Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 57 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


59 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Marian A. Peterson Middle School 5

Posted November 05, 2014
- a parent
Love this school as a parent. Love the teachers and the staff. Great academics, sports and after school clubs. The students attending this school are well behaved and disciplined. The PMS School loop email system is great and as a parent I am able to get my kid's home work schedules and grades on a daily/weekly basis. Highly recommend this school to other parents. The counselors are great and very approachable. Love the school.

Marian A. Peterson Middle School 5

Posted May 25, 2014
- a parent
Very good school. We love Mr. Masur, the new Vice Principal. He is very approachable and fair. Always actively engage with students. Most teachers in Peterson are great! Very willing to help yet let the kids also be independent. Right amount of homework. If you want to your kids to learn, let them go to Peterson. Also, many parents participates in activities like Bake Sale, Staff luncheon, Book Sale, etc. We love Peterson MS. Go Pirates!!!!


Marian A. Peterson Middle School 4

Posted April 19, 2014
- a parent
Our son has greatly enjoyed his 6th grade teachers and succeeded beyond our expectations. They have motivated him to become an independent learner and inspired him to work to his full potential. We are very happy he has access to the incredible nature center, and some opportunity to visit the adjacent Full Circle Farm, which we hope will continue to be able to collaborate with the school. For now, we couldn't be happier, and look forward to next year.

Marian A. Peterson Middle School 5

Posted March 06, 2014
- a community member
As a student who is currently enrolled in this place some call "school" I have to say, although challenging this school has a large assortment of activities for you to participate in. I call this a "school" because I feel it's more of a fun, social experience rather than a place for learning, but don't get me wrong, this school can be tough if you don't stay on top of your work. GOOOO PIRATES - LeDeau

Marian A. Peterson Middle School 4

Posted July 08, 2013
- a community member
I`m not a student yet, I`m going to be next year though. At my grade school, people think "The Nerds" at school only go to Peterson. Or, "Only lucky people go to Peterson" Well...a little offensive, and some people think that this school is full of smart people. I think there`s more smart people in Peterson than Cabrillo. A lot of people say that Peterson is a excellent school. I looked around the whole school once and I thought this was much better and cleaner than Cabrillo. Peterson looks like a great school. I think everyone should have the same opinion.


Marian A. Peterson Middle School 5

Posted June 28, 2013
- a community member
You know, there are a lot of reviews on this site about "the teachers are bad" and "I have no friends," but that's really a personal issue, none more. Everyone has their own interpretation of others, not all students can be open-minded an accepted by others. Everyone is given a chance, time after time at Peterson, and it's just up to the student to choose to take it. Those who don't won't have the best experience, and those who do will come out and love the school. I had a wonderful time at Peterson, and thought all the staff members were wonderful. You may believe they are rude and unassuming, but you didn't get to know them for three years. You can't generalize off of a ten minute encounter. And every teacher is great, it's one hell of a job. You have to love what you do very much to be able to put up with some of the students. You won't like a teacher if they don't like you, and if you're a rude, lowly, reproachful student, you're not going to have a good time. But that's on you, not on the teachers. --Peterson Graduate of 2013

Marian A. Peterson Middle School 5

Posted March 13, 2013
- a parent
This is one if the best middle school's ever. The teachers are great and so are the students!!! GOOOOOOOO..... PIRATES :)

Marian A. Peterson Middle School 5

Posted October 30, 2012
- a community member
I am currently a student at Peterson. It is an amazing school! The staff is ready to help the kids, no matter what the problems. The nature center makes science easy, and more more fun.


Marian A. Peterson Middle School 5

Posted September 15, 2012
- a parent
My daughter and I love this school, I can't believe that my daughter jumps out of bed at 6:20AM just to make it early to school, she made a lot of nice friends, is challenged by the educational program, and above all she is SAFE, there is no bullying. The Peterson + program for 6th grade was very challenging, they have honor classes for 7thand 8th grade, and an extremely competitive after school math club. The school offers so many electives to choose from and about 15 after school clubs. The principal is involved in every little detail, she's always around campus and knows the students by their names, she's always available to listen patiently to both parents and students, and helps students feel loved and safe at Peterson, she's doing an excellent job. The teachers are wonderful, the administration staff are so professional and organized, and the counselors are so knowledgeable. The PTSA is amazing, and shows how much parents are involved at Peterson. I'm so looking forward to my younger daughter joining this great school.

Marian A. Peterson Middle School 5

Posted March 15, 2012
- a community member
This is the best school I've ever been to. The teachers are wonderful and so are the students. Supervision is excellent, they even have surveillance cameras. The library is huge and has a variety of books. The principal and vice principal are very active, and very involved. There is absolutely no bullying. The curriculum is very challenging. I Love my school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Marian A. Peterson Middle School
1380 Rosalia Avenue, Sunnyvale, CA  94087
(408) 423-2800
Last modified Marian A. Peterson Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Marian A. Peterson Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 59 reviews. Top