Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-5|Private
133 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lycée International de Los Angeles - West Valley campus 5

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
LILA is a multi-cultural, diverse school, that teaches its students to be well rounded people of the world. Students are taught to speak and write in two languages, they learn poetry, memorizing skills, and creative and critical thinking. The school offers music, a library, a computer lab, a soccer and basketball field and a very involved parent body. The use and integration of smart boards and ipads in the classrooms has been well received with all students. Students are taught to think, integrate learning, resolve problems using inventive and creative solutions. LILA offers small class sizes, with the use of both the French and American pedagogical methodology. Students learn about history, geography, math and the languages of the Americas and France. School excursions to museums, environmental facilities, historical sites to name a few are integrated into each grades experiential learning. By 5th grade a school trip to France is offered where the students spend 10 days going to school, visiting sites and museums throughout Paris.

Lycée International de Los Angeles - West Valley campus
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
Dalilah is a warm, giving, hard working teacher who instills good study habits in her students. She likes to bring in experiential learning and keep the children interested on a variety of levels. She knows the children and appreciates them as individuals. She is rigorous in her lessons and has patience. She enjoys rewarding the children with fun activities and instills respect and patience in the children as well.


Lycée International de Los Angeles - West Valley campus
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
This teacher has her lesson plans ready, she dresses sharply to evoke a sense of pride for her work. She is always in a good mood and speaks to her class with respect and consideration. She is always involved around the school and with the parents.

Lycée International de Los Angeles - West Valley campus
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
The school slowly increases the amount of work as the students develop skills and concentration and maturity.

Lycée International de Los Angeles - West Valley campus
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
The international aspect with the vigorous curriculum and bilingualism breads hard working and determination to excel.


Lycée International de Los Angeles - West Valley campus
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
Students are taught to respect one another, both on the basketball, soccer and apparatuses as well as during cultural events he'd on the school ground. There are many events throughout the year that promote respect of cultural diversity and race and religion.

Lycée International de Los Angeles - West Valley campus
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
Students are often mentoring different students from different classes. Many projects are school based which helps develop compassion, care and empathy within the school body.

Lycée International de Los Angeles - West Valley campus
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
The school has incredible diversity both cultural and socio economic and strives to keep the student body aware of this diversity by promoting fairness and honesty and openness.


Lycée International de Los Angeles - West Valley campus 2

Posted May 12, 2014
- a parent
My child attended this school and I was very disappointed...At first I didn't pay attention to what was happening with my childs academics since report cards were always good. But after testing my child I realized my child did not know how to read or spell or do basic math. I knew something was wrong. This was in 3rd grade. I also notice teachers were full of excuses and did not motivate my child in learning. Teachers would scream and expect my child to just understand. Also with so many changes with teachers and staff I did not see any stability for my child. I removed my child and in a few months in a new school the change was amazing. I am very happy that my child is now wanting/willing to learn. My childs teachers are motivating, loving, and caring.

Lycée International de Los Angeles - West Valley campus 5

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
My daughter, now in K has been at this school since preschool, and has consistently had wonderful teachers, and rich learning opportunities. I particularly love the constant integration of art, including artist in residence programs, the conceptual approach to math instruction, and the variety of after school activities. She is learning a ton, and having a blast!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lycée International de Los Angeles - West Valley campus
5933 Lindley Ave, Tarzana, CA  91356
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (818) 345-0155
Last modified Lycée International de Los Angeles - West Valley campus is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
Top