Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

628 students|Cupertino Union
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
36 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 52 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


West Valley Elementary School 1

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
The staff is all brand new, the community is fractured and divided. ....the parents who pushed for the removal of an entire staff of teachers at a top rated school, continue to infest the school with negativity. Volunteers are not stepping up with this culture ....

West Valley Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2016
- a community member
The teaching staff at west valley elementary is new, and I feel this has been a breath of fresh air, with no complacency and renewed ideas and drive. We love the new teacher taking our child's class, who takes a lot of interest in student development. The student community is diverse and the kids are sharp ... which further contributes to West Valley being a great school.


West Valley Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted November 04, 2015
- a community member
All the staff at this school are brand new to the school in 2015. They are just beginning to lest the culture of the school and to get to know each other as colleagues and as a community. I would not choose to subject my student to this school at this time in its development.

West Valley Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 04, 2015
- a community member
The teachers and administrators lacked modeling of this honesty, integrity and fairness. It was unfair to the children and irresponsible behavior on the part of the staff.

West Valley Elementary School 1

Posted November 04, 2015
- a community member
I am surprised to see how of date these reviews are. There has been so much change at West Valley, that has not benefited the children. The entire Cupertino Union School District was shocked when the entire West Valley staff was reconstituted. Google West Valley to find out more . What a shame for children in their formative years!


West Valley Elementary School 5

Posted September 15, 2013
- a community member
This is an outstanding school with excellent teachers that go above and beyond! 5 stars!

West Valley Elementary School 5

Posted August 30, 2013
- a parent
This is truly a fantastic school. The teachers really go the extra effort to make our kids enjoy learning. I have had 3 kids at this school through the years. Our favorite teacher was Yates in the 4/5 combination class. We had him twice and he really made our children enjoy going to school each day. West Valley really is amazing because of teachers like him. The API is high and this is great, but the parents aren't overly concerned about it. We just want our kids to have a well rounded experience and they get it.

West Valley Elementary School 4

Posted February 11, 2013
- a parent
I am mostly pleased with this school. This is our 5th year and we'll be here for another 4 years. There are some teachers in each grade who are phenomenal and there are some in each grade who should either retire or rethink being a classroom teacher. I wish the teacher quality was a bit more even in the upper grades so that I didn't have to hold my breath when the classroom assignments come out. We have a new principal this year and she's gotten mixed reviews. The principal who left (went to a school closer to her home w/ later start time) was mostly well liked. Our new principal seems very concerned with following the rules and she pays close attention to management and the district office. Doesn't seem as flexible as the last principal. I haven't noticed a change in the amount of parent involvement since the new principal came, but I think her decreased flexibility and stiffness has put some parents off. I think the principal is trying to make things better, but I'm not sure all the parents agree that what she's doing is making the school better.


West Valley Elementary School 5

Posted October 12, 2012
- a community member
West valley is a great elementary school it has a great API score. Well I know about the new principal but still this school is great school.

West Valley Elementary School 1

Posted August 24, 2012
- a parent
The new principal has absolutely wrecked this school! She knows how to manipulate and play the school system. Can't wait til my kids start Middle school. The teachers are split between those that are awesome and those that want to be the Principal's best friend. Everything is focused on the API at the cost of everything else.

Nearby schools

West Valley Elementary School
1635 Belleville Way, Sunnyvale, CA  94087-3926
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 52 reviews. (408) 245-0148
Last modified West Valley Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top