Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Sunland, CA
Students enrolled: 562
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sunland Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted June 18, 2015
- a community member
The teacher for second grade gets no respect from me! She did nothing to help my boy!

Sunland Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted June 18, 2015
- a community member
This school does not instill or develop respect in it's students, unless you are a bully!!! then you can get away with anything. The principal will look the other way unless she is forced to deal with a situation. Not sure how she obtained that position or remains in it??? Worthless!!!


Sunland Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 18, 2015
- a community member
NO! The principal and staff did not have nor did they show compassion for my child, they did not care for my child, and they showed no empathy for my child. If they did they would not have treated my family so badly the school board had to get involved!!!

Sunland Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 18, 2015
- a community member
Only if you are a bully!! My child told the truth, defended himself, and got suspended for doing so. You tell me! My child was bullied every single day with no consequences to the other children. How fair is that?

Sunland Elementary School 1

Posted June 18, 2015
- a community member
HORRIBLE!!! I don't know how it has as many stars as it does???? The principal has a God complex and doesn't get involved in serious situations unless forced to by higher up. She feel it is ok to belittle parents. There are no consequences or accountability for the principal, staff, or bullies at this school.


Sunland Elementary School 5

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
If you're a parent who's looking for a school that promotes random acts of kindness, a Principal who asks at the assembly every week to the students, "Why do we come to school?" and the students shout with pride, "TO LEARN!!!!", and an amazing PTA that sponsors many fundraisers to provide amazing field trips for the students and teachers and Teachers' Appreciation Week with a Teachers' Luncheon....I encourage you to enroll at Sunland Elementary and be involved. Their teachers in Magnet and resident are exceptional and I have volunteered in different classrooms and I see how these teachers encourage the students to really think and be creative artistically. There's going to be a new computer lab next year. As a parent, I've not had any problems. Don't be afraid to COMMUNICATE to the Principal, the PTA, or the Parent Ctr. Of course there are bad seeds in EVERY school, and we learn to work with it and communication is key. Overall, we adore this school.
1 person found this helpful

Sunland Elementary School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted May 27, 2015
- a parent
I have this year seen a lot of students helping each other out and encouraging one another not to give up. And as one of the 2nd grade Magnet teacher always tell her students, "I know you all are smart, but there's always room for improvement."
1 person found this helpful

Sunland Elementary School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted May 27, 2015
- a parent
Yes, The Lion Laws encourages ALL students and faculty to follow: being responsible, respectful, and safe.
1 person found this helpful


Sunland Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted May 27, 2015
- a parent
Yes, the school's budget was able to bring on another counselor who is doing a wonderful job of advocating random acts of kindness.
1 person found this helpful

Sunland Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted May 27, 2015
- a parent
The Principal, the teachers, office staff, teacher's aides, and parent volunteer encourages with so many wonderful prizes and events.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sunland Elementary School
8350 Hillrose Street, Sunland, CA  91040
(818) 353-1631
Last modified Sunland Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sunland Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 61 reviews. Top