Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cupertino Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

49 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 3, 2014

Academic "Lord of the Flies" - School is highly focused on keeping their API test scores high at all costs which overrides all aspect of a balanced education. Our daughter needed some help in one subject and was shuffled into special ed where she watched videos in math class instead of learning. We had to have outside tutoring in order for her to get any math education at all. Our daughter was also bullied terribly and the focus was always on her, she/we reported in over and over - the other students just made up a wild story and the admin bought it over and over again (zero action taken in maybe a dozen incidents). Finally, when we pushed back and asked to meet with the district, they made clear at any time they could take actions against our child (us) with outside agencies for the most minor event.. They made good on their threats (cant list here) and we had to pull our daughter out asap. It could be a great school for some kids but if you need to be actively involved in protecting your child and raise the principal's ire (involve the district) things get seriously scary very quickly. Honestly, I could never have imagined this could happen in Cupertino.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

Cupertino might not be the best of the best academically, but still this school is outstanding in certain areas, mostly math. In general, the cupertino union school district is probably the best district in California. the top elementary and middle schools already take 2-3 spots in the top 5 schools. one thing i can guarantee is that Cupertino has an amazing sports and activities afterschool. They dominate in sports especially cross country. I REALLY recommend this school if you want good, not just proficient but advanced academic scores, and especially great sports and activities. The mathcounts team here at Cupertino is very strong and has beat out high schools before. Academics isn't everything, you need a balanced school and that's exactly what Cupertino middle is. I 100% guarantee that you will be very impressed with how good the extra sports and extra academics are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2013

This school is super bad the kids are bad and my kid hate this school. The worst part is they don't have a proper cafeteria. If you are a parent and you are reading this, do not put your child in this school and you have to pay for everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2013

I graduated in 2009. I don't know how the school is now, but back then it was great. Some teachers were awesome, some weren't, but the majority of them were good. Academically, very nice, but socially? Boy I hated it. The cliques were strong and I was bullied. The office WILL crack down on bullies if you report them, so please do. When a teacher thought I was getting harassed by some kids, she had the office call me over. That's what really made CMS stand out: the staff's willingness to help you. I had a few mental breakdowns during the year and I always got the help I needed from counselors and teachers. If it wasn't for how rude some students were, CMS would get 5 stars.


Posted April 30, 2013

Cupertino schools are only as great as your child can learn on their own, get tutoring from outside source, or parents tutor their kids. If you think that coming to this school will make your kids smart or advance him in anyway, then I think you are not on the right path. Your child (ren) want to learn and want to advance is the real secret to doing well in schools. I hear it all too often that some teachers like only the well behave kids and the kids that do not have learning disabilities. The ones that do need help aren't getting the help they need. It is sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2011

cup is a great school! if you are advanced and can get into the AP classes u are set!!!!!!!!!! the sports program is also great!!!!


Posted August 15, 2011

I was a student at Cupertino Middle School the last three years, and I thought that there were some pretty great teachers there. However that the administration did not do a very good job at all; very little was communicated to the students, staff, or parents. Also, it seemed that the counselors' main job for the entire time i was there was to walk around at brunch and lunch to make sure kids didn't listen to their iPods. The group of students was great though. Overall, great school, not so great administration.


Posted May 18, 2011

i was a student here at this school, looking back at the years in Cup, I had a lot of nice teacher and fun times, though at the time i thought it sucked. but comparing to all the messed up teachers at homestead high, CMS was heaven :D


Posted February 8, 2010

I am a student at this school, and I get the feeling my teacher hates me. He would also ignore my questions. I'm not sure if they are on purpose. Without asking questions, i can't learn. Once in a while, i get insults. My mom also is s kind of mom that likes helping and participating but she would always be disappointed because there aren't many activities to part in.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2009

If you want band you can get it unless you're not in sixth grade wanting to be in C band. If you feel you deserve to be in band, you can talk to the offce and they will put you in. My friend did that. Band is a very popular elective that you have to work hard for. You have to practice five times a week. The talent show was announced in the morning announcements for the whole week. Cupertino is a great school. We may not be the best academically, but we have greeat sports and arts programs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2008

In contrast to the school reviews, I like this school. Nothing in boring, and the HDTV's do get put to use in my classroom;).
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 19, 2008

I went to this school for my 6th and 7th grade years and loved it. I had the BEST teachers ever who taught us so that we understood. And the kids at this school are very nice and help each other out a lot. this year I am going to Lawson and I personally prefer CUP than Lawson. GO CUP BEARS! Sad to leave this school.....
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 18, 2008

This is a very well run factory. I met lots of efficient teachers at back to school night, they know their subject but not one suggested to me they had a clue who my kid was. There is no drama program offered. The band program cannot serve everyone who wants it, which is also unacceptable, they have a lottery for who can join. The administration's attitude toward any bump in the road is to ignore it. If 400 kids want band and there's only room for 200, then that's how it is, they would certainly not hire another band teacher like Miller did, or hire a teacher willing to offer drama (which is at Kennedy, Miller, and Lawson). The counselors have to deal with so many kids that they are utterly useless, they don't return phone calls and use email but don't ever actually answer your questions. I agree with another reviewer, communication is extremely poor. The talent show was moved way up and 90% of the kids had no idea, my kid would have tried out but they never announced when auditions were being held. Most of the teachers my kid had were quite good despite these institutional problems. But cram too many kids into a school and you shouldn't be surprised you get problems like these.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2008

I'm a student in CMS its my first year in cms.Its a great school!!! They have a lot fund-raisers. But we don't get to use the mac lab enough but it is a wonderful school. I had a great year!!! CMS is a great school!!! PS (i miss cms a lot!!!!)
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2008

CMS used to be a great school back when we had a strong Principal who held students accountable for their actions. The last couple of years CMS has changed and not in a good way. I personally believe that grade inflation exists here. My child has had straight A's in past years with very little effort and has virtually no homework. Elementary school demanded more of my child s effort. There are thefts, bullying occurs, and this administration does nothing. If you report an incidence or concern, good luck getting a call back or corrective action in place. Oh yes but let's not publicize that because our home values may go down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2008

Good school. I've had better, but I have had some of the best and absolutely worst teachers from preschool to 8th grade. Your kid has to be confident in his or her self to thrive socially, and put alot of effort into his or her academics to do well. Competitive students do well in this school, but if your kid doesn't challenge themselves, they are doomed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 1, 2008

All the wonderful things that were going on last year in support of the Distinguished School application seemed to fall by the wayside once the award was received. Teachers and administration make minimal use of the school website, which contributes to appallingly poor communication. There was no parent survey this year, so there was no way to give feedback. The 'no weekend homework' policy is not being honored this year. My biggest pet peeve--assigning group projects and requiring students to teach each other content on which they are then tested. Isn't that the teacher's job? This is happening across grades and subjects. My daughter has a student-assigned homework sheet (it's the weekend) that she has to research using the Internet because the group that 'taught' the content didn't cover the material adequately in their presentation. I'm thoroughly disgusted and glad to be out of this school district next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2008

To me, CMS is a wonderful school. The teachers really interact with the students, and the whole class becomes like a huge extended family. To adress something another previous reviewer said about the courses not being challenging, I think it's just a matter of personal opinion. For instance, in Math, there are severel courses with some more challenging and fast-paced, and others slower and less challenging. For example, in sixth grade, there is Math6, which most average people are in, and then PreAlgebraA, which is for the kids who like to be challenged and go faster. It is similar in the upper grades. Although I do admit that a lot of projects in Core(Language Arts and Reading) are given out in parts, but not all. Another thing I like about CMS is the fact that we have seven periods, and thus in eighth grade we can have two electives. CMS=GREAT!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 24, 2008

I love this school. It has the best teachers that know how to get along with teenagers and still teach. Most of the teachers here know how to connect with the teenage mind which makes them want to come to school every morning. So far, I have never woken up one morning and dreaded going to school. This school has excellent Sports Teams. Go CUP BEARS!!! It also has the best electives for seventh and eigth graders. The teachers are all encouraging, the school itself is very safe, and i just love everything about this school...except for one small thing...the dress code is wayy to strict. my friends and i have had to change into PE clothes many times because either our skirts/shorts were too short or the straps of our shirts werent EXACTLY one inch. but other then that, I LOVE CMS!!! GO CUP BEARS!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 27, 2008

I came from a really bad school where i was bullied. I arrived at cup for seventh grade but was held back. At first i was really depressed , it turns out i was at a second grade math level.The teacher's there were so encouraging and helped me beyond belief. I know if i hadnt gone to cupertino and had there support I wouldnt be the A student i am today. I love this school!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

934

Change from
2012 to 2013

-2

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

934

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-2

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

432 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

428 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

431 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

334 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

261 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
76%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

380 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
82%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
26%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

396 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

378 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Females89%
Males87%
African Americann/a
Asian94%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disability50%
Students with no reported disability91%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate60%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)82%
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to state65%

Math

All Students84%
Females81%
Males86%
African Americann/a
Asian93%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disability41%
Students with no reported disability86%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to state71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students89%
Females90%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asian96%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disability21%
Students with no reported disability93%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to state83%

Math

All Students85%
Females86%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asian94%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disability44%
Students with no reported disability88%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to state74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students59%
Females63%
Males53%
African Americann/a
Asian64%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino20%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)59%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only59%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate45%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)23%
Parent education - college graduate61%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate66%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students86%
Females87%
Males85%
African Americann/a
Asian90%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate67%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to state82%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students16%
Females8%
Males22%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino5%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)31%
Economically disadvantaged9%
Not economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability28%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only17%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)0%
Parent education - college graduate25%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students82%
Females80%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asian91%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disability7%
Students with no reported disability88%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to state65%

Science

All Students90%
Females89%
Males91%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability91%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate73%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to state82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Asian 49%
White 37%
Hispanic 9%
Black 1%
Two or more races 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 9%N/AN/A
English language learners 3%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 2%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Kara Butler
Fax number
  • (408) 732-4152

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Parents duplicate instructional materials for teachers, work in our library media center, support the music program (accompanying students to off-campus performances and fund raising for our music program, driving students to performances), and chaperone school dances
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Stocklmeir Elementary
Montclaire Elementary
Nimitz Elementary

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Homestead High School
Fremont High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1650 South Bernardo Avenue
Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 245-0303

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Champion School
Cupertino, CA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT