Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

South Peninsula Hebrew Day School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Sunnyvale

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $865,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 24, 2012

SPHDS' new head is making some impressive changes. Singapore math-amazing. Hebrew curriculum remains strong. It also feels like the school is becoming more diverse, especially in the pre-school. For us, a bilingual program was huge, and sphds did better than any other program we looked at. Good so far!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2012

SPHDS is wonderful place for a child to learn and grow. Children are encouraged to ask questions and to take an active role in their learning. General Studies teachers provide hands-on and meaningful lessons, children learn to read, write and speak Hebrew and learn a deeper understanding of Judaic beliefs and values. I highly recommend giving your child the gift of becoming a life-long learner at SPHDS.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 6, 2012

Wonderful caring school environment where each child in encouraged to reach their potential. Teachers and administrators genuinely care about the children and their intellectual, social, and personal growth. Strong general studies, Judaic studies, and Hebrew education. New Head of School has brought new energy to the school community. Our children have thrived at SPHDS for over six years from preschool to lower school, and we look forward to middle school in upcoming years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2011

Overall, the school barely meets the mark. Supervision is very weak, especially on the playground, and the academics could be stronger. That's because the school focuses -- I believe too much -- on Hebrew and Judaic studies. In addition, the teachers are not clued up on diagnosing learning disabilities, such as dyslexsia.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2011

Amazing school! Learned here from Preschool until 8th grade.The teachers and staff are excellent. The overall atmosphere is amazing, in the classroom, during breaks. The student-teacher relationship is amazing, I remember loving all my teachers.


Posted January 29, 2011

The staff have a great connection with children, and really understand their developmental needs. It's been a great place to have our children discover the special talents that they possess.


Posted April 26, 2010

Excellent preschool program. Caring teachers and wonderful supportive staff. Highly recommend the Pre-K extra curricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2007

My daughter is currently at Preschool at SPHDS and we love it. But most importantly she loves it. Great teachers, great education and wonderful kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2005

I am a preschool parent and have been very happy with SPHDS. I am concerned that in the upper grades it becomes more religious than I am comfortable with, but it provides a thorough exposure to Jewish religion and culture in preschool along with all the other things preschool should have like good toys and fun activities. There are many Israeli families and a lot of exposure to Hebrew via songs and prayers in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2005

If your child does not the conforming type, don't even give this school a second thought. They are only interested in educating drones, not real children with minds of their own.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 98% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 11%
Black 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hispanic 0% 52%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Jewish
Associations
  • NSHDS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1030 Astoria Drive
Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Phone: (408) 738-3060

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Stratford School
Sunnyvale, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT