Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Martin's Elementary School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Sunnyvale

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $547,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,610.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 30, 2011

We Love St Martin! I have gone to check out other schools, and find myself comparing them to St. Martin. We don't have all the fancy things all the other schools offer.We don't have lap tops for every child,we don't have a brand new campus,or big baseball field with bleachers. However the teachers and families at St. Martin are amazing! I love the small community. The parent's and teachers are very committed to providing a loving and welcoming place for our children to come to every day. I feel as if I'm leaving my children with family when I drop them off in the morning. I know without a doubt in my mind that my children are being sincerely cared for. The parent involvement is wonderful. We love being a part of our children's education, and want our children to have the best possible school experiences and memories. Not only do we want this for our own children, but for every child at St. Martin. As a parent , I know each child at the school and look out for them just as I would my own. St. Martin may look out dated. But all that means is that it has been around for many years, providing education and a strong foundation built on morals and a love for God.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

St. Martin is an incredible school community. My oldest child has attended St. Martin School for ten years (JK through 8th Grade) and was accepted to two private high schools. The new principal has been a teacher at St. Martin for many years and was herself a graduate of the school. It is a very close, caring environment and I know my children are being taught a challenging, quality curriculum as well as being shown by example how to be respectful, confident individuals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2009

St Martin is a waste of our money. The administration is equally below average. The education curriculum is half a year behind compared to public schools. They do not practice what they preach - the Catholic faith.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

This school has great diversity. The teachers are excellent, and the parents are committed to the school's success. Our family has made many friends through the school. My children feel safe, secure and love their classmates and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

Our family came from the public schools up until 6th grade, which I made the decision to enroll our son into a private Catholic school. St Martin has given my son a great education, and a great start getting ready to move onto St Francis College Preg High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2007

ST. Martins has great, hardworking educators, commited to their students, families are nice and welcoming. Unfortunately, at times there is not enough supervision. Lack of follow-through with emphasis in the area of: respect others, treat others the way you want to be treated. Again, great academics, but much room for growth on Zero Tolerance for bullies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2007

This school raises kids taking discipline and creativity into major consideration. They also involve parents in a manner that they understand what to focus on. Earlier I could not understand the approach, but I am now quite clear about it. Teachers are extremely professional and focus. No doubts.... Much better than public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2005

My child is still in attendance at St. Martins. Since he has been attending St. Martin School his reading and writing has improved tremendously. I have him tested through the California Achievement Test and he has drastic improvements in his percentile ranking. As well as academic progress, the nurturing environment provided at St. Martins has had such a positive impact. The tuition is quite reasonable as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2004

The academic curriculum at St. Martin is under-rated. My child graduated from St. Martin in 2003 and just finished the freshman year at Mitty with a 4.0 average. I attribute much of my child's academic success to the solid foundation received at St. Martin. The science lab at St. Martin is first rate, there is an on-site algebra class for eigth graders, and the 6th, 7th and 8th graders generally rank in the top 25% at the annual Academic Decathalon. The school has 2 playgrounds, a band, science lab, indoor basketball court, 2 playgrounds, library, after school sports teams, and a cafeteria serving daily hot lunch. St. Martin may not be fancy from the outside, but it's what is inside that counts. I believe St. Martin is an excellent value for the high quality of education and extra-curricular activities provided.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2004

St. Martin is a great community of parents, faculty & staff and students. The small, caring environment has been conducive to my children's learning. The teachers do a great job of helping my children get organized and give them the neceesary study tools. The teachers did a great job of preparing my oldest child for high school entrance. You should definitely check out the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2003

well i'm not a parent but i did go to school there from kindergarten to 8th grade, and there were only a few good teachers there, and they left the school (good choice). the school was a waste of my parent's money. I don't know how it is now, hopefully it's changed. If you want your kid to go to a really good private catholic school, take them somewhere else like St. Nicholas--in the end it's worth the drive.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Asian 34%
Hispanic 31%
White 31%
Black 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (408) 736-1034

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of San Jose
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

597 Central Avenue
Sunnyvale, CA 94086
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 736-5534

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Stratford School
Sunnyvale, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT