Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 36 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


39 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cherry Chase Elementary School 3

Posted December 09, 2014
- a parent
This school has grown tremendously over last several years. Classroom size is growing (used to be 20 students/teacher). Unfortunately, there is such high turnaround not only with students, which is fine, but with teachers and the principal! Although this school got high API score with a 10 rating, there are some bad teachers. Can be a nightmare if your child gets one of them.

Cherry Chase Elementary School 3

Posted March 04, 2014
- a parent
PTA works really hard. Children are competitive. However, It is hard to get help from teachers, either "no time" or no respond to e-mails. My questions may be around once every two months. It is not too much disturbing to the class teacher. I wish the principal could ask the feedback to each family about class teacher. I guess it is free public education. We only can be grateful for any treatment that we receive and cannot ask for more than that. I really do not know whether parents deserve getting attention from teachers or we are using extra time from teacher, which is not allowed.


Cherry Chase Elementary School 5

Posted August 05, 2013
- a parent
Great school, very good parent communication and attention given to every child. Would definitely recommend.

Cherry Chase Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
my school is the best. it is the greatest school in the whole world. I am waiting very eagerly for my school to get open.

Cherry Chase Elementary School 5

Posted September 15, 2012
- a parent
This school is growing like crazy. A few years back, there were a little over 500 students and now there are close to 850. With so many students, and limited space and supervision, the quieter kids were getting lost. Now, they started a great program run called the Fun Zone during the 10 minute recess. It's a classroom opened up for students to come hang out and do arts, games, origami and so much more. We hope to see similar initiatives sprout up in the future! There are many wonderful capable parents who are 100% committed and very involved at the school. It's a place you can come to join the community or start building your own. But you do need to invest your time to be part of the community. We have a new principal this year and she is warm and inviting. My hope is that she will be able to bring a warm and trusting environment to the students, parents and the teachers. Academics are generally good but quality of teachers can vary. There is a large disparity of homework load among teachers even within the same grade. Some teachers don't even check homework themselves or keep a keen eye on student correction so they don't have a clue when students are struggling.


Cherry Chase Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2012
- a parent
I absolutley love CHerry CHase. Excellent parent involvement. Strong PTA which funds many after school activities, PE, FAME. Teachers are very responsive and awesome

Cherry Chase Elementary School 5

Posted May 28, 2012
- a parent
Love, love, love this school. Third grade is an awesome team of teachers. Challenging curriculum, high expectations and wonderful support. Great community school. I have always had great communication from my child's teachers.

Cherry Chase Elementary School 3

Posted November 27, 2011
- a parent
I have been very disappointed with the curriculum, class size, communication about child progress/problems and the general behavior and respect that students have for each other. I started my daughter here in with the expectation that becasue the school had a 10/10 on this site as well as being a Blue Ribbon school, I would not have many issues with the education. I was wrong and now I am scrambing to find another school for my daughter for the next school year. Here are a couple of concrete examples of what I view as problems: 1) Almost no feedback - returning of HW or tests on regular basis. 2) Teahcers don't actually correct the HW, onl o only loo, to see if it was done. I have addressed these problems with the teacher, but there aree too many things that need correcting. Overall I am not impressed with the school.


Cherry Chase Elementary School 5

Posted August 24, 2011
- a parent
A wonderful school, great family community that is as diverse as the area in which we live. Wonderful and enriching offering of after school programs, in school PTA programs as well as fun family centered activities. International Night, the Fall Festival - Halloween event, and a great Walk-a-thon are just a few. Dedicated parents and some totally absent parents (same as anywhere).

Cherry Chase Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2011
- a community member
I absolutely love Cherry Chase!!! The teachers, students, and parent volunteers are very kind and easy to talk to. All my teachers always help their students and respect them. The school's principal is a great leader and organizes school activities nicely.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cherry Chase Elementary School
1138 Heatherstone Way, Sunnyvale, CA  94087
(408) 522-8241
Last modified Cherry Chase Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cherry Chase Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. Top