Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Summerland Elementary School 5

Posted April 11, 2016
- a parent
Summerland School is a great school for our child who is thriving here. We like it that there are many families from Summerland and Carpinteria. Some of the kids transferred here from other schools (Aliso, Canalino, Family School and Crane). It is nice that everything is on one campus, so all the kids know each other since they have recess together every day. The teachers are vibrant and seem to really enjoy their jobs (the 2/3 teacher is Carpinteria Educator of the Year), and the kids seem happy to be learning together. They are getting ready for the whole school musical (I heard that this is their 7th year of putting on a musical production). Summerland is known for the arts , and they have a great gardening program, too.

Summerland Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
I really loved the students engaging at Dreambox that is an online assignment. The teacher is able to gage students progress.


Summerland Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
They support a jogathon that promotes students raising donations for the school. They learn through hard work things can be accomplished and to never give up.

Summerland Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
There is a strict no tolerance for bullying at the school. If the students show any disrespect it is handled right away.

Summerland Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
The students learn to solve problems when they come up. The children need to recognize differently personality and learn to appreciate everyone.


Summerland Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
The school is a small setting . The students work well together and get to know and support each other well.

Summerland Elementary School 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
My kids loved going to the camps that are offered through the school. CIMI and the Astro Camp.

Summerland Elementary School 5

Posted May 26, 2015
- a community member
This school is literally a God send. We live in Canalino District but were able to petition for Summerland School because our son needs to be academically challenged. The staff and teachers are amazingly supportive and go above and beyond to help our shy son to feel safe and loved. In addition, Summerland School has gardening, art, and theater which most schools no longer offer. Lastly, the parents are phenomenal: loving, supportive, and committed to keeping our children safe and thriving. Summerland School is the public school that feels like a private school and we could not be happier.


Summerland Elementary School 5

Posted April 06, 2015
- a parent
Summerland School has been such a huge blessing for our family. We had always imagined that our kid would go to Family School until we learned that there was a lottery, and our kid did not get in. In retrospect, we feel so lucky that we ended up at Summerland School. Summerland is like a charter school with a very active gardening, art, music, theater and PE program. The teachers are very passionate about teaching and instill such a love for learning in our kids. Our kid just loves to act out the water cycle! The K-1 class begins each day with a community circle, where the kids greet each other in different languages, sing songs and do many other exciting activities. The result is that all 20 kids in the K-1 class have so much love for each other. They come from many different backgrounds, but they are like a tribe, and so are the families. Parents linger around after school, so there is a great sense of community, and many of them are very active in the parent organization. There are regular K-1 play dates in the park. Most importantly, our kid is on fire and cannot wait to go to school each day!

Summerland Elementary School 5

Posted September 03, 2014
- a parent
Summerland School is definitely one of the best-kept secrets for families in Summerland and Carpinteria. It s a public school but with such a private school feel. It has a very vibrant gardening, music, art and theater program. The teachers are absolutely amazing. They care so deeply about their students and really know how to make learning fun and interesting. This place has so much heart (and it doesn t hurt that it s only a block away from the ocean). Our kid loves it here (and can t wait to go to school every day), and we love it, too, as well as the wonderful sense of community it provides. We re so glad we found our way to Summerland. We couldn t be happier.

Nearby schools

Summerland Elementary School
135 Valencia Avenue, Summerland, CA  93067-9999
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (805) 969-1011
Last modified Summerland Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top