Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


John H. Francis Polytechnic 1

Posted June 03, 2016
- a parent
My son just graduated high school . He was varsity basketball player. The coach invited us to go to Las Vegas to watch the tournament , we spend a lot of money just to watch my son's game. The coach did not let the bench player to play even they are winning by 20 or even when they are loosing. He supposed to let other kids play. Im very disappointed , Now my youngest son is going to high school and there is no way I will enroll him in this school.

John H. Francis Polytechnic 5

Posted March 13, 2016
- a parent
Poly has always been a great school not only for myself 25 years ago but for my 2 children who have attended, the kids all come together no matter what the background is, that is something you don't hear of especially in the valley, it also has great college programs for the kid's to continue their education.


John H. Francis Polytechnic
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted March 13, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are so on top of the kids that are falling behind and offer extra help.

John H. Francis Polytechnic
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 13, 2016
- a parent
The students have just the right amount of homework since most of the stuff is completed during school.l

John H. Francis Polytechnic
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted March 13, 2016
- a parent
The teachers have so much compassion in helping out each student especially by contacting us the parents if they fall behind on anything.


John H. Francis Polytechnic
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted March 13, 2016
- a parent
The kids develop respect for each other because the school is so positive especially no bullying allowed.

John H. Francis Polytechnic
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 13, 2016
- a parent
The kids in this community not only are they taught by their parents to be responsible and respectful but also at school.

John H. Francis Polytechnic
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 13, 2016
- a parent
The teachers and college counselor's really put great effort in helping each student to prepare them for their future.


John H. Francis Polytechnic 5

Posted August 30, 2014
- a parent
This is my sons 2nd year at Poly High. I am amazed on how this school has changed a lot for good. I always had second thoughts of having my son come here due to the history reputation poly had. I'm so grateful in how this school has changed I can say I'm proud. The staff, teachers, counselors, you name it are all very caring in helping the students succeed. The magnet program is College preparatory program intense, but the teachers and students don't give up on each other.. Many AP classes to offer the acceptance to UC's and Cal States universities is jus amazing. If you are having a hard choosing which high school to enroll your child you have to come and check out Poly do your research. You and your child will be very happy and impress here at Poly.. The only negative thing is the school needs to get renovated it's an old school.. Otherwise it's a great high school.

John H. Francis Polytechnic 5

Posted July 12, 2014
- a community member
I remember going to this school almost 20 years ago. I had a lot of favorite teachers. My time here was cool. I learned from a lot of the teachers. Some of these teachers were very dedicated teachers. Especially my English teachers. Then there were those teachers who were there just for a check. Like those that taught foreign languages. I learned nothing. I got bored most of the time and eventually felt very discouraged. Which was sad because I really wanted learn a 3rd language. Instead we were constantly watching movies and left alone to do nothing.. I met good friends, and made some good memories. The football team was really bad.It was an okay school.

Nearby schools

John H. Francis Polytechnic
12431 Roscoe Boulevard, Sun Valley, CA  91352-3723
(818) 394-3600
Last modified John H. Francis Polytechnic is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top