Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
205 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Catholic Academy of Sunnyvale
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 14, 2015
- a community member
Ms. Flores has been absolutley great. She has done wonders as a first year, first grade teacher. CAS's hiring committee has a knack for picking the most passionate and exceptional teachers, and she is a wonderful example of this. The support from CAS's faculty and administrative personnel can make a good teacher great. Thank you Ms. Flores for all that you have done in the short amount of time you have been here.

Catholic Academy of Sunnyvale 5

Posted November 14, 2015
- a community member
This school has a strong academic and moral core along with the virtues that come with a Catholic school. Although strong in tradition, CAS also lives up to it's 21st century pillar integrating forward thinking in its classrooms through the use of up to date technology. In union with CAS's academic forte, it finds time to implement fun and community based activities such as 50s night. Send your child here to further their education, faith, and overall character.


Catholic Academy of Sunnyvale
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 14, 2015
- a community member
Our kids have a fair amout of homework but it is never too much with no homework on Fridays for the Kindergardners.

Catholic Academy of Sunnyvale 5

Posted November 14, 2015
- a community member
CAS is a great school. All our kids love to go to school here. We have a good relationship to the teachers and they are very engagend.

Catholic Academy of Sunnyvale
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 14, 2015
- a community member
The way that my son loves to go to school reflects how good is his relationship with his teachers. Thanks to preschool teachers!


Catholic Academy of Sunnyvale 5

Posted November 14, 2015
- a community member
This is a great school, super nice people and great family participation. My son loves going to school everyday and returns home telling us what he learned that day. I love how teachers trully care about their students development in every way.

Catholic Academy of Sunnyvale 5

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
We live in Palo Alto, and did not feel the district was right for our rising 6th grader. Her school work is strong, but she is very self-critical. We wanted to find a school that would meet her needs academically, but also focus on the whole child, paying attention to her value as a person, not just a test-taker or future tech millionaire. Since she began 6th grade at C.A.S. this August, we've seen her confidence rise, her stress fall, and her sense of humor return. She has stopped expecting the worst at every moment, and is noticing that her school work is often interesting, rather than feeling it's a ten-ton weight hanging over her head. Most of all, we no longer need a crowbar and a fight to get her out the door every morning, and she comes home feeling she can tackle what she needs to accomplish, then get on with having some fun. Catholic Academy is one of a group of schools in the Diocese that have engaged a mandate to provide blended learning, with children using a variety of educational methods. It has also been developing a strong STEM curriculum. It is great to visit the science classroom and see what’s in progress. I certainly did not have hands-on lab experience in my 6th grade year! Faculty clearly take pleasure in knowing each student personally, and there is a strong sense that they enjoy their students’ individual talents, quirks, and perspectives. Personalized attention is part of the fabric of the school. The icing on the cake, for us, has been finding a warm, welcoming and energetic community. The Super-Moon Eclipse was cause for a last minute viewing party—and with just a few days’ notice, we had roughly thirty families out in the playing field at night, picnicking, trying the telescope, and eating s’mores. I don’t mean to suggest that everything is glowing every day; nothing human is perfect. But the overall excellence adds up over time. We feel as though we’ve struck gold in finding this school.

Catholic Academy of Sunnyvale
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 05, 2015
- a parent
As a catholic school it has what is called faith family which is fellowship from Pre-K to 8th grade creating a community of students that feel welcomed.


Catholic Academy of Sunnyvale 5

Posted November 05, 2015
- a parent
This school has gone through many changes, however, the teachers have been a constant source of support for my daughters. They have concertedly made every effort to customize their environment to be successful both as a person and scholar.

Catholic Academy of Sunnyvale 4

Posted May 11, 2014
- a parent
This school has come a long way under new leadership. The principal has had to endure a lot of criticism and scrutiny from all directions yet remains strong and focused on the mission. It would be great if there was more parent involvement, though that is coming along. We are a small community which is nice because everyone kind of watches out for everyone's children; we are not all strangers. My daughter looks forward to going to school every day and loves the after school programs and extra sports.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Catholic Academy of Sunnyvale
195 Leota Avenue, Sunnyvale, CA  94086
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. (408) 738-3444
Last modified Catholic Academy of Sunnyvale is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top