Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
119 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 188 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Gaspar De Portola Middle School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
I would like to thank Dr. McClay for bringing positive and important changes at the school. I would like to thank Mrs. Miller for always putting the kids' needs first.

Gaspar De Portola Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
With the exception of a few, the teachers are highly effective and go out of their way to communicate with parents.


Gaspar De Portola Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
6th grade is a bit of an adjustment. Homework gets lighter in 7th and 8th grade.

Gaspar De Portola Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
They had a very powerful anti-bullying program last year that really helped with community building among the students as well as creating empathy.

Gaspar De Portola Middle School 5

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
Portola is a fantastic school with a wonderful and caring principal who truly cares about the students. She has also done a lot to create more of a community feeling at the school over the last two years. The teaching staff is wonderful. My kids have had some of the most talented and fantastic teachers and have received a terrific education. Mrs. Miller, the honors/gifted coordinator truly takes care of the students' needs. She is kind, caring, and goes above and beyond the call of duty. It's a wonderful school community.


Gaspar De Portola Middle School 1

Posted February 04, 2015
- a community member
I am a student currently attending Portola Middle School. All in all, that school isn't a good fit for many people. Yes, it's a MAGNET school and it has all those Honors classes, but that doesn't mean a thing. I was new there in 7th grade, and unless you've got extremely high social skills, a friend attending there, or extremely pretty, you're bound to be a loner there. I HATE that school. The honors coordinater, Susie Miller, she doesn't pay care, along with the counselors. The counselors are either never there or too busy to talk to you. The teachers are okay. The music teacher is too judgemental. If you've got a choice, I suggest that you don't go here. If you're not in MAGNET, they are mean to yoU. I warned you.

Gaspar De Portola Middle School 5

Posted September 30, 2014
- a parent
This is our 1st year at the school and I love it so far. I believe it is one of the best schools around. Parent involvement is wonderful. The kids in the Highly Gifted Magnet are adequately challenged but not overwhelmed.

Gaspar De Portola Middle School 1

Posted September 03, 2014
- a parent
honestly almost every student there is bullied and the staff could care less about it the kids here are out of control with use of illegal substances and bullying


Gaspar De Portola Middle School 5

Posted May 24, 2014
- a community member
Portola has an AMAZING academic record and is a great place to go to. The drama teacher Mr. Richardson teaches the students very well while they still have fun. The yearbook advisor, Mr. Kowalick, leads the yearbook staff in a good direction into making our great award winning yearbook! Some great teachers at this school are: Mr. Kowalick (6th grade honors english & history), Ms. Coda (7th grade honors english), Mr. Richardson (drama), Mr. Aeen (creative writing & 6th grade teacher), Mrs. Gutierrez (7th grade honors math), Mr. Lyman (P.E for all grades), Mr. Baker (P.E. for all grades) and PLENTY more! The teachers (from my experience) except 1 all taught me well and made sure i enjoyed my time. The campus is nice and leadership provides contests and music on fridays during lunch. The afterschool program also is great if you would like to put your child in it. This is one amazing school. The ONLY reason why you would hate this school is because there are some stuck up rude people in school you have to ignore, and that you just had some bad teachers :) I hope every good student who needs a good middle school will attend here and learn plenty!

Gaspar De Portola Middle School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
Our son attends the Portola HGM Magnet and we are all pleased. The transition from elementary school to this school was a little rocky at first but now he is smooth sailing! The teachers are always challenging him and he is thriving in this rigorous program. He is in 6th grade and we are blessed that this school is available.Mrs. Olson, Mrs. Garcia is a wonderful magnet coordinator and works very hard for all for our students. The campus is clean and the office staff is friendly.He has lots of friends. The principal, Dr. McClay is very welcoming and keeps us all informed at what is going on in the school. Awesome!!! Mrs. Shah...science program jammed packed with cool things to do...Awesome!!! Mrs. Olson...English taught by the finest.....Awesome!!!Mrs. Caulkins...What an amazing music teacher.....Awesome!!! Mr. Atamian... Thanks for getting him moving!!!Mr. Stevenson... Thank you for all the Great History Lessons...Mrs. Toborowski...Thank you too..GREAT AMAZING MAGNET!!

Nearby schools

Gaspar De Portola Middle School
18720 Linnet Street, Tarzana, CA  91356-3313
(818) 654-3300
Last modified Gaspar De Portola Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top