Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ridgemoor Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 821 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

55 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2013

Ridgemoor is an excellent school. They are always striving to promote academics, arts, and physical education. The teachers and staff provide a well-rounded education. I am very pleased that my grand daughter is enrolled at Ridgemoor.


Posted February 17, 2012

I attended Ridgemoore Elementary and my time there was most memorable. I started in third grade where I met my new teacher Mrs. Baker. I look back now and only have good memories of all the things that I was taught by her and a few more teachers. Their techniques were unmatched with the many other schools I attended as a child and if I could send my child anywhere for schooling it would definitely be here!!! I still remember songs that Mrs Baker utilized to help educate us about the Navajo people and math. This school is unforgettable.


Posted September 17, 2010

I am extremely happy with Ridgemoor Elementary. Mrs. Cook is a GREAT KINDERGARTEN teacher!!! The school is also very involved with the parents of each kid. I was able to see 1st hand how things were run. My children & I are a family coming out of a recent divorce w/ my husband. My son before starting school showed signs of stress & anger, he would bully other children at times. Now with the help of Mrs. Cook, we have helped correct that issue, & my son's behavior and overall attitude has improved entirely. He is no longer an anger, unhappy little boy hiding off in the corner. Now he actually wants to help his teacher, and behave. And he's proud of himself when he receives an award for good behavior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

While my grandchildren went to school here they received a wonderful education. The teachers were excellent and cared about them.


Posted April 14, 2010

Ridgemoor is a loving environment with awesome teachers and staff. they really care about our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

Great kids, parents, teachers, and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

It's dedicated to enriching our children's education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

The parents, students & staff are simply amazing!!!!


Posted October 29, 2009

This school has the most amazing teachers, principal, and staff. My 3 kids have excelled here in the learning environment created by the staff, parents and the students. I am proud and fortunate that we are Roadrunners and it is a California Distinguished School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Ridgemoor is an awesome school with great teachers that go above and beyond the call of duty for the children they serve. We gather as a family each morning to do the pledge to the flag, a different class each week sings for everyone, and announcements are made before everyone heads off to their own classrooms. We don't have much of a turn over of staff which also helps with consistency for the students and parents. As our school song says, 'Ridgemoor is the place to be.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

There just something very special about that school. My grand kids go there and they very smart.


Posted October 5, 2009

Our school is the best, because of all the Teacher's, Office Staff Members, and our Principal make everyone feel like family..Plus the teaching is A++++....I love them all...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Very clean and are princple is great
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

This is my 10th and, sadly, my last year at Ridgemoor since my youngest child, a 5th grader, will move on next fall. Our teachers really do go the extra mile, and have succeeded in helping all three of my children earn straight As every trimester! I estimate that I have attended about four dozen awards ceremonies for Perfect Attendance, Terrific Kid, Student of the Month, and/or Honor Roll. In addition to these recognitions, my kids alone have participated in district sponsored events like Red Ribbon Week, spelling bees, and science fairs; PTA sponsored events like dances, the Harvest Fair, movies on the blacktop, and stargazing; GATE classes like Chess Club and Mad Science; field trips to the J. Paul Getty Museum, the Ramona Pageant, Riley s Farm, Mission San Luis Rey, the Oval Office, and an incredible sim ride called Soarin Over California at the California Adventure Park; health and fitness activities like Running Club and Jazzercise; exploration of the Arts in band, choir, Guitar Club, Spotlight Kid s Theater, and Reflections, not to mention the musicals Vacation on Mars, Westward Movement, Geology Rocks, and Pirates of Grammar Island; as well as special days devised by the teachers like Cat in the Hat Day, Johnny Appleseed Day, Western Days, Polar Express, Chinese New Year, Donuts With Dad, homemade boat launch, U.S. state breakfast, and the ever popular Medieval Faire! For years I ve sent these ideas to my relatives who teach back east! The support my son received in 3rd, 4th, and 5th grades following two major hip surgeries went above and beyond the call! Ridgemoor teachers and staff: you are extraordinary and awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

I have been a part of Ridgemoor for 8 years. We have a principal who cares!!! Teachers do so much to help our kids, they always go the extra mile. Ridgemoor is a great school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

My family and I love Ridgemoor school because of the awesome principal Mrs. James and the teachers that my daughters have had. The PTA activities are great, too. Plus, the school has been a distinguished school for the last couple of years now which proves right there that this school is the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

Are school is top scores for menifee school district. All my kids attend ridgemoor and i work at ridgemoor elementary school. Everyone is so helpful and so on task. The staff all cares so much. We love ridgemoor!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

We really love this school! We have had such wonderful experiences so far. My oldest son loves it there, and my youngest is already talking about going to Kindergarten there. The TEACHERS are what make this school the best! Great communication and sincere care for the children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

Great teachers! New city with teachers that care about the students. Dana and I see the growth in Devin due to the extra mile his teachers have gone. I would like to call out the administrative staff as well, great communication!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

The staff is amazing and easy to talk with about any concerns I might have. I love their traditions.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

854

Change from
2012 to 2013

-29

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

854

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-29

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students66%
Females69%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disability45%
Students with no reported disability68%
English learner44%
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate45%
Parent education - high school graduate67%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state69%

Math

All Students78%
Females79%
Males77%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino76%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disability45%
Students with no reported disability82%
English learner81%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate82%
Parent education - high school graduate78%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students53%
Females58%
Males49%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)59%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability55%
English learner23%
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)43%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students74%
Females63%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disability45%
Students with no reported disability77%
English learner38%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate70%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate95%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students81%
Females90%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate83%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students92%
Females94%
Males92%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Non-economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability93%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate94%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)92%
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students68%
Females69%
Males67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)74%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students74%
Females69%
Males77%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disability42%
Students with no reported disability77%
English learner18%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate61%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students64%
Females56%
Males70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino66%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate58%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 27%
Hispanic 41% 51%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Asian 4% 11%
Black 4% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 35%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

25455 Ridgemoor Road
Sun City, CA 92586
Website: Click here
Phone: (951) 672-6450

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT