Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Sunland, CA
Students enrolled: 562
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 34 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


35 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sunland Elementary School 1

Posted September 14, 2014
- a parent
I feel bad for the wonderful teachers at this school, they are at the mercy of the poor choices the Principal makes. The school has a reputation for allowing students to be bullied. The Parent Center Director is unapproachable. There is no parent participation. The PTA is a joke. A new librarian with no experience has been hired. The Teachers at this school should move on to better schools where they can use their talents where it will matter.

Sunland Elementary School 1

Posted September 01, 2014
- a parent
The only nice thing that school has is the view, surrounding with mountains. Other than that everything is awful. NOT place to park. Also very disorganized culmination, the students has to walk for several day to Mg.Gleason MIddle school for practice and culmination. The PTA group bring their own family and firiends of the friends to occupied the front honor row, even if they came late allow then to sit in front, every year is the same. The students are very agressive and attack the teachers. I'm agree with the comment below that the school are more interesting on the score rather than the knowledge of the students. We learn only testing. The score of this school drop drastically. Bully, bully Principal. Emergency change.


Sunland Elementary School 1

Posted September 01, 2014
- a community member
i really don't like this school . first grade girls would kiss me on the lips in front of everyone . does anyone even watch these kids ? people are chasing each other ? what !? there's alot of bullying and this school went on news because this girl was getting severe bullied . unless you liked getting harassed , tease , getting things stoled from you , being bullied , and crying , this is the place for you . i hate this school . they make us so stressed about testing . everything is about testing . the testing pressure they put on me caused me to barely pass proficient on my CST . i only got just a few points above proficient , and if i got another question wrong , i probably would have became a basic .i im doing great in another school because at least at my other school they don't give me pressure and have alot of bullying . alot of people have been writing reviews because alot of people go to this school like i used to nbut no more ! the review today is also true! i am so glad im not going back for 5th grade ! very disorganized place !

Sunland Elementary School 1

Posted September 01, 2014
- a parent
Yes, That's right! that this school really needs a new Principal . The bullying issue continues it will not change, because the Principal looks like is the one who gives them the bad example on how be a bully, when she follow parents and make feel them bad. Also PTA group can't handle anything at all and just do the events for their own benefits. The 50s style fundraiser is a big event with a lot of activities, and they do it just for money, collet a lot money . Even though they say it's for a field trip but it's not .In reality the parents pay registration for one or two days for that place or other expenses. If the parents can't pay it , they or the kids have to do work in the school to help for the trip. They have to find the way to be more clear on the way on how spend the money. This event should be at the begining of the year to spend that money on important things. NOT at few days before finish the school year.

Sunland Elementary School 2

Posted August 06, 2014
- a parent
Rude office staff. Unorganized school functions. Bullying. There are a few great teachers but mostly the staff does just enough. Where other schools look to accommodate this school treats you like an annoyance. Only at sunland would they still not know the room assignments the week before. Ridiculous.


Sunland Elementary School 5

Posted August 04, 2014
- a parent
Love love love the teachers. They are supportive of all students. I have a 4th grader and a first grader enrolled here and I can't praise the school enough. I appreciate the schools focus on both academics as well as character education. The principal and staff all work exceptionally hard. My children love going to school every day and hate being away even when they have to be due to illness. My youngest couldn't read prior to kinder but by the end of the year was reading to a 3rd grade level. The school boasts a great PTA who encourage parent involvement in and out of the classroom. The only drawback is it's a little difficult for working parents to make it to PTA and other school meetings which are often scheduled in the morning. Despite our state's lack of respect for education and the heavy budget cuts, this school continues to do its best for their students. Thanks Sunland for giving my kids a great head start.

Sunland Elementary School 4

Posted May 09, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has had the honor to have Mr. Cruz for her 5th grade teacher. She is excited to go to school everyday and do her best. He teaches in a way that is fun for them and they are eager to learn. She is in the magnet program and I have seen a big improvement in her grades and attitude about learning from last year where she was in a non magnet school. We are so happy that we put her in Sunland. She said that she has not encountered any bullying or "bad" kids. The staff is very friendly and they have many family events throughout the year. The principal is also very friendly and approachable to both the parents and the children.

Sunland Elementary School 1

Posted March 05, 2014
- a parent
So disappointed. My daughter is 2nd grader and being bullied everyday in after school program. I talked to staff and again this is happening. 5th graders are bullying 2nd grader kid. Cannot imagine this. She is coming in tears everyday.


Sunland Elementary School 1

Posted July 07, 2013
- a parent
I am a parent that went to this school, 2nd grade in 1995, now it's 17 years later and my adopted 2nd grader went there too, except it wasn't the same. Most 2nd graders are surprisingly "mature" and talk about violence and the yard counsellors aren't looking out for them! My child feels weird around her teacher and is not comfortable in the class, and all they learn over there is TESTING skills, not normal teaching, after every lesson they always say something about testing, they make these kids worried and not calm about the test because they treat it like a college application! The PTA only cares about the money, so they do worthless fundraisers every year to steal kids money! All the events for money, they sell, sell, sell! PTA never goes out of the way to think about the kids, yes, the look matters, but they should care about the kids too.. Very weird school with misbehaved kids.

Sunland Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
My son has been in this school almost 6 years. I love the stuff and the principal..I should not forget our PTA the best....100% parent envolvment all the time...

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sunland Elementary School
8350 Hillrose Street, Sunland, CA  91040
(818) 353-1631
Last modified Sunland Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sunland Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. Top