Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
38 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 54 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sunnyvale Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 16, 2015
- a parent
Thanks to all the fantastic teachers in 7th grade. We are so very grateful to you!

Sunnyvale Middle School 5

Posted October 16, 2015
- a parent
We are so happy and thankful for this school. The teachers are super engaged and the atmosphere is great!


Sunnyvale Middle School 5

Posted June 14, 2015
- a parent
It's a great school. My son had a hard time adjusting to 6th grade so they put in place a great program to follow up with homework. He has made a lot of progress thanks to all of the wonderful teachers. They also have a lot of after-school activities. I just wish the homework center was more than one hour as they do need more time to finish everything. Also starting at 9:30 am on Wednesdays makes it very difficult for full-time working parents.

Sunnyvale Middle School 2

Posted May 11, 2015
- a community member
My first impression of this school is that it looked like a dump, and that opinion has not changed much throughout the year. It's as if nobody bothers to wash the classroom windows, as there are usually disgusting, oily stains on them. The staff does not promote a safe, healthy learning environment for its students, and I have witnessed students being bullied by the same teachers who teach them that bullying is bad. Talk about hypocrisy! In addition, the principal does little to assist in such bullying issues. The teachers abuse their power. It was discovered that several students used swear words on their private, personal social media accounts, and how the staff found evidence of this, I would like to know. Once this was discovered, one of the teachers compared this to a war, saying if the students wanted to start a war with the faculty, they were free to, but he then said "I'm pretty sure we'll win." It gave the impression of the staff as an oppressive government rather than actual teachers, in my opinion. I will be glad to graduate and leave this place.

Sunnyvale Middle School 4

Posted April 29, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is about to graduate from grade eight and has been at SMS for two years now. It's a great environment and the kids are all pretty good to one another. The teachers are fair, but the English teacher Ms. Knight is incredible. My daughter was in Ms. Knights class two years in a row and during that time she developed a love for reading and writing like I had never seen before. The students do well here, I think, because they come from motivated families. But even that seems like it would be a good thing to look for in a school. I would recommend SMS.


Sunnyvale Middle School 5

Posted December 11, 2014
- a community member
I love this school SO much. I have never been bullied at this school, because the majority of the children there are really nice. It's great for being social, as I have met so many amazing people here. Plus, the teachers are WONDERFUL, my favorite for 6th grade being Ms. Leonard and Mr. Martinez, as they were the best teachers any middle schooler could ask for! Not just that, they also have extra events, like electives (you get a choice in 6th grade between art, music, wood shop or computers), and they also have Renaissance, where if you get good grades, you get to go to a party! Overall, this school is amazing, and if you had a choice between all the other schools and this one, I would definitely pick Sunnyvale Middle School! :D

Sunnyvale Middle School 5

Posted April 25, 2012
- a parent
Now, the assisant principal and teacher are very helpful and supportive of my son's bullying case and grades. This is what all parents want to feel and hear. Thanks! Now my son feels even better and greater going to school! Every student should have a learning attitude when going to school. The school have a Pinnacle Internet Viewer (PIV ) feature, please parents!, use it!! I need to thanks the assisant principal for reminding me about the PIV!!! In the future, my daughter will be attending this great school, too!!

Sunnyvale Middle School 5

Posted March 03, 2012
- a teacher
Sunnyvale Middle School is a great school with an environment that allows for children to grow and learn.


Sunnyvale Middle School 5

Posted April 01, 2011
- a community member
Point of clarification: PTSA and administration have absolutely nothing to do with a new cell phone tower and have no say in the matter. The cell phone tower is a city issue. Parent volunteerism is higher, and Parent Education Nights have been featured in the Mercury News and the Sunnyvale Sun. Generous donations from the PTSA and Direct Appeal has restored a computer lab for the students, and the Spartan Spirit program has resulted in a very positive school atmosphere and school spirit. API has remained over 800, which is fabulous. Anyone not happy with the school should get involved. It's a great place!

Sunnyvale Middle School 1

Posted January 05, 2011
- a parent
My child is in 8th grade and he tells me the school has gone down hill since the new principal took over. The principal does nothing except push paper and tries to get money. All the PTSA does is tries to come up with more after school activities. As if money and activities create a good learning environment and make a good school. Ever heard of quality instead of quantity? The after school activities are subpar! Now the principal and PTSA are trying to get a cell tower built on campus so they'll get over $20K per year. Talk about greed. Lets throw money at things. Kids aren't performing well because of budget cut? Hello. Kids aren't performing well because the school does not take action on issues such as bullying and the teaching is boring! My child told me he will be very glad to leave this school at the end of the year.

Nearby schools

Sunnyvale Middle School
1080 Mango Avenue, Sunnyvale, CA  94087-1728
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. (408) 522-8288
Last modified Sunnyvale Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top