Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
69 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 92 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ellis Elementary School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted December 08, 2015
- a teacher
As a teacher at Ellis, I want to thank the wonderful group of parent volunteers who help to provide us with support and resources to help our students access activities and programs beyond the District provided curriculum. THANK YOU, ALL!

Ellis Elementary School 5

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
The teachers and staff are great and very encouraging to the students. My daughter has gone here for last year and I am highly satisfied with the education she is getting. The class population is very diverse, a reflection of Silicon Valley, and the International Festival was a lot of fun and well run. The neighborhood is nice and safe and I like that a lot of kids walk to school here. I am glad that my daughter is in this school.


Ellis Elementary School 5

Posted April 30, 2015
- a parent
The teachers and staff are great and very encouraging to the students. My son has gone here for the past three years and I am highly satisfied with the education he is getting. The class population is very diverse, a reflection of Silicon Valley, and the International Festival was a lot of fun and well run. The neighborhood is nice and safe and I like that a lot of kids walk to school here. The school reinforces the kids to be thoughtful and kind and the Cornerstone Project is a bonus. I am glad that my son is in the school. I wish that it included a middle school.

Ellis Elementary School 3

Posted October 31, 2014
- a parent
It's really ashamed how the school has not been taken care of in the last 2 years, because they don't want to spend any money. The areas where our kids eat are filthy, the cafeteria is completely run down and old, and they haven't painted or power washed the outside area where our children play or the bathrooms since last year. It is a good thing that we have a great teacher for our son, otherwise he would be going elsewhere. It is unnecessary and not acceptable for a child's school to be run down, especially when us parents are always contributing funds in one way or another.

Ellis Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
First experience with USA public school and wow... This school is really good. Perfect blend of Education, extra curricular and fun... Principal Eric is the best thing which happened to this school. Spends lot of efforts in making this happen and looks like this is the only school is district where student - iPad ratio is 1:1.


Ellis Elementary School 3

Posted November 20, 2013
- a parent
I have two students currently enrolled at this school, a 3rd grader and Kindergartner. In general, our experience with this school has been mostly positive. My 3rd grader has had some wonderful teachers, including the current teacher. With my 3rd grader, I have seen great academic growth and continue to do so. In general the Kindergarten team is a strong one, but some are stronger than others. Unfortunately, I am not convinced that my Kindergartner has one of the stronger, more enthusiastic teachers at the school. I think the principal is an effective leader and advocate of the student population, very personable and available. While he may be the head of the school, the teachers are the heart and soul of this school. Overall, this school is only as good as the teacher your student/s get/s.

Ellis Elementary School 3

Posted October 27, 2013
- a parent
My child has been lucky to have amazing teachers while at Ellis these last 3 years, but I just wish we had more control over choosing leadership and how the school is being run. Much has changed over the past 2 years and some def. not in the best interest of the kids. We have decided that our family will hang in there because my child only has 1.5 years left, but hopefully things improve going forward instead of decline further..

Ellis Elementary School 5

Posted September 02, 2013
- a parent
my son loves Ellis school. Teachers are nice and wish the school gets more recognition/funding.


Ellis Elementary School 4

Posted July 08, 2013
- a teacher
I can't say enough about how great it is to work at Ellis Elementary School in the Sunnyvale Elementary School District. Mr. Panosian, our principal as of last Fall, has all the qualities of a great principal. One of his priorities is the incorporation of technology at each grade level, and because of this, Ellis is meeting the needs of its students to get them ready for middle school. The staff is friendly and works well together and the office staff is always willing to help us with our requests. Our PTO is run by a wonderful group of parents and has fundraisers to provide our students with arts related activities including tickets to local theatre productions and several art lessons throughout the school year, among other things. Any parent would be lucky to have their child attend Ellis.

Ellis Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
The teachers are very kind and . I am happy with the academics in this school. My daughter loves going to this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ellis Elementary School
550 East Olive Avenue, Sunnyvale, CA  94086-6345
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 92 reviews. (408) 522-8260
Last modified Ellis Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top