Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Sunnyvale Christian

Private | K-5 | 86 students

Family Community, connecting competence with compassion

 
 

Living in Sunnyvale

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $547,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,610.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 27, 2012

We were happy with the teaching, but not so much with the leadership. The grounds are small too.


Posted May 15, 2012

This school is incredible. What stands out the most, is how this school teaches BIBLICAL of Jesus Christ. They reflect the true meaning of The Fruit of The Spirit. Like most places in this world, nothing is ever perfect. You are going to have your differences between teachers/staff and parents (we are all human) but what s important is that this school at those times, come together to meet in the middle and you walk away encouraged. The staff/teachers are always available when you need them, no matter what the situation may be. They are truly attentive in every way. This school offers extra circular activities to our children that at times may be of cost and sometimes not. I have been impressed when I have witnessed a child not be appropriate towards others and a teacher/staff immediately took action. This school is all about the protection of our children and has zero tolerance toward misbehavior. This school has an incredible summer program. I love how you can go on fieldtrips at no cost to you and enjoy time with your child and get to know other parents and children as well. This school truly reflects the meaning of family and a community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2012

I am getting ready to go graduate from High School and I am also an elementary graduate from SCS, looking back over ALL my school years SCS was the Best! I am SO BLESSED my parents decided to enroll me here; Train up a child in the way they should go and he will never part. I rated a 4 because non of us are perfect I learned from SCS that we always have room to grow in HIM and HE is always there to love us where we are....that is one of the MOST important lessons I've learned I've learned from SCS and there amazing staff that still loves for who I am when I go to visit!


Posted August 19, 2010

Great School, been there for last 8years. Every child is important and each child radiates confidence and love showered on them by every teacher. Small Class size, Great test scores and ready for any high school or middle school at an plus level.BJ
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2009

Great school. Small class size, and teachers pay attention to the progress of each kid. Well rounded eduacation in spiritual, academics and social skills. One of my older kids graduate from its elementary, and he transitions very well into a bigger school environment too. I learn that its graduates do well in both private and public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

My son has attended the preschool for 2 years and really love it. The teachers are caring and the school is like an extended family. We also liked the small class size.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2006

I have my children in Sunnyvale Christian. While I enjoy most of the staff, I do wish they offered foriegn language and additional extra activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2005

My kids are attending this school from preschool to elementary. They are very motivated to learn and are having fun at school. Very good teachers and staff, firm yet caring. Academics is good. Great SAT scores. Small school environment where kids are given adequate attention. Behavior/discipline issues are dealt with promptly, lovingly and positively. Excellent school where moral and ethics are taught, along with good academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2004

My daughter attended the school from preschool to Kindergarten, she had great time. Her social skill, academic and morality improved a lot. The principal is kind and knows each child by name, teachers are charm. Thank you very much for bringing out the best in my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2004

My daughter attended this school for preschool and kindergarten. For two years we were impressed with the curriculum, even for preschool. There have been very well planned field-trips and activities that involve parents. We ve attended most of the in-school activities and after-school activities. We have notice that social skills are heavily re-enforced in their day to day activities. They are taught manners, and taught how to respect each other. The academia is top-notched, which we have noted that our daughter s SAT scores are in the upper 1st grade 2nd grade percentile in academics. Though the tuition is in the upper bracket, the quality of education matches it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 33% 26%
Two or more races 20% 3%
Hispanic 12% 52%
Black 3% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
Spanish
Tagalog
Farsi
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Farsi
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Leanna Christie
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (408) 736-3549

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Global
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Farsi
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTP and TnT
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$7000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Kings Academy
Sunnyvale Middle School
Valley Christian Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

445 South Mary Avenue
Sunnyvale, CA 94086
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 736-3286

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Stratford School
Sunnyvale, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT