Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Columbia Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Living in Sunnyvale

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $413,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 6, 2014

This school changed me. I started here as a good student good study habits and positive outlook on life. 2 years later I left Suicidal (I attempted 3 times) bullied, hating myself, hating the world, a cutter, depressed, Dermatillomania (Google it) and Anorexic. I think that shows you what this school does to kids.


Posted August 23, 2013

School appears to be an up and coming school with some significant challenges. However, the staff appears to be committed to utilizing all resources to meet those challenges and the school appears generally safe. I was pleasantly surprised after being invited to walk the campus and meet some of the parents and students of my son's class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2012

Columbia is NOT the school it used to be. API scores (and all sub groups) have gone up steadily over the past 3 years. It seems that when parents are looking for a school for their child/children the API score is the end all be all...SO not true. The only reason Columbia has what some consider a "low" API score is simply due to the fact that there's a high percentage of English language learners that are still leaning how to comprehend English...this is not an easy task. It takes years to be fluent in English. The principal and staff are obviously doing something right!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2011

I moved to Sunnyvale from East Palo Alto because I just knew that the schools would be better, right? No. We live in the Fairwood area so for 5th grade my son went to Fairwood which is an awesome school. For middle school, the kids from our area have to go to Columbia which is in the Fair Oaks area. The kids can't wear red or blue because of gangs. They don't let the kids wear plain old winter hats. My son went there for 6th grade. It was horrible. I couldn't get him into any of the after school programs designed to help him improve his grades because he knew how to read and knew his multiplication and division. The staff wasn't understanding at all with the exception of Mrs. Carmack. I got my son tested for ADD and I couldn't get any accommodations for him. The teachers didn't want to help him. It was so bad that I considered putting him back in school in East Palo Alto. Luckily I got him into a charter school. This is a horrible school. As a parent, I didn't feel right sending him there and I thank God I got him out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2011

Columbia is making a come back! Please ignore all the reviews prior to 2009. They were written when the school had a different principal. Over the past few years we have implemented a number of new programs, both educational and behavioral. The dedicated teachers and wonderful students are making huge strides in a positive direction. Our API jumped 20+ points in the 2010-2011 school year! That is a very difficult feat. Most schools increase 5 -10 points a year, if they increase at all. The school has just undergone a complete renovation also. Our classrooms are new, and full of technology. Yes, we have students involved in gangs. This problem is being taken control of, it is NOT apparent on campus. Any school in a similar neighborhood would have similar problems. These students seek gang involvement because a lack of parental involvement in their lives. If you are a parent involved in your students life, you have nothing to worry about, your student will succeed at Columbia. I am a proud Columbia teacher doing my best to give our students the best future possible. Please do not let rumors hinder your student from attending Columbia. Come see us for yourself.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 18, 2011

Columbia is a awsome school i go to this school and some people say its an a terrible school but its not. Our school has a coucler which she could help you out. there is only one teacher i hate so much i cant say who he is but i want him fired


Posted October 15, 2010

Columbia is a great school, it has a bad reputation due to some incidents that have occurred at the school. There are a lot of positive things happening at Columbia and they seem to be overlooked due to the few negative events that have happened here and there. The Music Department is amazing, they are award winning, they travel to Disneyland to perform in front of thousands, and they perform for many City of SV events; the Drama Department is very talented as well, they have a cast of students with awesome energy and charisma. I am tired of CMS constantly being compared to Sunnyvale Middle, FYI, SMS has it's "crime/issues" as well, maybe they keep a little quieter about it, but believe me they have had fights, drugs, graffiti, etc.....please look at the big picture and stop dwelling on the 3% of negative and focus on the 97% good!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2010

Columbia is the worst school in Sunnyvale. I am go to this school and I am constantly getting harassed by the teachers. If you would like your child to succeed, this is NOT a recommended school. Lunch is also highly overpriced.


Posted January 22, 2010

Columbia is in a low income area. But not all of the families are of low income. I will say that most of these families are have both parents who work. This is limiting the involvement of the parents for extra activities. The students overall are good kids. The teachers try hard. The staff and and Athletic Director, Mr Barelli are great. There are too many kids who go to private schools around here. This drives scores on the 'average' side. My son enjoyed his 3 years at Columbia.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

the crime around columbia makes the school look bad, but its not. The schools staff is great. I am an eight grader and i am planning on graduating by the end of this school year! When i was in elementary i hated reading and doing my homework. Now I love to read I learned alot from computer classes that will help me succeed in my future. My grade are a b avergae. I try my best, and the teachers can open doors for me, but it is my choice to walk through the doors. I choose to go. Most of the students, including me, have a great apportinity to go to Columbia Middle School, Class of two-thousand and ten!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 22, 2009

columbia is a great school. there is high crime in the area but it is a wonderful school. After columbia then high school many kids get great careers my brother learned mechanichal engineering at columbia in high school he continued with it and now hes going to college all because of columbia
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 3, 2009

Well i was an eight grade student at Columbia Middle School, and I am proud to say that i loved the school. I recently moved to Vallejo, CA and schools/ students are no where near columbia. Columbia does have Gang problems, but its not like anything really ever happends. Its more or less a bunch of wannabes. The diversity is wonder. I dislike all the princibles or the nurse, but they do get all the job done. Seventh graders hope for Mr.Brax. Old students appreciate he school. Parents, we need your involvment, You are the biggest influence.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 9, 2008

I'm a student there and i think that those bellow me or above are rude comments are school may not be the best but it is a great school.i am a 7th grader and i think that it may be a bit out of order but princibles are helping and i dont know why there saying the princibles are not taking care and are rude.it is not true they spend there time atlunch and brunch wathcing over the students.We have a problem with gangs but that can be taken care of with many things such as police,more rules,and color codes+the teachers are cool and they rock (Mr.Brax )hes the coolist teacher ever and also my volleyball coach rock on mr brax .
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 22, 2007

students run the school......no consistant method of discipline.the principals hide in their offices instead of being involved with their student body.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2007

Very negative environment. the hidden curriculum taught here is that of unacceptance,disrespect, and superiority. The new principal spends most of her time sitting in her office. She is condecsending to staff (including teachers and support staff) and has shown little interest in contecting with the student body. There is no discipline matrix and kids run the school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 26, 2007

Administrators at this school are unaware of the laws and how they pertain to special needs children. Teachers here seem to be more self serving than anything else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

I have a child who is currently attending Columbia and I'm very happy with the school. The teachers are great and I have had several meetings with the principal, and she has been very helpful. My experience with all the teachers except one has been exceptional! They have a wonderful resource program for children who may need extra help (I don't understand the negative comments about special education at Columbia). I give them two thumbs up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

The teachers and staff at Columbia are great. You couldn't ask for a better group of teachers. The principal is involved with the students. One of the teachers helped us with my oldest daughter. She was having problems in school and at home. Well it turned out this teacher was able to point us in the right directions we held an SST meeting and had a whole room full of CMS teachers and administrators there to help. Our daughter was diagnosed with ADHD. Without this she would have failed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2007

new principal is rude and condescending. She makes little effort to connect with students or staff. It is unfortunate, this was a good school.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted June 15, 2007

Teachers and administators really care about kids---all of them. I would recommend CMS to any other parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

732

Change from
2012 to 2013

-11

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

732

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-11

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

230 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
41%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

229 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
100%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

242 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

205 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
34%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
72%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

243 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
43%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
42%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
100%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

267 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
32%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

243 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students49%
Females54%
Males44%
African Americann/a
Asian76%
Filipino68%
Hispanic or Latino36%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability49%
English learner6%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate28%
Parent education - high school graduate39%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate70%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate69%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students37%
Females39%
Males35%
African Americann/a
Asian82%
Filipino45%
Hispanic or Latino27%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Non-economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability37%
English learner6%
Fluent-English proficient and English only53%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate18%
Parent education - high school graduate31%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduate62%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate31%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students75%
Females82%
Males70%
African Americann/a
Asian83%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged76%
Non-economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students47%
Females53%
Males40%
African Americann/a
Asian73%
Filipino73%
Hispanic or Latino32%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability47%
English learner5%
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate30%
Parent education - high school graduate41%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate62%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students24%
Females28%
Males21%
African Americann/a
Asian38%
Filipino39%
Hispanic or Latino19%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)43%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Non-economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability25%
English learner7%
Fluent-English proficient and English only34%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate15%
Parent education - high school graduate22%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)30%
Parent education - college graduate32%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students22%
Females29%
Males15%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino16%
Hispanic or Latino21%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged23%
Non-economically disadvantaged23%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability23%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only25%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented45%
Parent education - not a high school graduate13%
Parent education - high school graduate13%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)28%
Parent education - college graduate25%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students46%
Females57%
Males34%
African Americann/a
Asian74%
Filipino54%
Hispanic or Latino33%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Non-economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability47%
English learner1%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented87%
Parent education - not a high school graduate34%
Parent education - high school graduate32%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)49%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate50%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students11%
Females8%
Males13%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino11%
Hispanic or Latino9%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged10%
Non-economically disadvantaged16%
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability13%
English learner3%
Fluent-English proficient and English only21%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate9%
Parent education - high school graduate9%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)7%
Parent education - college graduate27%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students64%
Females70%
Males55%
African Americann/a
Asian86%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged56%
Non-economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented82%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students42%
Females45%
Males39%
African Americann/a
Asian64%
Filipino49%
Hispanic or Latino30%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Non-economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disability4%
Students with no reported disability46%
English learner8%
Fluent-English proficient and English only59%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduate28%
Parent education - high school graduate29%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)46%
Parent education - college graduate72%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate50%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students53%
Females56%
Males49%
African Americann/a
Asian74%
Filipino61%
Hispanic or Latino40%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Non-economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learner10%
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented87%
Parent education - not a high school graduate36%
Parent education - high school graduate48%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate58%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 62%
Asian 11%
White 6%
Black 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Two or more races 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 74%N/AN/A
English language learners 29%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 6%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

739 Morse Avenue
Sunnyvale, CA 94085
Phone: (408) 522-8247

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The King's Academy
Sunnyvale, CA



Lamb-O Academy
Sunnyvale, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT