incident report or even a note was done. Teacher was upset being asked about what happened. Protocol not being followed I know that schools needs to write an incident report, call the parents or just make a note especially if a child sustaineda bump from falling on a cement but for the teacher " its just a little thing", my son is only 6 yrs old and the fall or bump can have side effects afterwards and patents needs to be informed. We are not asking for a lot just as parents that we be notified. The teacher made incident after being asked by principal to make one, teacher filed it out as " no bumps". That day my son told me that teacher told him meanly " i'm tired of your mom and dad getting mad at me". Told principal she said that if we wanted a meeting with the board thst teacher needs to approved it ( does the teacher own the school?). Teacher went on two days vacation ... After the incident. Made a mistake putting my son in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2013

I currently have 3 children at First Baptist Christian School and couldn't be more pleased with it. The teachers and administration are wonderful! My children are being challenged academically and growing spiritually. Definitely a complete package! C.Barth
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2013

We had a terrible experience at First Baptist. Our children were not learning and when the staff, principal and pastor were questioned about the matter, we were treated like criminals. Our children were at First Baptist for 4 years, and they were not performing at grade level standards, because frankly they were not being taught correctly. The school has the proper California state curriculum, but the teachers are not correctly implementing it in their classrooms. After relocating to a new school, we realized how fortunate we were to have left First Baptist. Our children are now performing at grade level and are in a true Christian environment. Parents please be careful and choose wisely!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Dutch
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Dutch

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Stephanie Bulleri
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Dutch
Extra learning resources offered
  • None
Transportation options
  • Vans for Field Trips
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
10
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
10

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$4000 - $4000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Jim Elliot Christian High School
St. Mary's High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3535 North El Dorado Street
Stockton, CA 95204
Website: Click here
Phone: (209) 466-1577

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St. Luke School
Stockton, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT