Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Sunland, CA
Students enrolled: 562
Before care: No
 

3 stars
Based on 41 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

37 reviews of this school


Sunland Elementary School 4

Posted May 20, 2015
- a parent
The magnet program at this school is AMAZING. All of my kids have gone through (or are still attending) the magnet at this school and I could nto be happier. This area isn't known for their high-end schools, but this magnet program shines like a diamond in the rough.

Sunland Elementary School 5

Posted May 18, 2015
- a parent
The Sunland Magnet program is wonderful. My third child has started the program this year in grade two. The teachers are great (Mrs Burden is amazing!) my two older children also went through the Sunland magnet program. I highly recommend it.


Sunland Elementary School 5

Posted May 15, 2015
- a parent
Amazing school!!!Love the teachers and there attitude towards their students education.They care and take time to really help students succeed. The staff is wonderful and are always there to help with my questiones. The principal is great as she always try to make time if parents need her.

Sunland Elementary School 5

Posted May 14, 2015
- a parent
Es una exelente escuela!! Es el ultimo grado de mi hija pero espero pronto regresar con mi bebe

Sunland Elementary School 1

Posted April 14, 2015
- a community member
I'll just jump right in with my comments of this school. The principal is a joke, waste of space. Instead of pointing the finger and belittling parents and children, try living one day in the life of that family! You don't have a clue, so don't pretend or proceed to spew your idiotic ideas of what you think you know or could do! I thought schools and employees were there to help the child/children, to work together with the parents for the child to succeed??? Is that a thing of the past? APPARENTLY here it is...will my children be here next year??? not if the principal doesn't get a clue and learn how to work together on a solution instead of remain a part of the problem.


Sunland Elementary School 5

Posted March 20, 2015
- a parent
Love this school!! Great principal who helps parents and their children succeed. My kids love the school and their teachers. The pta does all they can to help fund buses, and field trips. Wish more parents could come in and learn how much the pta does for their kids instead of just complain. Seriously how can they complain if they never show up to even know what goes on in the pta. The librarian is awesome with the kids. She's so helpful in helping them find books and at times reads to the kinder kids along with two awesome moms. So i don't know how a parent can complain about her because besides the two moms that help in there no parent has ever helped her. So people please get your complaints in order.

Sunland Elementary School 1

Posted February 14, 2015
- a parent
Why isn't there a zero star option? This school is the worst. The principal is waste of space. And any parent that is so proud to have their child in magnet, should reevaluate. Most grades has 2 magnet classrooms and 1 regular classroom. If someone really believes that in the Sunland/Tujunga geographical area, there just happens to be an extraordinary amount of "gifted" kids, you probably believe the money fundraiser goes to the students. What a joke. 5th grades has a field trip that cost $170 per kid, yet we are expected to participate in every other fundraiser.

Sunland Elementary School 5

Posted January 30, 2015
- a parent
I feel the need to share my overall positive experience on this site about Sunland E. S. I do not spend much time posting reviews but feel it necessary due to the recent spate of negative comments. I find the school grounds well maintained and clean, the teachers friendly, and dedicated to their students, the principal is very approachable, kind and caring. I know when issues come up they get addressed immediately. The PTA is very active with fundraising to provide all the wonderful programs and activities this school offers. This school has a counselor on staff and provides parent workshops weekly. In short, a wonderful place for learning. This review is from a very involved parent and volunteer.


Sunland Elementary School 1

Posted September 14, 2014
- a parent
I feel bad for the wonderful teachers at this school, they are at the mercy of the poor choices the Principal makes. The school has a reputation for allowing students to be bullied. The Parent Center Director is unapproachable. There is no parent participation. The PTA is a joke. A new librarian with no experience has been hired. The Teachers at this school should move on to better schools where they can use their talents where it will matter.

Sunland Elementary School 1

Posted September 01, 2014
- a parent
The only nice thing that school has is the view, surrounding with mountains. Other than that everything is awful. NOT place to park. Also very disorganized culmination, the students has to walk for several day to Mg.Gleason MIddle school for practice and culmination. The PTA group bring their own family and firiends of the friends to occupied the front honor row, even if they came late allow then to sit in front, every year is the same. The students are very agressive and attack the teachers. I'm agree with the comment below that the school are more interesting on the score rather than the knowledge of the students. We learn only testing. The score of this school drop drastically. Bully, bully Principal. Emergency change.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sunland Elementary School
8350 Hillrose Street, Sunland, CA  91040
(818) 353-1631
Last modified Sunland Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sunland Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. Top