Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-5|Private
293 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
76 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 99 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Stratford School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted July 26, 2016
- a parent
My child's kinder and first grade teachers were very nice and taught well (such as Ms. Blake). We would like to thank them. But her second grade teacher was more mean and evil than we could ever imagined!

Stratford School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted July 26, 2016
- a parent
My child's second grade teacher taught poorly in the class, especially math, that's why many students performed poorly in math. The teacher always forced the students to copy what she taught, my child was punished for being creative and fast in her math class. The teacher doesn't know art (she said it herself), yet she taught art class. The computer class was taught poorly that my child didn't learn much in the two year's time. She just learned on her own this summer and in one week, she learned more on coding and typing than her two year's classes. The Spanish class was bad too that she didn't learn basic words and conversation in two years.


Stratford School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted July 26, 2016
- a parent
For my child, the homework was not very useful as my child has already known. The repetition and large amount of homework took too much of her time.

Stratford School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted July 26, 2016
- a parent
My child's teacher often told them that as a teacher, she is always right so they should always obey her. She never respects the students.

Stratford School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 26, 2016
- a parent
My child was bullied in school very often and told the teachers, but the teacher and school never punished the bullying students. The school didn't have education about bullying, despite the principal promised me they will educate students.


Stratford School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 26, 2016
- a parent
The school teachers showed strong favoritism to other teachers' kids. For example, the principal's daughter was in the same class as my child. The teacher always praise her, claiming she is the best students she ever taught. But in fact the principal's daughter was the one who talked the most in the class, when other students got punished, she was never punished! When almost every student was sent to the principal's office during the school year, she was never. Once she couldn't answer any question in a math test, she received 100% score "for the effort of trying" when other students were graded according to their answers. These special treatments made her feel she was special that she often called herself "mini-principal" in the school. My child was bullied by some boys in the school for many times, especially one boy who was a teacher's son. But he never got any punishment for bullying. The school and the teachers never punish the bullying students.

Stratford School 5

Posted July 09, 2015
- a parent
It is a great school with caring teachers who are effective at motivating even their most toughest customers to want to learn. My son was getting into "trouble" in his preschool. It seems to happen a bit at the tail end of each year and the pre-school would bump him to the next class months before he hit the age to move on, but it seemed to work. We tried Stratford for transitional K, as we were concerned to keep him at the other school, as he was showing signs of being bored again. Our son not only thrived, but would come home everyday to share about his what he learned. The teachers are friendly providing a caring, yet firm approach with the kids. By the end of the school year for TK, he proactively and with interest was reading books at the 2nd grade level and preferred science books. Our son loved his teachers as well as the principal, we plan to keep him through elementary.

Stratford School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 28, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are truly excellent. My children have had 9 teachers thus far and they've all been exemplary. They are caring, kind, energetic, and have appropriate expectations for their students. Every morning I see the teachers interacting with students and teachers and there are always smiles and welcoming greetings all around. Parent-teacher meetings are scheduled twice per year and the teachers give good feedback and are responsive to hearing concerns and questions.


Stratford School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 28, 2015
- a parent
My children do much more homework than I ever did, but they do not complain about it and because the homework assignments start so young (in kindergarten), they have never known school to be any other way. It helps that my children are both in the after care program, in which the excellent after care staff provides attention, help, and most importantly, strict expectations, regarding the students completion of their homework. As a result, my children rarely have homework to do at home, finishing it in after care before returning home most of the time (only when picked up early, before they've had time to finish their homework at school, do they ever have homework to do at home - and they do it diligently at home as well, being so used to doing it every day). I am often amazed at the quantity of work that is sent home in their Friday folders every week (even though we check their homework every night and see what they are doing on a daily basis, seeing it all together in one folder along with the work that was done in class including tests, quizzes, and reports makes it clear the sheer volume of work the students accomplish each and every week), but I am thrilled that my children have become comfortable with this level of work and seem happy to do it. It really does help that they're completely done with all schoolwork for the most part (aside from weekly practicing for tests on the night before) by the time they get home and can focus on having fun and being kids while at home.

Stratford School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted May 28, 2015
- a parent
Academically, this is certainly true; however I feel that there is a certain degree of coddling behavior when it comes to how students respond to adversity, especially the minor cuts and bruises associated with normal play. I have seen students with very minor injuries (such as a barely-scraped knee) run crying to teachers for consolation, and they are then sent to the office to have even more fuss made over them and bandages applied. I believe this is likely a societal trend, especially in the social demographic of silicon valley, but I feel it is unfortunate that the school doesn't buck the trend by expecting a little more toughness and self reliance out of its students when it comes to handling minor bumps and bruises.

Nearby schools

Stratford School
1196 Lime Drive, Sunnyvale, CA  94087
(408) 732-4424
Last modified Stratford School is a Private school that serves grades K-5
Top