Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 91 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


102 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Carpenter Community Charter School 5

Posted October 02, 2014
- a parent
There once was a man that entered a village and asked the mayor what the people were like. The mayor asked the man about his experience in the last village "they were wonderful, kind people" the mayor then said you will find the same people in this village. Another man approached and asked the same question to the mayor and the mayor asked the man about his experience in the last village "they were rude and unfriendly" the mayor then said you will find the same people in this village. That "dirty play yard" and grass area is a haven for kids to run around and work out indifferences, issues with their friends or just dig in the dirt for bugs. Get involved and then make the right choice for your child. Leave the negative energy out the door. Good Luck.
1 person found this helpful

Carpenter Community Charter School 5

Posted September 28, 2014
- a parent
We have two kids at Carpenter. We contemplated the private schools and then found that Carpenter is just as good. The principal is passionate and committed and it all trickles down to the faculty. I like that the parent body is very involved. There is a strong sense of community. Most importantly, my kids are learning and thriving and have a sense of safety and community.
1 person found this helpful


Carpenter Community Charter School 3

Posted September 28, 2014
- a parent
Not the school for a child who needs any amount of special attention. They make it clear that they would rather have your leave them to give you the support you need and deserve. It's sad that a public school chooses to run off the kids who are not perfect, my tax dollars are wasted since I have to hire all kinds of support that the school won't provide unless we sue the district.
1 person found this helpful

Carpenter Community Charter School 2

Posted September 02, 2014
- a parent
not to mention how hostile parents can be as per the typical rude response to an opinion which every parent is entitled too. its time for a real administrator and a real music teacher who by the way should not be able to run an after school program on campus and charge for it. if you speak the truth here or air dirty laundry you get criticised.
1 person found this helpful

Carpenter Community Charter School 5

Posted September 01, 2014
- a parent
If you are unhappy with the school and our principal, you can do one of two things: 1) Get involved with the innumerable groups/committees that exist in order for you to build the school that you want for your child or, 2) Leave There are many public and private schools nearby that would be more than happy to enroll your child. Instead of being negative, find a place where you'll be happy. Yay!


Carpenter Community Charter School 1

Posted January 30, 2014
- a community member
I don't get the hype about this school. What a mess! The campus is filthy, the facility way overcrowded and there is a pathetic green space that they call a "play yard." Drop off and pick up are a logistical nightmare with all the traffic on Laurel Canyon. It really doesn't live up to the hype, sorry.
1 person found this helpful

Carpenter Community Charter School 5

Posted November 17, 2013
- a parent
We came from England in 2011 and our daughter went into 3rd Grade. A shock to our system in every way! She had previously attended a tiny school in a leafy village town in Surrey. She was made to feel totally welcome and special. The teachers were excellent and although the class sizes are big, she never slipped through the cracks. She had trouble keeping on top of the work but now in 5th Grade she is really enjoying it. Mr Brietstein is an amazing teacher, the right balance in everything. We are going to be sad to move on at the end of this year as it really is a tough act to follow! The Principal Mr.Martinez is incredible and should defo run for president..: )

Carpenter Community Charter School 5

Posted October 19, 2013
- a parent
Carpenter is an amazing learning environment! Both of our children attended the school and we are sad that this will our last year at Carpenter. You couldn't ask for a better community school. The kids are intelligent, ready and eager to learn. The parents are incredibly involved, we volunteer, we help supplement whatever supplies are needed and not provided by the District. The teachers and principal want every child to reach their full potential. My only complaint is that the school doesn't go all the way to 12th grade.


Carpenter Community Charter School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has been at Carpenter for 2 months and the school has been wonderful and administrative staff have worked with us to help make sure my daughter is receiving all the support she needs in school. I communicate daily with her teacher and my daughter is doing amazing. Wonderful school, good enrichment programs.

Carpenter Community Charter School 5

Posted September 02, 2013
- a parent
I am in love with this school! Everything about carpenter is great from the staff to the teachers!! This is by far the best, best elementary school in the valley!! Trust me, from one parent to another your child will LOVE this school!!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Carpenter Community Charter School
3909 Carpenter Avenue, Studio City, CA  91604
(818) 761-4363
Last modified Carpenter Community Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Carpenter Community Charter School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 102 reviews. Top