Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Sunnyvale, CA
Students enrolled: 1,052
 

4 stars
Based on 34 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


37 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sunnyvale Middle School 5

Posted December 11, 2014
- a community member
I love this school SO much. I have never been bullied at this school, because the majority of the children there are really nice. It's great for being social, as I have met so many amazing people here. Plus, the teachers are WONDERFUL, my favorite for 6th grade being Ms. Leonard and Mr. Martinez, as they were the best teachers any middle schooler could ask for! Not just that, they also have extra events, like electives (you get a choice in 6th grade between art, music, wood shop or computers), and they also have Renaissance, where if you get good grades, you get to go to a party! Overall, this school is amazing, and if you had a choice between all the other schools and this one, I would definitely pick Sunnyvale Middle School! :D

Sunnyvale Middle School 5

Posted April 25, 2012
- a parent
Now, the assisant principal and teacher are very helpful and supportive of my son's bullying case and grades. This is what all parents want to feel and hear. Thanks! Now my son feels even better and greater going to school! Every student should have a learning attitude when going to school. The school have a Pinnacle Internet Viewer (PIV ) feature, please parents!, use it!! I need to thanks the assisant principal for reminding me about the PIV!!! In the future, my daughter will be attending this great school, too!!


Sunnyvale Middle School 5

Posted March 03, 2012
- a teacher
Sunnyvale Middle School is a great school with an environment that allows for children to grow and learn.

Sunnyvale Middle School 5

Posted April 01, 2011
- a community member
Point of clarification: PTSA and administration have absolutely nothing to do with a new cell phone tower and have no say in the matter. The cell phone tower is a city issue. Parent volunteerism is higher, and Parent Education Nights have been featured in the Mercury News and the Sunnyvale Sun. Generous donations from the PTSA and Direct Appeal has restored a computer lab for the students, and the Spartan Spirit program has resulted in a very positive school atmosphere and school spirit. API has remained over 800, which is fabulous. Anyone not happy with the school should get involved. It's a great place!

Sunnyvale Middle School 1

Posted January 05, 2011
- a parent
My child is in 8th grade and he tells me the school has gone down hill since the new principal took over. The principal does nothing except push paper and tries to get money. All the PTSA does is tries to come up with more after school activities. As if money and activities create a good learning environment and make a good school. Ever heard of quality instead of quantity? The after school activities are subpar! Now the principal and PTSA are trying to get a cell tower built on campus so they'll get over $20K per year. Talk about greed. Lets throw money at things. Kids aren't performing well because of budget cut? Hello. Kids aren't performing well because the school does not take action on issues such as bullying and the teaching is boring! My child told me he will be very glad to leave this school at the end of the year.


Sunnyvale Middle School 3

Posted August 01, 2010
- a community member
I was a student at SMS for three years, and to tell you the truth, I'm not that impressed. There are teachers ranging from incredible to downright horrible. There are a few teachers who love being there and helping students achieve, and genuinely connect with the kids. The electives don't offer very much, and the music program needs a serious readjustment. The math program at this school is just dreadful. Every math teacher I had did not teach well at all, and even though I am a straight-A student, I did not learn from them at all. Most teachers had very little control over the classes with the , ahem, lower-achieving students. The atmosphere was very distracting at times , and made it very hard to work. The leadership is mediocre at best, and the principal's don't really make an effort to get to know the kids or get involved.

Sunnyvale Middle School 5

Posted May 04, 2010
- a community member
I love it because the teachers are very nice and they help you with anything you need help on.

Sunnyvale Middle School 0
no rating

Posted April 28, 2010
- a student
This school is awesome it has awesome electives and has lots of fun things come join this school for your child to have fun with good other students!!!!!!!!!


Sunnyvale Middle School 4

Posted September 14, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Sunnyvale Middle School 4

Posted August 24, 2009
- a student
This school is cool. They have different varieties of food,and the teachers are really nice. The school years go by really fast this year. And this is a very memorable school.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sunnyvale Middle School
1080 Mango Avenue, Sunnyvale, CA  94087
(408) 522-8288
Last modified Sunnyvale Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sunnyvale Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. Top