Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chester W. Nimitz Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 22, 2014

This is a response to "A parent " who talked about the bullying problem in March 2014. Your situation is not alone. We used to attend Nimitz and chose to leave when the school didn't deal with the situation quickly and fairly. The situation lasted for more than 6 months and still wasn't dealt efficiently. My kid was miserable during that whole year. I should have pulled him out sooner! I think you did the right thing to pull your kid out of there abruptly! We transferred to another public school. Let me tell you this, not every school deals with the bullying situation the same way. After transferring to the new school only for a month, I knew my son will be safe in that environment. Whenever there was teasing or bullying, the teacher will call out both parties and also "all" (no kidding) the bystanders and witnesses to make sure the situation is clearly understood. When dealt this way, all students knew no one can be immured of punishment for being a bully and all students will feel safe. In my experience, Nimitz didn't deal with it this way. The principal at the new school is absolutely wonderful. I couldn't have asked for a better one!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2014

My son has always enjoyed learning here. Teachers are kind, dedicated, and creative. However, in 1st grade, my son was physically bullied by his friend multiple times. The kid and his parents were given warnings under the table but that was it. Although physical bullying stopped, this kid turned hostile - he made nasty comments and even threats to my son. The other kids were clueless as to what happened. We reported him again but it didn't help. Worse yet, more kids including my son's friends joined in the teasing as if showing off. After months, my son was so frustrated that he did not want to go to school anymore. So we left abruptly. To be fair, this problem may not be unique at Nimitz. Because of large class size and shorter school days, there is little room for character education. Kids could be picking up values from the corrupted media. And when something happens, the school's response is indifferent, inadequate, ineffective, and invisible. We moved the kids to a small Christian school. He liked God's rules and appreciates daily behavior checks. After our bad experience at Nimitz, all is not lost. We learnt to be very appreciative of a positive learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2014

This School is Very Good.My son likes it very much.They focused on reading.teacher is very good.Take care of every single child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2013

This is a great school.The kids do their reading, writing, and arithmetic, while also not skimping on coordination development, science, art, and creativity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2013

Nimitz is a fantastic school. The teachers are awesome, very involved and caring. The academics are focused on.They have Raz -Kids for reading, Step into Writing, reading groups (RTI), The new principal and asst. principal are doing a great job. Extra Curricular activities like Running Club, PE, Music, Art, Library, Field trips, etc and After school programs like Fun on the Run, and others offered by Cupertino Parks and Recreations The diversity is celebrated in this school. PTA organizes Movie Nights, Science nights, Halloween, Multi-cultural Holiday celebrations, Walkathons, Bake Sale etc. My daughter has been here since K and is very happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2013

In my experience with schools that rank ten thye fully meet the childs academic growth with the parent and do not complain about communication or delay to respond to parent communication. My first experience and my daughters first experiemce with a school below ten has proven to be less then that ten for many reasons other then what the district tells you when your neighborhood school is full. My daughters neighborhood school is a ten but she can t go becasue it is full. I can tell tje difference big time between eight and ten schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2012

The school staff doesn't care for the kids education........all they think about is the money they're getting from the state, they don't care if you transfer your kids to different school they know that NO SCHOOL accepts Inter-district transfer. Cupertino district still getting paid even though my kids are in a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2012

School Staff not very helpful, Inconsiderate of parent Concern. I wish I lived in a different district so my children can go to a nicer school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2012

My son will enter the 4th grade now. All teachers he had are very professional, dedicated and caring. I do not know if all the schools in our district have the RTI program in language arts. Nimitz school runs it for 3 years now, and I love this approach. There are 3 levels at which Language Arts are taught. Children who need more help are placed in smaller groups and get more attention to learn to read better. The stronger students are also grouped together, so the can advance faster and have more challenging projects. I am also impressed with the ways and level that Math and Science are taught. Please do not judge this school solely on the test scores. The school serves a diverse community and it is an ELD center as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2012

i went there in the 60s oh them were the days it was smaller then but what a blast i had as a child there, if only we could turn back time, i have not seen it years but glad it is still there one day i do plan to visit it again


Posted February 27, 2012

I am happy with the performance of my second grader son. Teachers are great , putting lot of efforts and hard work. Principal is easily reachable and helpful. could not ask for more. as already one parent said do not go after API scores. i have a friend with a daughter going to 5 star school ;; she says syllabus and study are the same only difference is Nimitz has more non English speaking kids compared to a 5 star school which brings the rating down otherwise a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2012

Nimitz is a wonderful school ! We have lived in many areas in the Bay areas including some of the best schools around. But Nimitz is top on the list. There are too many good things to say about this school. The principal, the teachers, the open and friendly cultures, the list can get long once you get to know the school.... We had a wonderful year in Nimitz. Parents should look beyond API score and find out what the true values reside in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2011

We ended up at Nimitz because Stocklmeir was too full. But we couldn't be happier! Stocklmeir has almost twice as many students (20 kindergarten classrooms vs Nimitz 2 or 3 kindergarten classrooms!). The principle is really great, he had been a teacher for over 25 years, and he does a great job of getting the kids involved in school and excited about school. They have a lot of fun events like several movie nights, Halloween Haunted House, school dances, and science fairs! I really like their approach to reading and writing in First Grade, they separate the kids into 3 tier groups, that way everyone is at the same level within those classes and by the end of the year every student is at grade level or above. My daughter is so happy there and I am so impressed with how fast she learned to read and write and she is excited to go to school every morning-which says alot!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2011

This is a great school. My daughter is in kindergarten. Mrs. Burke, Mr. Horn and Mr. Morwood are excellent, dream teachers. I couldn't be happier with the teachers. Class sizes are unfortunately very large these days in any school (28-29 kids), but this is the same in all the neighboring schools despite what this website indicates (21-22 kids). We belong to Stocklmeir school, but are seriously thinking of staying at Nimitz next year because we've had a great experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2011

The kindergarten is outstanding. The kids do their reading, writing, and arithmetic, while also not skimping on coordination development, science, art, and creativity. The teachers are skilled, energetic, and enthusiastic -- they make controlling a class of 30 look easy and fun. This kindergarten is following the most advanced child development/teaching model, and doing a great job setting their kids up for academic success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2010

I can not say enough of Nimitz school. My daughter attended Nimitz for Kinder garden. Principle is very involved and hands on. Teachers are absolutely dedicated. Teachers bring tons of energy and roll model to class room. You will not see teachers rushing out of classroom during break. Instead, you will see teachers catching ball and interacting with kids. School itself has many activities even for kindergardeners- running club, music class, field trips and daily book bags. I am surprised to see 7 rating for Nimitz. It should be one of the top rated school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2010

NImitz is a great school. My kids have been going to this school since Kindergarten. The teachers have mastery over the subject matter, they do challenge the kids in various ways. They have 'running club' that keeps the kids interested in physical fitness. The new Principal (Russ Ottey) is very hands on and invloved in all the school activities. The PTA is very creative and comes up with good ideas for raising funds and bringing a lot of educational entertainment to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2008

My daughter is current;y in the 2nd grade at Nimitz and has shown tremendous progress in all areas of her studies. The teachers, principal and staff at Nimitz are caring and very accomodating. I and my daughter love Nimitz!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

This school has a great 'no stress' environment and wonderful caring staff however the education level is low and the school community changes frequently because part of it made of English Learners students (ELD) that leave to their home schools as soon as they master the language and out of the ELD program. I agree with one of the other parent writing that this school does not prepare the students for the district's high level of education and middle school's demands.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2008

I'm very impressed with Nimitz, and am grateful my son goes to school there. Dale Jones, the principal is very involved throughout the school, and all the teachers & staff make you feel right at home.The environment here reminds me of when I was in elementary, back in 'the good ole days' when I woke up looking forward to going to school. Thank you for making learning fun!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

879

Change from
2012 to 2013

+14

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

879

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+14

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
41%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students63%
Females63%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asian70%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino37%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner44%
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)40%
Parent education - college graduate61%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate81%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students79%
Females78%
Males80%
African Americann/a
Asian76%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learner70%
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students57%
Females58%
Males55%
African Americann/a
Asian63%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino29%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability57%
English learner26%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate27%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate58%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate73%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students74%
Females68%
Males78%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino35%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learner68%
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Females75%
Males74%
African Americann/a
Asian83%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learner54%
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students82%
Females83%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asian97%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learner79%
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students68%
Females72%
Males65%
African Americann/a
Asian66%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino40%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability68%
English learner28%
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate23%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)74%
Parent education - college graduate69%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate84%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students75%
Females74%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asian91%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino29%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learner63%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate46%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students63%
Females61%
Males66%
African Americann/a
Asian73%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino13%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner43%
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate15%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate72%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Asian 39%
White 32%
Hispanic 21%
Two or more races 3%
Black 2%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/AN/A
English language learners 51%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 3%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Kari Ito
Fax number
  • (408) 737-7182

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

545 East Cheyenne Drive
Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 736-2180

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Amrita Academy
Sunnyvale, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT