Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
54 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 67 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Columbia Middle School 5

Posted February 05, 2016
- a parent
My daughter is in the UP program, and I was pleasantly surprised by how well this school is run. Great principal, teachers, extracurriculars, and education.

Columbia Middle School 1

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
It's only October, and so far I've had a parent hit my car while opening their car door, a child has attempted to break my antenna off my car (with me in it), and saw two moms pass dope to each other in the parking lot. The neighborhood is extremely sketchy and it makes me sick every time I have to drop off and pick my child up from this school. The only reason my child attends Columbia is because it is our assigned school and we lost out on buying multiple properties outside Sunnyvale to cash offers. Now we are stuck here unless we pull our child out and away from her friends. Horrible.


Columbia Middle School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
Ms. Alman the Principle. She is the back bone. She is there for the parents and the students.

Columbia Middle School 5

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
This school is so good. The Principal is the heart beat of this school. If you email her she gets back to within a couple of hours. She is present at all school events and I have seen her at many School sporting events. Columbia was just awarded the California Gold Ribbon award. formally called the distinguished school of California Award. Columbia also received the 2014 Hoffman Award -- Awarded by the Santa Clara County Office of Ed to the top programs in the County each year. We were one of three schools to win it in 2014 for our Flex program. THIS SCHOOL IS SO GREAT. I AM VERY PROUD TO HAVE MY CHILD HERE.

Columbia Middle School 4

Posted July 17, 2015
- a parent
Columbia is a good school with many great qualities. My daughter was a 6th grader and met many friendly girls. There are many wonderful teachers (especially the PE and elective teachers), and the administration is responsive and invests a lot into their students. We have various friends at Columbia who have participated in the music program, the after school Tech Club and this year's Starting Arts play, 'High School Musical'. They all had great experiences. Columbia has much to be proud of, including it's award winning FLEX program that sets a side a bonus class period to either catch up in a subject, or if no need, take a bonus enrichment class. I don't know if it's the pressure of the high housing prices or what, but I feel that everyone it so intent on justifying the cost of their house, that any school, other then the one they've chosen, is painted as subpar. Don't believe the hype ! Columbia students, staff, and parents have Much to be proud of..... Go Bulldogs!


Columbia Middle School 4

Posted February 18, 2015
- a parent
It's very unfortunate that this school has such a negative image with some community members. Our children attend elementary school at Fairwood Explorer, and one of the outstanding teachers from that program now teaches at Columbia. She has affirmed for us several times now that the middle-schoolers are sweet, the preschoolers on campus are safe, and that there have been zero incidents of concern in her time there. I trust this teacher's opinion immensely. Stigmas are hard to change.

Columbia Middle School 4

Posted August 23, 2013
- a parent
School appears to be an up and coming school with some significant challenges. However, the staff appears to be committed to utilizing all resources to meet those challenges and the school appears generally safe. I was pleasantly surprised after being invited to walk the campus and meet some of the parents and students of my son's class.

Columbia Middle School 5

Posted October 28, 2012
- a parent
Columbia is NOT the school it used to be. API scores (and all sub groups) have gone up steadily over the past 3 years. It seems that when parents are looking for a school for their child/children the API score is the end all be all...SO not true. The only reason Columbia has what some consider a "low" API score is simply due to the fact that there's a high percentage of English language learners that are still leaning how to comprehend English...this is not an easy task. It takes years to be fluent in English. The principal and staff are obviously doing something right!


Columbia Middle School 1

Posted December 20, 2011
- a parent
I moved to Sunnyvale from East Palo Alto because I just knew that the schools would be better, right? No. We live in the Fairwood area so for 5th grade my son went to Fairwood which is an awesome school. For middle school, the kids from our area have to go to Columbia which is in the Fair Oaks area. The kids can't wear red or blue because of gangs. They don't let the kids wear plain old winter hats. My son went there for 6th grade. It was horrible. I couldn't get him into any of the after school programs designed to help him improve his grades because he knew how to read and knew his multiplication and division. The staff wasn't understanding at all with the exception of Mrs. Carmack. I got my son tested for ADD and I couldn't get any accommodations for him. The teachers didn't want to help him. It was so bad that I considered putting him back in school in East Palo Alto. Luckily I got him into a charter school. This is a horrible school. As a parent, I didn't feel right sending him there and I thank God I got him out.

Columbia Middle School 5

Posted September 17, 2011
- a teacher
Columbia is making a come back! Please ignore all the reviews prior to 2009. They were written when the school had a different principal. Over the past few years we have implemented a number of new programs, both educational and behavioral. The dedicated teachers and wonderful students are making huge strides in a positive direction. Our API jumped 20+ points in the 2010-2011 school year! That is a very difficult feat. Most schools increase 5 -10 points a year, if they increase at all. The school has just undergone a complete renovation also. Our classrooms are new, and full of technology. Yes, we have students involved in gangs. This problem is being taken control of, it is NOT apparent on campus. Any school in a similar neighborhood would have similar problems. These students seek gang involvement because a lack of parental involvement in their lives. If you are a parent involved in your students life, you have nothing to worry about, your student will succeed at Columbia. I am a proud Columbia teacher doing my best to give our students the best future possible. Please do not let rumors hinder your student from attending Columbia. Come see us for yourself.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Columbia Middle School
739 Morse Avenue, Sunnyvale, CA  94085-3010
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 67 reviews. (408) 522-8247
Last modified Columbia Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top